We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cades Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ReefView Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wow! Where do we start, Karoll and Nick are the ultimate hosts. They are so much fun to be around, Nick's passion for nature on the Island is a rare treat. They also introduced us to other people and Business owners on the Island, we love meeting new people. Reefview was an amazing place to stay, very clean and so close to the ocean. We would highly recommend to anyone this is a great place to stay on Antigua.

We'll be back soon,

Thanks so much for your Hospitality,

Mark & Le

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesavarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    44
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
38
179
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in the "Love Shack" for a week and loved it. Karoll and Nick are great and we enjoyed our welcome bar-b-que with them. We took their suggestion and rented a car and both were very helpful, suggesting places we should see. We brought and purchased food to cook in our fully outfitted kitchen. We also ate at Chappies several times (yum). There are beautiful plants everywhere and several VERY well-behaved pets (if you don't like pets, you won't see them. If you do like pets, they are very friendly). Everything was very clean. Karoll is very organized and provided us with lots of information before we arrived. We never had to pay for a place by wire before, but it was well worth the extra trouble. We travel a lot and this was one of the few vacations from which I arrived home completely rested.

Room Tip: The "Love Shack's" outdoor shower is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton Beeches, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at ReefView Apartments, Antigua. Karoll and Nick are great hosts with expert knowledge of the Island. The location allows you to choose your own Antigua experience, i.e, you are close some of the best beaches on this Island, so if beach life is all you want, you won't be disappointed - and if you want to experience local culture, e.g, buying fish from the local fisherman or trying some of the great 'street' food, Karoll and Nick are there to guide and introduce you. The Antiguans are friendly and are very proud of their Island, if perhaps a little shy at first, so you'll need to 'break the ice'. We were very sad to leave and wouldn't hesitate to return. Lastly, a special thank you to Karoll for the snorkeling lessons - I never thought I could do it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tell-it-all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have just spent five days staying in a one bedroomed ground floor apartment at Reefview and enjoyed it enormously. Karoll and Nick could not have been more welcoming or ongoingly helpful. We asked for a Welcome Pack of some basic food for our arrival and this was in place, plus Karoll collected us at the airport and provided a superb welcome dinner on the first night which was just what we needed when we arrived tired from the UK. Lots of nice restaurants nearby and spent one enjoyable evening with Karoll and Nick at the local restaurant Chappys. Karoll was always on hand with friendship, help and advice and we would hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Next time we will book the top floor apartment with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I loved our week in the "Love Shack."

Upon arrival, we found an immaculately clean cottage, very comfortable and well designed. We were travelling with our teenaged sons, who slept on the pull-out sofa downstairs. Nick and Karoll and brought in a nice mattress for them, so it wasn't what we feared regarding the typical pull-out sofa. This was a proper bed!

Upstairs, my husband and I had a lovely, clean, private loft with a pretty view and lots of (well screened) windows to let in the breeze. The cottage was designed to make use of every bit of space, and we found it very pleasant and comfortable. We loved using the garden shower. I was a bit worried about that, but it was delightful. Karoll has created a nice garden space around the patio. We had all we needed to prepare snacks and breakfast in the cottage, though I never cooked meals. The kitchen space is small but well designed and well stocked with equipment. Karoll had shopped for us before our arrival for the basics I requested (beer, milk, fruit), and were very grateful for this after a long, late day of travel.

Karoll and Nick greeted us with a lovely BBQ, including the best rum punch we had on the Island. Karoll gave us many suggestions of places to go and restaurants to try. She booked the outings (fishing, Barbuda express, off-shore snorkeling) we had indicated we would like, and her recommendations regarding which outfitters to use were perfect. She sent a great deal of information prior to our arrival, so we arrived well informed. Karoll does a very good job of communicating information about what to expect, what to bring, what restaurant options are close by. She booked a car for us, and basically just smoothed the way for a relaxing vacation. While there, she continued to make suggestions and to educate us about the Island. Karoll is a curious person and a wealth of knowledge. She could answer questions and sometimes lend books about many subjects - the birds, the sea life, the shells, the flora and fauna. We really appreciated that.

We brought our own snorkel equipment, which I would recommend, and we used it almost every day. We actually found the beach by the apartments reasonably good for snorkeling, and despite not being a wide, white sandy beach like the ones tourists most covet, it really is quite lovely and private. We never saw another soul there.

If you are someone who needs maid service, daily fresh towels, an infinity pool, and evening entertainment, there are many lovely resorts on Antigua that offer those things. But for us, we loved our little cottage. It offered a very comfortable and quiet place to stay while we explored Antigua. Karolls experience and expertise were a great asset, and even at the height of the tourist season when we were paying relatively higher rates, we thought this was a great bargain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Forget Dickenson Bay, the casino and the crowds of St Johns, for a relaxing time visit Urlings, Cades Bay and stay with Nick and Karoll at the ReefView apartments. Karoll picked us up from the airport and from our welcoming drink on the way to the apartment, she continued to look after us for the whole of our stay and made sure that we relaxed and made the most of our holiday. If you want to know about Antigua then Karoll is the perfect person to inform you. We were joined by Sarah S, and her family for our welcome dinner - they loved the welcome dinner so much, they were back for more!
We stayed in the smaller building Beach Loft Cottage that was independent of the two apartments and it suited us well with a small garden and patio area, downstairs living accommodation and the cabin stairs to the first floor bedroom with the lovely views of the reef from the day bed. Nick is an excellent builder who likes to do a perfect job and it showed by the quality of the construction of the building. The outside shower was a dream to use and made the perfect start to the day.

There is a small beach with a narrow sand strip, a 3 minute walk from the apartment and Karoll was kind enough to walk down there with us and show us the best place to enter the sea. The beach was completely empty - so we had it all to ourselves - wonderful! There is a small reef on the point and lots of fish and shells to view.

This part of the island is quite hilly and green and has cooling breezes and there are quite a few treks you can do - we did one to Rendezvous Bay. The minibus (no 22) comes along the road quite frequently during the day and it is only EC2.50 for a ride!

A visit to the local shops and bar is a must - the shops are well hidden but Karoll can give you directions.

Would we come back to stay at ReefView - you bet, but I think we would also combine it with a trip to Dominica or Montserrat - Karoll has friends there and can advise on accommodation and how to get there!

Nick and Karoll maintain wonderful gardens around the property, full of orchids and sea grapes and other tropical flowers - a true delight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCH_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We were first-time travellers to Antigua in November 2013 and found this place after an extensive search of accommodations on the island.

We stayed on the first floor of the two-apartment building and it was great. All appliances worked, the fans kept us cool at night and Nick and Karroll are exceptionally friendly. They are always ready to give you tips and pointers about beaches, restaurants, bars, outings etc, but they also know when to give you your privacy. They have extensive knowledge about the island and it is definitely worth it to pick their brains.

You should rent a car as the beach they are located next to is not one to lay down on; and at any rate you would want to explore the many wonderful beaches Antigua has to offer.

Again, a wonderful, wonderful stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annemarta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cades Bay
1.4 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
444 reviews
11.7 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
554 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
960 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
982 reviews
9.0 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ReefView Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ReefView Apartments

Property: ReefView Apartments
Address: | Damzells, Cades Bay, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Cades Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cades Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ReefView Apartments consist of three unique and fully equipped self catering holiday/vacation homes - each with full bathroom and kitchen - set in lush tropical gardens affording spectacular panoramic views of Antigua's famous Cades Reef just 1 mile offshore as well as neighbouring islands of Montserrat, Guadeloupe and Redonda. ReefView Apartments is located on the shores of the Cades Bay Marine Reserve in a quiet residential hamlet - just 100m from a long deserted sandy beach, fringed with coconut palms, with walk in snorkeling available right off the beach. The shallows flats which front the apartments for miles in each direction are also a haven for sports fishermen - offering shots at hard fighting game species such as tarpon, permit, snook, snapper and barracuda - to name but a few.... Ideal for independent travelers, who enjoy long beach walks in beautiful natural surroundings, exploring the many interesting facets of Antigua's history and geography and immersing themselves in the local culture to provide an experience far removed from the generic experience offered by most other resorts. Owned and operated by long time Antigua residents - Karoll and Nick Williams - we are always on hand to help you get orientated and to know THE REAL ANTIGUA!!! We very much look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of paradise - down by the sea..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reefview Apartments Hotel Cades Bay
Reef View Apartments Antigua
Reef View Apartments Hotel Antigua
ReefView Apartments Antigua/Cades Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing