We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for our Annual Fix!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cades Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ReefView Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Graiguenamanagh, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back for our Annual Fix!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We're just home from our FIFTH stay in ReefView Appartments, so obviously we love it! We came from a very wet and flooded Ireland to a very dry sunny Antigua for eighteen glorious days of sun and pampering. Karoll and Nick are the most perfect hosts, friendly, fun, helpful. So why do we keep going back? You can have a lovely barbecued meal when you arrive, with fresh salad leaves grown by Karoll in her garden. It's homely, with pets to enjoy if you want them but they don't bother you if not. Comfortable, spotlessly clean, well equipped apartment with fabulous views. Comfortable bed - very important! Lovely big soft towels also very important! And you get to see the REAL Antigua with knowledgeable guidance from Karoll. Any trips you want to take will be organised for you, and they know all the best places to eat. If you're into fishing, well Nick is your only man. Oh, and you can have a superb manicure, pedicure and/or massage right on your balcony - how cool is that! There's loads more I could say, but just go and experience it for yourself. As I sit here looking out at the rain, I SO want to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    44
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
38
179
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

An excellent holiday. The sunset views from the penthouse apartment over the sea (mostly) were great. There was a very warm welcome from Nick and Karoll which made us feel very at home and connected with the place. We particularly enjoyed going to buy bread from the local bakery in the mornings, and rum from the local grocers.

Snorkelling alone on the wild beach at the end of the lane from the house was very special. We felt intrepid going out and finding new fish - guided by our hosts' tips.

Plenty of more tourist/managed beaches nearby and luxury restuarants/bars - so you can have a mix of the 'authentic' village life spiced up by a bit of high-end pampering.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte1992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

If you prefer a small apartment complex to a resort when you want a week or two in the sun, then the place for you is Karoll and Nick's ReefView Apartments on Cades Bay, Antigua. It has a terrific location on the southwest coast, a short walk to local fare in the village and a short bus ride to great beaches and restaurants. The beach close by offers long vistas, solitary walks, and swimming and snorkeling in gentle waters. But be sure to bring beach shoes in which you can swim, because to get to the small reef near the shore you must cross some prickly stuff that defies bare feet and fins. You will be rewarded for this effort by an array of small fish and coral -- it serves as the nursery for Cades Reef, which is a mile off shore and requires an organized boat trip.

Karoll and Nick are genial hosts and offer delicious welcoming dinners and excellent recommendations for restaurants and excursions. The three apartments vary from the elegant to the quirky. We stayed in the quirky Love Shack beach cottage and loved its shady garden and its outdoor shower with flowers growing on the walls. Its quirkiness manifests itself in a few minor plumbing problems and a glorified ladder to the spacious loft bedroom with great sunset and sea views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerala and Rich... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Karoll and Nick and amazing hosts. They encouraged us to get to know the local people and always pointed us in the right directions. Their recommendations are always spot on!! The beach where they are located is not crowded and is great for beach combing and learning how to snorkel. Saw my first stingray in those shallow waters while snorkeling and it was a big one!! After meeting the locals who are wonderful and getting to know the ropes of the place, rent a car and visit the many beaches within their area. The location is great as its central to pretty much everything. There are loads of restaurants and places to eat in the area and if in doubt ask Karoll!! I highly recommend doing the welcome dinner when you first get there (she is an amazing cook) and also take her up on the offer of stocking up the fridge for you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Wow! Where do we start, Karoll and Nick are the ultimate hosts. They are so much fun to be around, Nick's passion for nature on the Island is a rare treat. They also introduced us to other people and Business owners on the Island, we love meeting new people. Reefview was an amazing place to stay, very clean and so close to the ocean. We would highly recommend to anyone this is a great place to stay on Antigua.

We'll be back soon,

Thanks so much for your Hospitality,

Mark & Le

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesavarese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in the "Love Shack" for a week and loved it. Karoll and Nick are great and we enjoyed our welcome bar-b-que with them. We took their suggestion and rented a car and both were very helpful, suggesting places we should see. We brought and purchased food to cook in our fully outfitted kitchen. We also ate at Chappies several times (yum). There are beautiful plants everywhere and several VERY well-behaved pets (if you don't like pets, you won't see them. If you do like pets, they are very friendly). Everything was very clean. Karoll is very organized and provided us with lots of information before we arrived. We never had to pay for a place by wire before, but it was well worth the extra trouble. We travel a lot and this was one of the few vacations from which I arrived home completely rested.

Room Tip: The "Love Shack's" outdoor shower is great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eggewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton Beeches, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We had a wonderful stay at ReefView Apartments, Antigua. Karoll and Nick are great hosts with expert knowledge of the Island. The location allows you to choose your own Antigua experience, i.e, you are close some of the best beaches on this Island, so if beach life is all you want, you won't be disappointed - and if you want to experience local culture, e.g, buying fish from the local fisherman or trying some of the great 'street' food, Karoll and Nick are there to guide and introduce you. The Antiguans are friendly and are very proud of their Island, if perhaps a little shy at first, so you'll need to 'break the ice'. We were very sad to leave and wouldn't hesitate to return. Lastly, a special thank you to Karoll for the snorkeling lessons - I never thought I could do it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tell-it-all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cades Bay
1.4 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
452 reviews
10.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,846 reviews
11.7 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua
#3 of 7 in Saint Mary's
963 reviews
9.0 mi away
St. James's Club & Villas
4.5 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ReefView Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ReefView Apartments

Property: ReefView Apartments
Address: | Damzells, Cades Bay, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Cades Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cades Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ReefView Apartments consist of three unique and fully equipped self catering holiday/vacation homes - each with full bathroom and kitchen - set in lush tropical gardens affording spectacular panoramic views of Antigua's famous Cades Reef just 1 mile offshore as well as neighbouring islands of Montserrat, Guadeloupe and Redonda. ReefView Apartments is located on the shores of the Cades Bay Marine Reserve in a quiet residential hamlet - just 100m from a long deserted sandy beach, fringed with coconut palms, with walk in snorkeling available right off the beach. The shallows flats which front the apartments for miles in each direction are also a haven for sports fishermen - offering shots at hard fighting game species such as tarpon, permit, snook, snapper and barracuda - to name but a few.... Ideal for independent travelers, who enjoy long beach walks in beautiful natural surroundings, exploring the many interesting facets of Antigua's history and geography and immersing themselves in the local culture to provide an experience far removed from the generic experience offered by most other resorts. Owned and operated by long time Antigua residents - Karoll and Nick Williams - we are always on hand to help you get orientated and to know THE REAL ANTIGUA!!! We very much look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of paradise - down by the sea..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reefview Apartments Hotel Cades Bay
Reef View Apartments Antigua
Reef View Apartments Hotel Antigua
ReefView Apartments Antigua/Cades Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing