We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay, but left as friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Croft Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One night stay, but left as friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very warm welcome from Colin, lovely clean room in a beautiful house. Fantastic breakfast cooked to order by Ken, presented nicely. We left feeling more like friends, even called back for a drink at the bar 3days later. Will certainly come back to stay. Keep doing what you are so obviously natural at - entertaining !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Lisa & Steve,
Many thanks for your kind review, Much appreciated.
So nice to have met you both also and glad you enjoyed your brief but special stay.

It was so nice also for you to pop back in to see us that evening and share some laughs and tales with the other guests.

Nice to know that you had a nice break away and enjoyed the area.

It was such a pleasure to meet you both and hope Steve is getting the World Cup scores correct again!

Best wishes always and remember were always here to pop in and say hi anytime you are passing by, you are both so nice and we wish you all the very best

Stay well safe and happy always

Best wishes

Col n Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
80
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Behind the bar is a sign which says "Arrive as strangers, leave as friends" which turned out to be spot on! From the first contact with Colin on the phone when booking to saying goodbye at the end of our short stay, he made us feel very welcome and special. We chose this guest house for its position by Cockwood harbour and we were not disappointed. An added bonus is that you get a 10% discount off food at the two nearby pubs (our favourite is the Anchor Inn)

The room was very comfortable and immaculately clean, well equipped and very well maintained.
We have experienced good daily room service before but Colin's attention to detail was first past the post!

Really good breakfasts cooked by Ken set us up for our days walking the local area.

Definitely recommend half an hour in the bar at the end of the day, glass in hand listening to Colin's stories, what a laugh we had, looking forward to reading the book.

Thanks for a great stay, will definitely be back.
Cheers guys
Helen & Tim

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Hello Helen & Tim,
Many many thanks for your kind review, Much appreciated.

It was so very nice to have met you both and from the time of arrival to the departure full of good humour and knowing that you were enjoying your stay as much as we were enjoying your company, moreso as friends now.

Thank you for keeping your room so lovely and tidy it was a pleasure to maintain, it makes all the difference when you go to service a room where you know you have lovely genuine happy guests/friends.

Glad you liked Kens breakfasts and will always have an open door for you should you ever be in the area.

Apologies, I didnt get to show you around the other parts of the house so maybe next time you are passing by and need a pitstop or even better if youre booked with us then can let you see the rest of the buildings.

Thank you once again for the lovely kind review, Much appreciated

Stay well safe and happy always
With many best wishes

Col Kenny
(Fwwaay! - I found the horse ! Private joke)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Croft empitomises what a great B&B should be like. Its a beautiful house with a lovely garden opposite the harbor. The lovely hosts can not do enough for you and you actually feel like you've gone to stay with friends rather than a B&B or hotel.

We had a lovely breakfast on Sunday morning with fresh cut fruit, yoghurts, cereal, and the usual fullon English breakfast. As a vegetarian I appreciated the extra mile with the vegi sausages and my boyfriend sampled the meaty version which was just as tasty. This may be partly due to the eggs, fresh form their own hens in the back! (ask about lady gaga...!)

Cant wait to go back and would definitely make a special trip to the area to stay here again
Thank you!

Room Tip: Just ask the host to recommend what would be best for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lwilso57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind and thoughtful review, Much appreciated.

Likewise, it was so lovely to meet you both, It was also for us, as if friends we had not seen for so long had come to stay.

Your are a very special couple and we enjoyed our time with you, just a shame it was for only one night but as I say to all the genuine, fun loving and truly nice guests that you are welcome back at any time or if you are even just passing on by to drop in for a pit stop.

Glad you enjoyed your breakfasts and Lady Gaga still doing her penguin walk lol

Wishing you all the very best for the future, have a wonderful summer and stay well safe and happy always.
Thank you for keeping your room really nice it was a pleasure to service once you had departed, so clean and tidy all neat.
with many best wishes
Col n Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Never stayed anywhere as friendly as the Croft, you felt welcome as soon as you crossed the threshold and it just continued thoughout the stay. the guest house is spotless the room over looking the harbour was well thought out with comfortable chairs to relax and take in the view,
Ken's breakfasts were very good nothing was to much trouble, and the entertainment from Colin every morning was excellent,beautiful setting and wonderful hosts hope to visit again. Looking forward to the book ?
Jane and Gordon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hello Jane & Gordon, Many thanks for your much appreciated kind review.
It was so nice to meet you both and glad you were both comfortable here.

Its always so nice sharing your home with genuine, clean, friendly and well mannered guests, AND may I say your room was kept immacculate!
(Shame you dont live closer I'd bee asking you wo work here lol)

Pity there is not such a site for GUEST REVIEWS as you would have top marks also.

Glad all is well and wishing you all the very best.
Your both always welcome here even if your just passing by and need a pit stop.

As with many of our Top Guests youll be added to the back of the diary lol
The book is going ok a lot more funny stories to be included since you stayed here.
Best wishes always
Stay well safe and happy always.
Col n Kenny.
xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

My mum and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May.as we were attending a funeral in Starcross. From the moment we telephoned to book nothing was too much trouble. Colin helped out with a lift to the funeral venue up the road which was a great help. The room was perfect with a view over the estuary, spotlessly clean and spacious. The breakfasts cooked by Kenny and served by Colin with such enthusiasm were fresh and as good a cooked breakfast as you would get with freshly laid eggs from their hens which were delicious! We definitely struck lucky finding this guest house on google.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoltysBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Many thanks for your kind review, Much appreciated.

Sad circumstances brought you to the Croft,
But at the same time glad you felt your stay was comfortable enabling you both to feel at ease..
(It was a pleasure to be as helpful as we could with lifts - the beetle!)

Glad to know that your mum got to London safely after we left one another at the train station and that your flight home went safely.

Weve spoken on the telephone since and I also will ring your mum to thank you both for the kind and thoughtful review.

Stay well safe and happy always and have a wonderful summer.
Best wishes always
Col n Kenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed with Colin and Kenny for 3 nights at the beginning of May. It was more like going to stay with friends! Nothing is too much trouble, the whole place was immaculate and Kenny's breakfasts were perfect. With the wonderful Ship Inn across the road on the harbour for beautiful meals what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello Josie & Barry, Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.
Its always so nice to welcome back genuine, friendly happy go lucky guests as yourselves and enjoyed your company back in May.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us & The Ship too.

Hope all is good with you both and have a great summertime, looking forward to seeing you whenever you may be back down this way, you will always be so welcome and a special thank you too for keeping your room so lovely and tidy, that is always so much appreciated.
You are both like good friends also to us!

Best wishes always

Col n Kenny
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Myself and wife just had 5 nights here and we could not have picked a better place.We had great fun and nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was excellent especially the fresh eggs!
Hope to see them again.
Jean & Stuart

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartB770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hello Jean & Stuart, Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.
It was so nice to meet you both also and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for the photograph also which was so kind to send after our after breakfast pose lol

Glad you arrived home safely and remember you are both always welcome back even if you are just passing through the area en route somewhere, a welcome pit stop for you both.
Best wishes always and please say hi to the "Special hoover" he sounds a treat

All the very best and stay well safe & happy always.

Col n Kenny
x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Starcross
1.4 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Exmouth Seafront Hotel
1.7 mi away
Langstone Cliff Hotel
Langstone Cliff Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dawlish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Devoncourt Resort & Apartments
2.0 mi away
Mill Farm
Mill Farm
#19 of 74 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chi Oriental Restaurant
Chi Oriental Restaurant
#12 of 74 in Exeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Property: The Croft Guest House
Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX6 8QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Croft Guest House Starcross, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing