We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Ticket!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just the Ticket!”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

On Business - Have been years ago when previous owners had it, but by goodness what a vast improvement - Every room virtually made larger and well furnished.
Breakfast nice n fresh good service, friendly and accommodating lads, Good fun and nothing too much trouble.
Great room (My room was one of the four brand new ones shown to me) keep up the hard work lads.(Cant wait to see your next extensions and redesigns it takes time but youre getting there,(You must have a day off 5 years is too long without a day off!!!! Lovely spacious gardens and plenty of privacy.
Continue the good work - Much appreciation
Gerald from Bexley.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Many thanks for your polite and kind comments, Much appreciated.
We too enjoyed meeting you and Its always so nice to have respectable,clean,tidy and friendly guests.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and are welcome back anytime.
Best wishes, Stay well safe & happy.
The Croft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
84
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Basic but comfortable rooms with pretty much everything you need. Shower cubicle very small though. Breakfast times a bit early for holidaymakers! (7.30-8.30 weekdays!). Owners very nice and chatty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langkawifan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
We were sorry to hear that you thought the room was "Basic" when all rooms have been modernised recently. Breakfasts are served early for working people. You didnt mention that once at breakfast you are not rushed out, have more tea/coffee toast whatever & can sit as long as you wish to, even up to departure time of 10-30 should you have wished.
We do not charge extra for guests arriving early and are very flexible with all guests wishes & requests,offering lifts to station when raining & an open key policy.
Rooms are cleaned daily without extra charge.
I find your comments hurtful and COULD affect business. Luckily all our guests are repeat bookings & rather than write on here they would mention to ones face should there be any problems, then we would always try best to accommodate in another preferable room.
Please read website details for breakfast times and service.
Rooms are cleaned daily without extra charge,
Reviews like this arent helpful but hurtful & possible damaging to business.
Thank you for being a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Doing bit of hitch hiking and came accross little harbour of Cockwood - Need to get somewhere to stay for the night after all Vaklentines - booked in and ended up staying 2 nights. Great service and so easy going made our Valentines well and truly memorable.
Hikers from Strilingshire

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Many thanks for your polite and kind comments, Much appreciated.
We too enjoyed meeting you and Its always so nice to have respectable,clean,tidy and friendly guests.
So glad you enjoyed your stay and are welcome back anytime.
Best wishes, Stay well safe & happy.
The Croft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Starcross
5.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
515 reviews
1.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dawlish
696 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lympstone Manor
Lympstone Manor
#2 of 11 in Exmouth
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
5.9 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,062 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Blenheim
The Blenheim
#2 of 12 in Dawlish
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Property: The Croft Guest House
Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX6 8QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Croft Guest House Starcross, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing