We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Views and lovely quiet position!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Whitsand Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whitsand Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Views and lovely quiet position!”
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Excellent Views and lovely quiet position
My wife and I were looking for an out of season short break in Cornwall and after getting the tokens from a National Sunday Newspaper we booked the Whitsand Bay Hotel over the weekend of 8 -10th of October 20010. Give we had read about the rooms on tripadvisor I emailed the hotel and asked if we could be upgraded to a room with sea views. Having a few weeks earlier stopped in a three star in Looe we thought that the Whitsand should be adequate. The Hotel is located in a quite position in a small place called Portwrinkle. There are about 20 houses and a small private sandy beach…Excellent! The car parking is in front of the hotel with about 40 spaces. If you want busy night life then this resort is not for you. The walk around the hotel is also only suitable for the able bodied given the hill you walk up and down to the beach. This is also a Golfers hotel so bring your clubs if you are up for a game.
Reception
We checked in and found the member of staff on duty to be very helpful. Easy check in that involved concise information about the hotel in terms of facilities and times.
Bedroom
The bedroom was average size with nice high ceilings. The decoration and curtains were excellent and we had a double sized bed. In the room there was a large fitted wardrobe, two side tables, dressing room table, and large set of drawers. The Bed we slept in was comfortable and had sheets and blankets, not duvets? The room was, clean and tidy. The dressing table was in need of replacement but was adequate. The mirror above the dressing table needed placing a little higher as it was difficult to use unless you are a small person. You don’t need to bring any coat hangers as there are at least 20 provided. A television of high quality HD is provided with all freeview channels.
Bathroom
The bathroom was a good size with a bath and overhead shower, sink, and toilet. You don’t need to bring your own hairdryer as one is provided by the hotel. Soap shampoo and conditioner is replenished daily and the maids work really hard as the room is cleaned very thoroughly. Towels are changed every day if needed. There isn’t any air conditioning but we just left the large window open and listened to the sea and got the fresh sea air. The shower was a power shower and again was excellent!
Restaurant and Food
The restaurant is light and airy, comfortable and is has fantastic views of the sea. We had breakfast in the hotel every day which is served until 9.30am.The food for a three star was good and plentiful with a variety of choices. There was traditional Full Cornish and Continental breakfast. On entering the restaurant you are asked for your room number and if you want tea, coffee and toast. If you wanted something a little different staff tried their best to provide it if possible.
We used the restaurant on the both nights. We found the food to be good and wholesome and nearly fine dining. The wine we found to be of good quality and value.
Bar and Drinks
All drinks both local and international are catered for and the prices are nearer pub prices than a hotel.

Leisure
There is a good sized pool. There isn’t any staff on duty here so you need to follow the rules about child supervision. There is a small gym with a bike, a cross trainer, running machines. There are also some dumbbells. You can use the hotels computer if you need to access the internet. There is a quiet lounge with books and soft furnishings to relax or read. On the Friday night they had a singer in the bar who was ok. There is an excellent golf course on a hill so make sure that you are fit to endure the course.
Weather
As seasoned travellers and having being to Cornwall many times before, we knew about the ever changing weather. During the weekend we had, wind, sun and fog. However the temperature was always warm during the day. At night the wind becomes colder and most people will need a jumper or coat. You need summer and wet weather gear to make sure your stay is enjoyable.
Overview
This hotel was an excellent find in a really quiet location! The staff are friendly and helpful. Remember this is a three star hotel. With a few improvements this could easily be a four star. Thanks to the Phillips Family for a wonderful weekend we will be back again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrhoward66, Manager at Whitsand Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review for our Hotel.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return again to visit us.
With warm regards from all of The Phillips Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    179
    49
    37
    23
See reviews for
135
236
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Lovely location probably will be our main memory of this place longer term but a number of negatives. Firstly, mould on the ceiling in the room near the shower. Other issues included small room, slightly tired decor, particularly in room (we like traditional just not faded out) and a good quantity of flies in the restaurant.

I mentioned on check in that we should have been given an upgraded room - this was in the description - but the hotel maintained that we were not due an upgrade.

My wife wanted a beauty treatment - we asked for this but were told that this was only normally Mondays and Tuesdays as the therapist 'has a family'. If we had the local insight to book in advance, it might have been different though.

The hotel is a popular venue for weddings. At lunch, we walked into the bar, only to be told the hotel was closed. However, we were staying there. 'We didn't realise'. We asked them to phone their own golf club to make a booking for us... 'why not take a walk over there and book it yourselves'.

There were some positives - we enjoyed a drink at the bar, the golf staff were good and we liked many of the people we met there, but overall we had expected a slightly more luxurious hotel experience and a 'can do' attitude. Be aware that check out is normally 10am,. although to be fair they waived this at our request.

I admit that although my evaluation of this hotel was average to poor, it might appeal to older couples, golfers and those for whom five star luxury is not the norm and the flies etc. might not bother everybody else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burdass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Wow what an amazing location. You drive down the hill past the golf club and then this amazing building comes into view. This hotel has bags of charm and a very warm welcome. Our rooms were very spacious with a fantastic view of the beach at Portwinkle. If you want to get away from it all but have the option of things to do nearby this is the place to be. The leisure facilities are an added bonus. The staff were all very helpful and could not do enough for you. If this wasn't enough it was lovely to get dressed up and go down to dinner. The choice of food changed every evening which meant there was so much delicious food to choose from. The quality of the food was excellent. The choice at breakfast was my favourite, pastries, cereals, toast, full English and many different fruit juices and teas and coffee. There was nothing about this hotel that you could fault. I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

On approach to this hotel, one travels through a golf course and the setting and views are spectacular. The food in the hotel is excellent, as is the service in the dining room. The hotel itself though is tired. We had a twin room, which was basic, and was not worth the money. We had a particularly bad view, looking over a service yard, and the windows could do with a clean inside and out. One window was completely yellow, where the double glazing had failed. The bathroom was adequate but the shower was as powerful as a dripping tap! The beds were hard and the pillows too soft. We had and old CRT tv in the room and the picture was poor and we could only get a few channels. Sky TV is available in the bar though.

On arrival, the whole place smelt of fish, which we found out was the kippers, haddock and salmon which are offered on the breakfast menu. The full Cornish breakfast however was superb.

There are 4 or 5 choices of starters, mains and sweets each night and the food was sublime. The wine menu is also very good, but the cheap thick pub wine glasses let it down.

There is a good 18 hole cliff top links golf course which is challenging for all levels of golfers and buggies can be booked at reasonable prices. Green fee deals are available for residents, and unlimited golf can be had for £50 for the weekend. There are so many good courses around however and competition for paying golfers is fierce.

The hotel does allow guests with dogs which is nice if you are a dog owner.

Overall this hotel has a lot to offer , particularly if you like golf and good food. It does need to be updated though and more attention needs to be paid to details which one would expect for a hotel charging this much

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campfreddie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

If you're after a top hotel in the very best location with great facilities and run by the nicest family ever then you must stay at The Whitsand Bay Hotel. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the food just fantastic. Not that you could want for anything but if you do have any requests I know that the staff would go out of their way to help you (our children are treated like their own). At my request I even spent half an hour in the kitchen with head chef Tony and his team who could not have been more welcoming,friendly and eager to please. We think that we are long standing patrons having been there four times now but meet other guests who have been to the Whitsand Bay for 35 years and it really isn't surprising. Have also played the beautiful and very testing golf course a few times, the views from which are breathtaking.
The Phillips family really know how to look after their guests. Go there, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_King_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2010

My wife and I have been visiting the Whitsand Bay hotel for approximately 5 years now and our latest visit ended today after a 3 day stay. As per usual the food was excellent, tasty and always hot and enough in portion size to fill even the heartiest of diners. The room was small but clean, tidy and very comfortable (our favourite was already booked) but we still had a sea view. The atmosphere in the lounge and particularly the bar (especially on Sat afternoon when the Golf members are in residence) was lively and incredibly friendly. A couple of pints of Rattler added to the ambience as did the bar quiz on Sunday evening. Cornwall was as it always is, unspoiled by over development, friendly, stunning beaches and coastline, and very very laid-back. The weather was changeable but luckily for me stayed bright and calm whilst I hacked my way around the difficult but enjoyable 18 hole golf course that belongs to the hotel (as long as my wife was allowed to drive the buggy!!) My only criticism was the damned seagulls who do their very best to stop even the most determined lay-in, but it's only a small one.
In summary; if you like having your bag carried to your room, your wine poured for you and you want to pay extortionate prices to be patronized, fed small portions of food prepared by egotistical chefs and ignored by every member of staff because they work for a chain of hotels and really don't care then don't stay at the Whitsand Bay. If however, you want to be treated like an adult, talked to as a friend and not just a customer where nothing is too much trouble if all you do is ask, fed until your buttons burst with locally sourced, well cooked food by Chefs that let their food do the talking and take pride in what they do whilst being bathed in a very very friendly and relaxing atmosphere then DO stay at the Whitsand Bay because you will love it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LennyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I rung this "superb" hotel in February to book a room for 2 nights in september.

The first thing she said was, we would like you to book 3 nights. I explained we were going to a wedding so only needed to stay 2 nights. There was a lot of clucking and sighing and then a response of, well im trying to squeeze you in, you can have a room with a corner bath and a hand held shower. I explained that I would be heavily pregnant at that time and would ideally like a shower that I didn't have to hold over my head with my hand.

More clucking and sighing, she said, well if you were staying for 3 nights it would be okay. Basically I managed to get out of her that they block book the rooms for 3 nights. Even though the rooms hadn't even been booked yet they were holding out until they were. 'Priority is given to those who want to stay 3 nights'

In my opinion a hotel that cant even take a simple booking aren't worth staying at, let alone spending you hard earned cash at!
Inflexible and very infuriating staff!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TeddyBearGreenScarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portwrinkle
19.1 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,485 reviews
8.4 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
800 reviews
5.8 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
239 reviews
7.6 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
6.4 mi away
Fieldhead Hotel
Fieldhead Hotel
#4 of 7 in Looe
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsand Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsand Bay Hotel

Property: Whitsand Bay Hotel
Address: Portwrinkle PL 11 3BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Portwrinkle
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portwrinkle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whitsand Bay Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the rugged Cornish coastline stands the magnificent Whitsand Bay Hotel. An easy 20-minute drive from the busy maritime city of Plymouth, this spectacular venue is steeped in history and tradition. A welcoming, family run 32 bedroom hotel, the Whitsand Bay offers you the perfect setting to enjoy golf, leisure, fine dinning and a retreat to which you can escape from the stresses and strains of everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whitsand Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Whitsand Bay
Whitsand Bay Torpoint
Whitsand Bay Hotel Portwrinkle, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing