We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful week with magic moments”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Song House

The Song House and Iconic Muckish Mountain in the Background
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Song House and Iconic Muckish Mountain in the Background
Twin Room Bunk Beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Song House and Iconic Muckish Mountain in the Background
Twin Room
Bunk Beds
Cosy Fireplace
The Fire Pit In Use
The Song House Garden and View Across Fields
Beautiful walks in the wilderness nearby
Fantastic Views Everywhere
Beautiful and Expansive Local Beaches
Mount Errigal
Ray church - 6th Century Ruins
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Falcarragh, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
SuGra1970
Wurzburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful week with magic moments”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Many thanks to Candy and Robin for a wonderful week at your songhouse in Falcarragh. Thanks for the warm welcome, the sharing of your home, the care you gave us, all the little extras, the harmony we all felt. I enjoyed singing a wide variety of music from different nations and I especially loved the song "When the Ice came". You are a wonderful teacher, Candy, who encouraged us to let our emotions flow and our heart speak through the music. It was a week full of laughter and joy and harmony between all of us. I'm looking forward very much to coming again to a Singing Holiday at Teach na nAmhrán, to the beauty of the wild landscape, to the wide sandy beaches and the azure blue sea sparkling like diamonds in the sun.
Love Susanne

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Fantastic review Susanne, thanks so much. And thrilled that you loved the holiday so much. We look forward to your future visit. all best Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwyneth E
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable cottage in great location”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

The Song House is well placed for a holiday in Donegal. Our party a choir of ten enjoyed a stay here in April. There was a great space in which to sing, a wonderful kitchen in which to cook and chat and a library of books, guided walks and maps to help us plan out time. Candy, the owner told us the best pub to visit for traditional music sessions, we went along and were invited to sing, an honour.
By day we walked from the house to the sea and to view amazing sunsets. Nearby too were great beaches and pretty towns with art galleries and artisan food,
The peat fueled fire was a joy to sit around and chat.
The garden space too is well stocked with herbs and flowers a joy to see and sit in.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
Many thanks Gwyneth for your kind words. It was a joy having you and your choir to stay. You were well received in the pub too, I heard on the grapevine! Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitedove...
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a gem”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Great place to stay to explore this gorgeous part of the world.
Our choir stayed here. We sang, walked, shared meals in the warm well- equipped kitchen. Highly recommend for self-catering groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
Many thanks Sian for your kind words. It was special having you here. I'm so glad you enjoyed it so much. Come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous singing holiday”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My family and I visit every year and just love the place, the community and the song.

This visit (a week long singing holiday) was the most harmonious(!) yet. Lovely people, really made at home by Candy and Robin, The choir leading of Candy's is top notch - I lead a small choir myself and Candy is my guru.
A real mix of singing experience, all welcomed. We sang in local pubs (along with wonderful local talent).
Beautiful days on the beaches, and over the hills, in between the song.

We have also stayed on other occasions, outside the choir weeks, and the place warrants repeated visits.

Highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
Thank you Graham for your kind words. It's always such a pleasure having you and your family come and stay- both for the signing and at other times too. Long may it continue. Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry M
1 review
“Best sleep, wonderful food”
Reviewed 17 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My fiancée and i live in London and visiting this place is so relaxing, I sleep better than anywhere, the air is clean, it’s peacefull and quiet. The cottage has a warm cosy and modern feel and the natural peat burning on the open fire smells lovely. We are able to prepare fantastic food in the large kitchen because it is modern and has large gas hob, large fridge, and is very well equipped with cooking equipment such as knives, boards, pans etc. Much more than you would expect with a holiday home. There is also a dishwasher. The song house is surrounded by things to do and see nearby for example explore the beautiful salmon stream the Tullaghobegley (pic below), but also has a large indoor space that can accommodate a group if the weather is bad. Candy Verney the host lives on site in an annex for part of the year and has refurbished the whole place and applied her own tasteful cosy style for example: bits of antique furniture, nice landscape pictures, rustic crates for storing peat, rugs, pine cones. She is a musician and singing teacher and runs her own singing/walking holidays for groups.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2018
Many thanks Henry M for your wonderful review of your stay at the Song House. Very pleased that you enjoy it so much. We look forward to welcoming you and your fiancee again at some point. Candy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura O
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful New Year in wilds of Donegal”
Reviewed 20 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We were a group of three families staying in Donegal for New Year 2017/8. We had a great time and enjoyed beach walks at Megheroarty and hill walks in the Aglas. Song House was great location with big room for eating and socialising. Well equipped and comfortable bedrooms. No television for the kids, maybe that was a good thing!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2018
Very glad you had a good time Laura. Hope to see you all again some time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizbetgal...
Mumbles, United Kingdom
1 review
“A musical gem”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I went to The Song House for Candy's Choir Leaders course. It was great fun. I learnt a lot, worked hard with some great people.
The countryside is beautiful with stunning beaches close by.
The locals were all enthusiastic about our singing - I think!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Glad you enjoyed yourself Liz. Good luck with your studies,and hope you come again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing