We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The 3 Fs Friendly, Fabulous, Fun!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cades Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ReefView Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Graiguenamanagh, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The 3 Fs Friendly, Fabulous, Fun!”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Needing some warmth and relaxation, we headed, without hesitation, back to ReefView Apartments for the third successive year. It's like going to stay with friends - actually it IS going to stay with friends. It is sooo.... much nicer than being in a resort. You can enjoy a fabulous barbequed meal on arrival, thereby avoiding having to go out after a long journey. Nick and Karoll are so warm and friendly, always happy to help and advise if needed. You quickly settle into a comfortable apartment with a lovely balcony and a fabulous view out to sea with the volcano on Monserrat smoking in the distance. You can laze there reading some of the many books provided, or drive a short distance to many fabulous beaches. They are so close that we often came back for a quiet lunch on the balcony during the hottest part of the day. Your hosts will tell you everything you want, or need to know about Antigua. This local knowledge is both interesting and invaluable. This year they organised a trip to Barbuda for us which was a fabulous experience. The previous year we flew to Monserrat - all organised by them - fantastic! And if you enjoy snorkelling or fishing they will take you out to the reef where you can see so many exotic fish and of course enjoy a wonderful homemade rum punch and cake when you are feeling a bit fatigued! And that's not all! They also arranged for us to go out for a romantic trip on a catamaran, watching the fiery sun sink into the sea while sipping our drinks and eating tasty nibbles. It's cold and miserable as I write this in Ireland. Roll on next year's trip to Antigua and ReefView!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    44
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
38
177
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

ReefView apartments is a great place to stay on Antigua. Karoll and Nick are fantastically welcoming hosts who know the island inside out and provide excellent information and advice. After many long hours of travel it was fantastic to be picked up at the airport by Karoll, with cold bottles of water ready. She took us shopping so we could buy the food we needed, then drove us to our accommodation and brought us a delicious rum punch! Where else would you get that kind of service? The welcome bbq is great. I also recommend taking Karoll's advice regarding car rentals and having the car delivered to you (after you're rested - particularly if you are used to driving on the right, as Antiguans drive on the left).
We stayed in the garden apartment, which is basic but adequate. If you are used to total privacy and 5 star hotels, this is probably not the place for you. But if you enjoy getting to know locals, having friendly visits from pets, and want a more genuine Antiguan experience, this is the place to stay. ReefView Apartments is excellent value on an island with very expensive accommodation. It is also in a very handy location to many key places on the island (10 min. from Jolly Harbour which has a large grocery store, sports facility, marina, etc.) and near the bus route and many great swimming beaches.
We loved it and would stay at ReefView again in a heartbeat!

  • Liked — The hosts and the garden
  • Disliked — The closest beach was not for swimming
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

A friend and I hired Nick from ReefView to take us on a fly fishing trip in Antigua. I was very impressed with how quickly Nick responded to my initial email inquiring about fishing in Antigua. There is not a lot of information on fly fishing there and Nick was a great help. We met Nick for a day of fishing. We started out for the elusive permit on the flats right near the ReefView apartments. We saw quite a few permit, but could not get any to take interest in our flies. After a few hours of fishing the flats, we got back in his truck and went to another nearby spot for tarpon. Nick had us in a two man hobie kayak fishing for tarpon. The tarpon were rolling everywhere around us. It did not take long for us to have our first fish on, but those fish can throw a fly back at you pretty easily. We would have one on, it would jump and throw the fly. Then we would have another on and it would bust our line. The longest I had one on was 8 minutes before the tarpon broke my line in some mangroves. It was a great time and Nick was great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Del M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Prior to booking our week at Reefview we did some research including reading the reviews on tripadvisor. We developed certain expectations. We would have been happy had they been minimally met -- we were ecstatic in that they exceeded our expectations in every respect. The room (Penthouse) immaculate, modern and had an incredible view. Nick and Karoll were exceptional hosts. From the welcoming rum punch and barbecue to our daily visits they were welcoming and an exceptional resource. We visited beaches and spots on the island we never would have discovered without their orientation. Need a car ? They arranged for the rental at a very reasonable rate with custom pickup and delivery. We'll be coming back to Antigua, it is a beautiful, peaceful and sweet place. When we do we'll be staying with Karoll and Nick at Reefview.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Decided to try something new and what a great decision that was. Nick is a great guide and took us to the location of a sunken ship. Very eerie and exciting. Never thought I could see something like that without having to scuba dive.
Our second stop was on Cades Reef. What a delight. A ray swimming just ahead of us and schools of fish surrounding us. Thank you Nick for showing us these special locations. We enjoyed meeting you and talking with you about life on the Island. If an unforgettable day of snorkeling is what you are looking for, I highly recommend you go out with Capt. Nick from Reef View Apartments. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMaryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Having spent time in more than 100 countries in 40 years of travel, I have spent more nights in hotels than I can remember. With very little down time I have rarely written a review of any place I’ve stayed. However, now that I’ve returned from a week in Antigua I feel compelled to declare that ReefView Apartments in Cades Bay is my favorite lodging.

Since my wife and I are avid snorkelers the fact that ReefView is on the best coral reef in Antigua was a real draw for us. From our veranda on the second floor apartment we could watch the sun set each night beside the smoking volcano on the distant island of Montserrat. In the mornings we would eat breakfast outside on the veranda as we watched the humming birds in the colorful flower gardens below.

The apartment was spacious, clean, and very well equipped. The owners, Karoll and Nick are obviously a bit obsessive about cleanliness. Although the apartments are not brand-new, they certainly looked like it. The kitchen was fully equipped and every towel, sheet, appliance and piece of furniture in the apartment was in perfect condition and spotless.

However, the best thing about staying at ReefView is the personal attention you receive. We were met at the airport by Karoll and given a guided tour of the island on the way to our lodging in Cades Bay. After settling in, Karoll and Nick hosted a delicious barbecue dinner just for us. The next morning Nick came to our apartment, map in hand, to give us a detailed orientation of Antigua. They also arranged for a rental car to be dropped off at our door the next day. They have an open-door policy, telling you to feel free to interrupt them with questions any time of day. During our stay we needed to make a few phones calls and they allowed us to use their office phone to avoid large bills on our foreign cell phones.

There are no famous “must-see” sights on Antigua but the island makes up for that with its people. All over the island the people were remarkably friendly and went out of their way to ask what they could do to make our trip more enjoyable. Our favorite day of the trip involved an excursion to the nearby sparsely inhabited and largely undeveloped sister island of Barbuda. I imagine that Barbuda is the way the rest of the Caribbean was 75 years ago.

If you want to visit World Heritage Sites or Wonders of the World choose a different destination, but if you want to be among cheerful, friendly people, pleasant scenery, and stroll along miles of beautiful beaches then I recommend Antigua and ReefView Apartments.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Firstly if you are looking apartment style accomadation - look no further - book with Nick and Karol!

Accomadation is spacious, clean, well equipped, and in the garden view apartment it has a balcony where you can admire the birds. There are fans in both the longue and bedroom so we didn't need the AC at all.

Situated in Cades Bay - a long stretch of untaimed costline with fantastic snokelling, and even better sunsets, this is an area where you could really get away from the crowds.

It is quite easy to catch a local bus to the local restaurants and beaches (Darkwood is excellent), however, it takes considerablly longer to get to English Habour and the wonderful Half-Moon Bay. So, definitely get a hired car straight away and explore.

We arrange thourgh Nick and Karoll, had the car delivered and at the end of the holiday dropped off at the airport. Prices are good and service painless.

Nick and Karoll are really excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble and always around to have a chat and to help! Do take advnatege of the welcome BBQ an join them for cocktail hour! The best rum punches.

In summery,
Do book with Reefview if you want apartments style accomadation.
I would recommend to hire a car early.
Take advantage of Nick and Karoll's expert local knowledge

Must see,
Diving, snokelling. Shirley Heights on Sunday (again go with N+K), Halfmoon bay most days! Coffee and people watch at English Habour and Nelson's Dockyard. Stingray City, and many many more lovely memories.

P.s. Some reviewers mentioned about the cash deposit - it is 400USD and no problems at all. I used some of it to pay for excursions taken with Reefviews at the end. Got the rest back.

Room Tip: No need for AC. Don't forget insect repellents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o-self
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cades Bay
1.4 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.8 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.9 mi away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.5 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ReefView Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ReefView Apartments

Property: ReefView Apartments
Address: | Damzells, Cades Bay, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Cades Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cades Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ReefView Apartments consist of three unique and fully equipped self catering holiday/vacation homes - each with full bathroom and kitchen - set in lush tropical gardens affording spectacular panoramic views of Antigua's famous Cades Reef just 1 mile offshore as well as neighbouring islands of Montserrat, Guadeloupe and Redonda. ReefView Apartments is located on the shores of the Cades Bay Marine Reserve in a quiet residential hamlet - just 100m from a long deserted sandy beach, fringed with coconut palms, with walk in snorkeling available right off the beach. The shallows flats which front the apartments for miles in each direction are also a haven for sports fishermen - offering shots at hard fighting game species such as tarpon, permit, snook, snapper and barracuda - to name but a few.... Ideal for independent travelers, who enjoy long beach walks in beautiful natural surroundings, exploring the many interesting facets of Antigua's history and geography and immersing themselves in the local culture to provide an experience far removed from the generic experience offered by most other resorts. Owned and operated by long time Antigua residents - Karoll and Nick Williams - we are always on hand to help you get orientated and to know THE REAL ANTIGUA!!! We very much look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of paradise - down by the sea..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reefview Apartments Hotel Cades Bay
Reef View Apartments Antigua
Reef View Apartments Hotel Antigua
ReefView Apartments Antigua/Cades Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing