We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THIRD STAY”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
RUNCORN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THIRD STAY”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was our third stay from Australia , Colin and Ken make us feel so welcome again, they are so helpful , the room was spotless and comfortable with a harbour view. Ken cooks a great breakfast to order . There are two pubs within walking distance and the village and station close by.We would highly recommend ''The Croft'' as a great B/B and would return a fourth time if the opportunity occurs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETERSCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Hello there - And may I say a great big much apreciated Thank you for your kind review.

Doesnt time fly 3rd visit and hopefully a 4th

Always a pleasure to welcome you over to United Kingdom and glad that you enjoy your stay with us here.

Hope your journey back to Oz was safe and plesant and you know the score just give us a bell when youre planning to come on back over youll always have a room awaiting.

Best wishes always and best wishes to your families

Col n Kenny and the pets lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
83
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The Croft is very clean and a great base for exploring further afield. Colin and Ken went out of their way to help, yet still respected our privacy, they even got up early to make us breakfast as we needed to leave before 8am. If we are ever in the area or near by, we will stay here again, rather than impersonal expensive chain hotels. Thanks Colin and Ken.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Many many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.

It was also so nice meeting you both and always so nice to have genuine friendly guests come stay.
It was a great weekend and all your pals are so full of fun too, just the way we like it, makes for a happier and jollier atmosphere.

Youre always welcome back and if your passing by always so welcome to pop in and say hello or needing a water stop lol!

Hope your journey went all well and you arrived safely.

Best wishes always and many thanks once again for your kind review.

Col (I drink) 'n' Kenny (He doesnt) ! lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My Fiancee and I needed a holiday, so we decided to book a last minute trip down to devon to go see some family and take our little Staffy, Bex, on her first holiday. We saw the Croft on Tripadvisor and saw that it allowed dogs, so we decided to book. We are so glad we did! We were greeted by Colin, so lovely and a brilliant laugh! The room was comfortable and had everything we needed, there was a range of food for breakfast and all of it was yummy! i enjoyed one of the yoghurts so much that Colin put the same one on the table each morning for me, nothing was ever too much of a hassle. A sausage was left to cool on the bar ready for us to give to Bex at the end of breakfast too! The bar\living area was extremely comfortable and so relaxed. It was a regular thing for us to go and join Colin in the bar area for a drink and a chat. We felt so welcome and didnt want to leave, Bex really enjoyed her first holiday and we have definitely made a good friend in Colin! I would highly recommend the Croft and we are already planning our next trip after we get married next year. Thankyou! Pip, Dan and Bex

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PippaKingscote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review Pip Dan & Bex, Much appreciated.

It was so nice to meet you all and glad to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Bex was so lovely and was a pleasure to doggie sit her when you went to meet your family for a meal, she was so wonderfully well behaved and fell asleep watching television with us in the lounge bar area as you know when you arrived back.

Hope all is going smoothly with your future wedding plans and nearer the time you can remind me of the date so I can send you our best wishes for your big day.
It was lovely just sat in lounge bar chatting about your plans and hearring what you have in mind for the theme etc.

Please give Bex a really big hug from me and maybe when you next cook a sausage, give her a little piece, it may remind her of her stay with us.

Looking forward to seeing you all again sometime and until then stay well safe and always happy.
Hope all goes well also with your new work too Pip.

Best wishes and many more thanks for your kind review.

XXx
Col Kenny Ellee & Badger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Popped in while we were passing to see if a room available for the following night as we wanted to extend our holiday with an extra night. met Colin, a very nice friendly and welcoming man. who showed me around and explained everything, was told the room was a small double but was occupied so obviously we couldn't see it, when we arrived the next day for our stay and was shown the room, found out that Colin tells little fibs, The room was a good size, was very very clean, everything was very well thought out, Breakfast was excellent and plentiful with more on offer if we wanted it, was stuffed, so had to refuse. will defianeately stay with them again, as we often pop down that area for a day out, we now have an lovely place to stop over for the night,
Sorry we never got the chance to say goodbye, but hopefully we will see you again.
Paul and Pauline

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hello Pauline & Paul.
Many thanks for your kind review, Much appreciated.
It was so nice to meet you both and glad all was to your liking - Glad you enjoyed your breakfast and found lots to chose from.

Next time if you stay with us I will show you a few of the even bigger rooms lol !

Hope your journey home went safely, and do apologise for not seeing you as you left, I must have been attending the rooms upstairs, but many thanks for keeping your room so lovely and tidy it was appreciated and leaving the key on the bar.

If youre in or around the area visiting youre also welcome to pop in as it is always so nice to meet and greet genuine, fun loving guests - most of our guests end up as pals and thats a nice thing as it helps a guest feel its a home from home atmosphere.

Best wishes always and once again many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review.
Thank you so much

All the very best to both of you

Best wishes
Col n Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed at the Croft for two nights with my mother back in April as we had tickets to an event nearby at Powderham Castle, which was only 10 minute drive.

Lovely clean room (triple), excellent breakfast & even better hosts, would definitely return.

There is a lovely little bar & lounge on site which is great for a nightcap, but if you want food there are two pubs just a few minutes walk away, The Anchor & The Ship. We ate at both during our stay & would highly recommend the ship, which was great value & definitely the better of the two.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemGem99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us back in April - If I remember right there were a few other guests attending the same concert at Powderham Castle whom were also great fun to have stay with us.
I remember you ringing me and ordering your drinks from the bar when at the castle for your return home with us lol

Hope alls good with you both and thanks once again for taking the time to write a review, that is so much appreciated and look forward to another visit from you both even if youre just passing by and want to drop in to say hi

All the very best
Col n Kenny
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Croft was recommended to me by relations who live in the area. From the moment I spoke to Colin on the phone when booking I knew it was going to be a good stay and we were not disappointed. First class in everything and what beautiful food. It was an absolute pleasure to stay there and both Colin and Ken deserve all the praise they get. Just wish we could have stayed longer. It was our first stay but certainly won't be our last....my mum is already planning her next visit! When we go back it will feel like we will be visiting friends.
See you soon. Love Julie and Barbara
P.s please say hello to Don!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jshepps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you so much Julie & Barbara for your thoughtful and kind appreciative review.

As you mentioned your words, from the minute we spoke over the telephone we knew we would have a good stay - it was the same for me so easy to chat naturally from the off and booking was a real pleasure.
When we did meet you it was an added bonus, we also thank you for your lovely company whilst you were both here.

It will be so nice to meet you again on your next trip down this way and we can have more chats and laughs.

Glad everything was to your liking and I did pass on your regards to Don whom also says a very big hello to you both.
Don visits us every Tuesday and Saturday so maybe hopefully your next intened visit will include either days so you can see him again for yet more laughter.

Hope this response finds you both safe well and happy - Lots of good wishes
Col n Kenny and the pets - Oh and Don of course
xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were there for one night after a mistake at another place. The room was spacious comfy and clean. The breakfast was excellent and Colin and Ken were attentive hosts. What more could we want. Easy access to the back road to Dawlish Warren and the pubs and Restaurants in Cockwood

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NortonKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.
It was also very nice to meet you both and really enjoyed our animal chats - Glad you enjoyed your stay and glad we could bridge a gap during your stay in the area.
Hope this finds you both safe well and happy
Best wishes always and if youre ever passing by again then your more than welcome to pop in and say hi.

Thank you once again

Col n Ken and our pets lol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Starcross
1.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
661 reviews
2.4 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
5.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
2.0 mi away
Mill Farm
Mill Farm
#16 of 69 in Exeter
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lady's Mile Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Property: The Croft Guest House
Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX6 8QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Croft Guest House Starcross, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing