We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spread the word”
Review of Tregarthen's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tregarthen's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hugh Town
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spread the word”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I don't normally write reviews for superb locations as they might become too popular! However, we have just returned from another short break on Scilly and we stayed, for the 11th time, at Tregarthens.

Throughout this time, service has aways been impeccable. I look forward to my smoked haddock and poached eggs breakfast - absolutley first class.

Evening meals are a fine dining experience, something that we don't normally experience in "Hotel Restuarants".

All in all the service is exceptional and makes our stay on the magical isles even more magical.

See you next year

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnW218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    77
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
52
123
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I come back to Scilly every year with friends and for the last 12 or so years have always stayed at Tregarthens. The welcome from the management and staff is always first class and nothing is too much trouble, its just like visiting old friends but with outstanding food, company and service every night. This year I stayed in one of the suites and the views, cleanliness and room were super. One of our number was on his first visit and he is already booked in for next year after such a great experience, demonstrating how the its not just regular visitors such as myself that fall in love with the hotel and Islands. The setting is enviable and views across to Tresco and beyond wonderful. Each year seems to get better and better and I just wish I could get to enjoy such a trip more than once a year. Thank you once again to manager and his team for such a fantastic break and for running such an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

It always amazes me that more people haven't discovered the beauty of the Scilly Isles, right on our doorstep. I come back with friends every year and we always stay at Tregarthens. The position is perfect, overlooking the mouth of the picturesque harbour, convenient for everywhere. I can't fault the manager and the staff, always helpful and friendly (even when I want one last after-dinner drink in the bar or on the terrace watching the night fade). The food is excellent and service prompt. The rooms are clean and tidy, and views wonderful. You will certainly remember your stay here, it is something we look forward to from the moment we leave!

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors overlooking the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joss8d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2011

What a pleasure it was to return to Tregarthens again this year. If at all possible, it gets better each year.

I come as part of a large party and we pretty much take the whole hotel, meaning we all sit for dinner and breakfast together - 42 this year. Nonetheless, the dinner menu is varied and is always excellent, particularly the buffet dinner on Sunday, where 20 to 30 guests swell the numbers further!

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here and bar prices compare favourably with the local hostelries.

At breakfast, all the usual fayre, plus chef is open to requests. I've never known anyone to be disappointed.

Rooms vary from the "cosy" twin rooms to the spacious suites. Something for most people. All are well appointed and clean.

I already have my place booked for next September as have most of our party. Have the weather booked again, too!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanisace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a great deal which included trains, helicopter and DBB.
Hotel decor was painfully out of date and obviously aimed at the old folk who were staying there on mass! Service was great and room had all you needed.
The food was fabulous - just a shame about the crazy speed of service - no joking we timed one change in course at 75 seconds! But the food was awesome - really we recommend the lobster - one of the best I have ever had!
Great value ...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Henry1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Another fantastic break!The staff,rooms and food are of the highest quality.We were all looked after royally.All the refurbishments have been done to the highest specification and
the views from the hotel are second to none, even on the not so clear days.It is a joy to be so centrally based on St.Mary's with the harbour only a 9 iron away!Watching the Scillonian and the 'Jet Boat' plying their trade makes you feel part of these 'Beautiful Isles'.
Martin Gibbs

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martingibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Title says it all really - wonderful view across the bay, great room, excellent food, and the staff were superb.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DustOfTheGrandWazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hugh Town
0.3 mi away
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
St. Mary's Hall Hotel
#1 of 6 in St Mary's
381 reviews
3.5 mi away
Karma St. Martin's
Karma St. Martin's
#1 of 1 in St Martin's
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Star Castle
Star Castle
#2 of 6 in St Mary's
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#5 of 6 in St Mary's
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Schooners Hotel
Schooners Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hugh Town
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colossus
Colossus
#9 of 36 in St Mary's
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregarthen's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregarthen's Hotel

Property: Tregarthen's Hotel
Address: Hugh Town | St Mary's, Hugh Town TR21 OPP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isles of Scilly > St Mary's > Hugh Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hugh Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome….With Outstanding sea views and the best position on St Mary’s, just yards from the Quay. Tregarthen’s Hotel is the perfect base for a truly unforgettable holiday or short break.• Outstanding views• High quality accommodation• Family rooms• Close to the town and quay• Delicious food served all day• Garden Terrace and Patio• Lounge and Cocktail Bar• Conservatory Lounge• Evening restaurant• Private Dining and Functions• Free Wi-fi for all patronsOverlooking the clear waters of St Mary’s Harbour and enjoying stunning panoramic vistas of the islands of Treso, Bryher, Sampson and St Martins, Tregarthen’s boats the best views of any hotel on St Mary’s. All of our bedrooms are recently refurbished, many of which have breath taking sea views and can accommodate family’s. With St Mary’s Quay on our doorstep, a lounge, restaurant and an elegant garden terrace and patio overlooking the ocean there is no better place to experience the unspoilt beauty of Scilly.Delicious food is served all day. Our restaurant specialises in classic English cuisine with a contemporary twist using fresh local produce wherever possible, the same restaurant in which Her Majesty The Queen and Prince Phillip enjoyed lunch.So if your craving peace, tranquillity and relaxation in an unspoilt paradise – be our guest! Our experienced reception team will be delighted to arrange your stay and journey to the islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tregarthen's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregarthens Hotel St Marys
Tregarthen's Hotel Isles Of Scilly/Hugh Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing