We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent b&b”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights, it is lovely and clean, and Kenny makes
a great veggie breakfast. Colin & Kenny are really friendly, we will stay
here again. We have stayed before in 2011, and it was just as
good then. Thank you for a lovely stay, from Helen & Dave( the woman
with the dog tattoo ) we stayed in room 10.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hello Helen & Dave,
Many thanks for your kind review, Much appreciated.

Glad that your re visit was as good as your first, lovely to see you both again.
It is always so nice to meet and greet genuine, friendly, good hearted smiling guests.

Have a wonderful summertime and your always welcome back or if your ever passing by and want to pop in youre more than welcome.
Glad your journey back home went well and safely

Stay well safe and happy always

Thank you once again for your kind review
(The one with the Black CAT tattoo lol) !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed here now six times and are never disappointed with the service which is second to none. The rooms are exceptionally clean and our room, room 3 had an excellent view across the harbour. Breakfast is first class and the ambience, built around Colin's charm and attentiveness is most comforting, if not unusual in most other hotels. The number of guests who have been there before are testimony to Colin and Ken’s hard work. Keep it up guys and see you next year.

Steve & Margaret

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SummerseatGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you Margaret & Steve for your kind review, Much appreciated.
It was so lovely to see you both again and also your mam and dad whom I took to the rail station this morning shortly after breakfast.
They are armed with half a dozen of Phyllis,s eggs so maybe they will go into your mams next cake she may bake.

Glad your trip home was a safe one and look forward to seeing you all again for your annual away days.

Remember your always welcome even if you are just passing by at anytime, it is always so nice to meet and have as friends as well as guests as genuine, fun loving as you all are.
A truly lovely family.

Best wishes always have a good footy season!
Thank you once again for your kind and much appreciated review.
Col (S.A.F.C.) n Kenny
Oh and a special hello to "Ethelpenny"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very warm welcome from Colin, lovely clean room in a beautiful house. Fantastic breakfast cooked to order by Ken, presented nicely. We left feeling more like friends, even called back for a drink at the bar 3days later. Will certainly come back to stay. Keep doing what you are so obviously natural at - entertaining !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello Lisa & Steve,
Many thanks for your kind review, Much appreciated.
So nice to have met you both also and glad you enjoyed your brief but special stay.

It was so nice also for you to pop back in to see us that evening and share some laughs and tales with the other guests.

Nice to know that you had a nice break away and enjoyed the area.

It was such a pleasure to meet you both and hope Steve is getting the World Cup scores correct again!

Best wishes always and remember were always here to pop in and say hi anytime you are passing by, you are both so nice and we wish you all the very best

Stay well safe and happy always

Best wishes

Col n Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Behind the bar is a sign which says "Arrive as strangers, leave as friends" which turned out to be spot on! From the first contact with Colin on the phone when booking to saying goodbye at the end of our short stay, he made us feel very welcome and special. We chose this guest house for its position by Cockwood harbour and we were not disappointed. An added bonus is that you get a 10% discount off food at the two nearby pubs (our favourite is the Anchor Inn)

The room was very comfortable and immaculately clean, well equipped and very well maintained.
We have experienced good daily room service before but Colin's attention to detail was first past the post!

Really good breakfasts cooked by Ken set us up for our days walking the local area.

Definitely recommend half an hour in the bar at the end of the day, glass in hand listening to Colin's stories, what a laugh we had, looking forward to reading the book.

Thanks for a great stay, will definitely be back.
Cheers guys
Helen & Tim

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello Helen & Tim,
Many many thanks for your kind review, Much appreciated.

It was so very nice to have met you both and from the time of arrival to the departure full of good humour and knowing that you were enjoying your stay as much as we were enjoying your company, moreso as friends now.

Thank you for keeping your room so lovely and tidy it was a pleasure to maintain, it makes all the difference when you go to service a room where you know you have lovely genuine happy guests/friends.

Glad you liked Kens breakfasts and will always have an open door for you should you ever be in the area.

Apologies, I didnt get to show you around the other parts of the house so maybe next time you are passing by and need a pitstop or even better if youre booked with us then can let you see the rest of the buildings.

Thank you once again for the lovely kind review, Much appreciated

Stay well safe and happy always
With many best wishes

Col Kenny
(Fwwaay! - I found the horse ! Private joke)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Croft empitomises what a great B&B should be like. Its a beautiful house with a lovely garden opposite the harbor. The lovely hosts can not do enough for you and you actually feel like you've gone to stay with friends rather than a B&B or hotel.

We had a lovely breakfast on Sunday morning with fresh cut fruit, yoghurts, cereal, and the usual fullon English breakfast. As a vegetarian I appreciated the extra mile with the vegi sausages and my boyfriend sampled the meaty version which was just as tasty. This may be partly due to the eggs, fresh form their own hens in the back! (ask about lady gaga...!)

Cant wait to go back and would definitely make a special trip to the area to stay here again
Thank you!

Room Tip: Just ask the host to recommend what would be best for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lwilso57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Many thanks for your kind and thoughtful review, Much appreciated.

Likewise, it was so lovely to meet you both, It was also for us, as if friends we had not seen for so long had come to stay.

Your are a very special couple and we enjoyed our time with you, just a shame it was for only one night but as I say to all the genuine, fun loving and truly nice guests that you are welcome back at any time or if you are even just passing on by to drop in for a pit stop.

Glad you enjoyed your breakfasts and Lady Gaga still doing her penguin walk lol

Wishing you all the very best for the future, have a wonderful summer and stay well safe and happy always.
Thank you for keeping your room really nice it was a pleasure to service once you had departed, so clean and tidy all neat.
with many best wishes
Col n Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Never stayed anywhere as friendly as the Croft, you felt welcome as soon as you crossed the threshold and it just continued thoughout the stay. the guest house is spotless the room over looking the harbour was well thought out with comfortable chairs to relax and take in the view,
Ken's breakfasts were very good nothing was to much trouble, and the entertainment from Colin every morning was excellent,beautiful setting and wonderful hosts hope to visit again. Looking forward to the book ?
Jane and Gordon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Hello Jane & Gordon, Many thanks for your much appreciated kind review.
It was so nice to meet you both and glad you were both comfortable here.

Its always so nice sharing your home with genuine, clean, friendly and well mannered guests, AND may I say your room was kept immacculate!
(Shame you dont live closer I'd bee asking you wo work here lol)

Pity there is not such a site for GUEST REVIEWS as you would have top marks also.

Glad all is well and wishing you all the very best.
Your both always welcome here even if your just passing by and need a pit stop.

As with many of our Top Guests youll be added to the back of the diary lol
The book is going ok a lot more funny stories to be included since you stayed here.
Best wishes always
Stay well safe and happy always.
Col n Kenny.
xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My mum and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of May.as we were attending a funeral in Starcross. From the moment we telephoned to book nothing was too much trouble. Colin helped out with a lift to the funeral venue up the road which was a great help. The room was perfect with a view over the estuary, spotlessly clean and spacious. The breakfasts cooked by Kenny and served by Colin with such enthusiasm were fresh and as good a cooked breakfast as you would get with freshly laid eggs from their hens which were delicious! We definitely struck lucky finding this guest house on google.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoltysBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Many thanks for your kind review, Much appreciated.

Sad circumstances brought you to the Croft,
But at the same time glad you felt your stay was comfortable enabling you both to feel at ease..
(It was a pleasure to be as helpful as we could with lifts - the beetle!)

Glad to know that your mum got to London safely after we left one another at the train station and that your flight home went safely.

Weve spoken on the telephone since and I also will ring your mum to thank you both for the kind and thoughtful review.

Stay well safe and happy always and have a wonderful summer.
Best wishes always
Col n Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX6 8QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range: £35 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Croft Guest House Starcross, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing