We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff are amazing.”
Review of Stables Groomsport

Stables Groomsport
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Groomsport
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bangor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff are amazing.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

The food was its usual tasty self but it was the staff that stood out for me. I was served by a very attractive young lady named Tony/ Toni she was so helpful describing everything to us and was so cheery. Have been here 15+ times and will continue to do so.

Helpful?
Thank foodyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    83
    35
    44
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bearskin Lake, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun evening with great food”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Lively atmosphere with a wide selection of meals in the two restaurants. Choose more formal or go for the fabulous bar restaurant. Both are great, but for lunch the sun room in the bar is hard to beat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlisonClaire147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“good return visit”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

hadn't been here for a considerable time and as wife did not have any dinner made tonight decided to nip down to groomsport.There were three of us and we were seated promptly and drinks ordered as soon as we were given menues.Two of us decided to order from the two course specials and the third being a fussy eater requested something that was not on the menu and was accommodated with no fuss.Our starters and mains were served very promptly and were of excellent value and taste.Overall a pleasant experience with good food,great service and no hassle.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Won't be back for a long time. ”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Went a few nights ago and it was all a disappointment. The salted chilli chicken wasn't, it was grilled/fried with sweet chilli sauce, a pet hate of mine. The liver was very overdone and everywhere I looked needed a clean.
Pity as our last visit was very very good.

Helpful?
5 Thank Hatandgloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Chose to visit the stables on Mother's Day as their advertised menu sounded very good. There were sixteen adults and a three old in our party. We expected it to be busy, so booked our table in advance for 6pm, despite being reassured three times our table would be ready in five minutes, we weren't being seated until 7pm!! Waiting in the cramped bar area with a hungry child is definitely not a good start to the meal! The trio of fish was delicious but the Turkey, Luke warm (as was the vegetable soup starter) and not very palatable. The broccoli was too hard although other veg ok and the champ (minus the scallions) average! Dessert was mainly enjoyed by everyone. The waitresses and waiter pleasant, although the man serving behind the bar was obviously having a bad day. Won't be in any hurry back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stables Groomsport also viewed

Donaghadee, County Down
Groomsport, County Down
 

Been to Stables Groomsport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing