We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic, laid back, gem of a retreat...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cades Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
ReefView Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2009

We aren’t really people to sit around and watch the world go by as a general rule – but when we arrived at ReefView Apartments in Antigua we were seriously in need of relaxing break.
Having stayed at ReefView a couple of years before, I was keen to see the new cottage they have constructed - and decided to unleash this little gem of a place on my girlfriend.
Well we got something way better than expected, and had a holiday never to be forgotten.
Karoll’s homemade rum punch and our fresh fish BBQs on arrival were perfect – and as we were waited on by our excellent hosts, Nick and Karoll’s wealth of knowledge and stories kept the evening going into the early hours.
In amongst the few days we spent basking on Antigua’s numerous beautiful white sand beaches we also enjoyed a couple of very good dives with a local dive company – but even these were far surpassed by the incredible snorkeling experiences in and around Cades Bay.
Snorkeling off the beach close to the apartments and from Nick’s boat out on Cades Reef we saw turtles, lobsters, octopuses, nurse sharks and even an eagle ray – AWESOME!
And if you don’t believe that an evening stood in the mangroves with a fishing rod would figure on a dream Caribbean holiday – well let me tell you – when Nick is your guide, it definitely can!! Kristina caught her first ever fish and me a few more than that –so it will always be a great if ‘squidgy’ memory.
But it was again aboard the ReefView boat Little Mermaid that we were provided with possibly the best day of the holiday - a fantastic fishing trip.
After 3 hours trolling Nick’s experience shone through as he spotted some birds off in the distance. He headed over to them – and that was that…… 20+ strikes, 15 fish landed – barracuda, tuna, mahi mahi, wahoo …. 'til all the bait was gone!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=auF9uhJ686o
Nick and Karoll also prepared us some sensational fresh sashimis, ceviches and other fish dishes from that day’s catch throughout the course of our stay.
All in all an absolutely amazing holiday, made all the more impressive by the unique rural location.
You are reminded of this frequently by a neighbouring cockerel – but this is a problem which could be easily fixed with ear plugs if you are the kind of person who let’s those things get to you!
Nick and Karoll’s knowledge and helpfulness is unrivalled.
If you want anything – they know where to get it. And if they don’t know then you probably can’t get it on island! They are more than happy give you recommendations and help you get organized. The apartments are individual and full of eclectic beachy stuff, comprehensively furnished but most importantly CLEAN!
If you are looking to explore Antigua based at an ‘off the beaten track’ retreat – AND fancy the option of doing A LOT MORE than lying on a deserted beach – a stay at ReefView could be for you.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for ReefView Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2009

My husband stayed in the Garden Apartment for eight nights in late November/early December 2009.

The apartment is very well equipped and decorated in a simple but comfortable style. We loved having breakfast on the veranda watching the hummingbirds and bananaquits feeding on the Hibiscus and Bougainvillea. The fans in the lounge and bedroom helped to cool down the apartment. We had all we need to make simple meals (too hot to spend lots of time by the cooker) and there were games and books in the apartment (the US version of Trivial Pursuit caused us a few headaches), which we enjoyed while sitting on the veranda enjoying the local rum in the evenings.

Nick and Karoll were very welcoming and helpful. We had spent the previous week sailing around the British Virgin Islands, and I had been badly bitten by the mosquitoes. When Karoll collected us from the airport, she very kindly made a detour, despite the Friday evening rush hour, to a pharmacy so I could get some much needed medication. When we arrived at the apartment Nick had delicious Rum Punch waiting for us, followed by a fabulous BBQ, and the next morning Karoll showed us around the beautiful gardens, and gave us some top tips on where to eat, drink and shop around the island.

As we had spent quite a lot the previous week, we didn't really do any trips or tours, just hired a car and visited lots of beaches. Nick and Karoll were happy to advise us on activities on the islands, but weren't at all pushing us to buy expensive trips with them or other operators.

Karoll and Nick deserve a special thank you for arranging an appointment with a consultant doctor at a couple of hours notice, when Stephen developed severe earache during our last night in the apartment. Fortunately he gave him the all clear to fly, although I'm sure Stephen would have loved to stay a little longer.

This a great spot for peace and quiet, relaxing and enjoying the wildlife. There are lots of great beaches close by, as well as good restaurants to eat in, but not much in the way of nightlife, so this is not the place for those who want to party. But if you want to see more of the real Antigua, this is a great place to base yourself.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowtonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

We just returned home from our fabulous stay at Reefview. Nick & Karoll are excellent hosts. We were married while on Antigua and we could not have done it without Karoll. She knows everyone on the island and she always knew who to contact for what we wanted. We had an intimate sunset beach wedding - just what we wanted. With Nick & Karoll as our witnesses.
Not only did Karoll assist with the wedding arrangements but she arranged our day trip to Barbuda, she had someone meet us at the airport with a car and map, then we had a 'Thanksgiving' lobster dinner on the beach for just the two of us.
We did not want to come home.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

If you wish to visit this island without being "trapped" in a resort, but still having all comfort and assistance, Reef view apartments are the right place for you! Located just 45/50 minutes by car from the airport, 3 minutes walking distance from the nearest beach, 15 minutes by car from the nearest supermarket and 15 minutes by car from two of the most beautiful beaches of the island (darkwood beach and the nest) it is really a recommendable place to stay. We spent 10 days in the garden view apartment, a nice one bedroom apartment with a little terrance where you can eat while admiring the beautiful sunset of Antigua. The apartment has all you need to cook, even an italian coffe machine, you really feel at home! Sheets and towels are provided (even beach towels) so you do not have to bother bringing your ones (which means lighter luggage and more room for souvenirs!) and upon request you can find a nice welcome pack at your arrival, so you can start up your holiday without having to go straight to the supermarket. The closest beach is still untouched, I would not recommend it for sunbathing (there is not a long beach, the sea comes straight at the beginning), but it is surely a perfect place for a swim (we also went at sunset and it was amazing) and since it is close to the apartment, you can go there without bringing anything else apart from your towel! The village where the apartments are located offers a little restaurant at the marina,but you will not find bars or pubs, I actually would not recommend Antigua if you are seeking for a wild nightlife holiday, this is a place where you can relax, surely go drink a beer at Jolly Harbour (the closest centre where to find supermarket and a small shopping centre) but basically an holiday here is "sun, sea, food and relax". Apart from the location and nice apartment, what really makes Reef view a special location are the owners, Nick and Karroll, and their committment to their job. They welcomed us (even if we were delayed by 3 hours due to a problem to the aircraft) with a nice rhum punch and a super fish welcome dinner (please be sure to try Karroll's dishes at least once during your holiday) then the next morning we had an introduction to the island by Karroll, who pointed us all places to see, nice places to go for lunch and dinner, as well as all activities they offer to their guests. They were all interesting, but for our limited budget we got to choose one and we went for the deep sea fishing! Nick was our captain and we got 3 barracudas and 2 tunas!! (We got 3 more tunas, but we lost it before getting them to the boat!!) Nick is an experienced seaman, the most important thing, apart from the fun, is that we always felt safe during all the trip. While the men where fishing, I got a perfect suntan! At dinner we ate tuna sashimi which was amazing! Karroll is a true blessing, we followed all her instructions and recommendation and we enjoyed every day of our vacation. It is also good to have someone to tell your day to at evening when returning home! Regarding dining options and bars If you wish to try the best Lobster at a very reasonable price go visit Carla at the Admiral's close to Darkwood beach, it is open only during the week ends and it is a very casual place to eat (right close to the street), but if you do not mind a "rough" location and you really want to enjoy a mouth watering lobster, go there, you will not regret it!! For an unforgettable pina colada, the right location is the bar at Darkwood beach, we got addicted and went there every day!! (I got it without rhum and still it was super good) Another very nice place to have dinner (with your feet directly on the beach!) is OJ's, 5 mintes from the apartment, if you follow Karroll's recommendation and have steamed fish, you will have a nice fresh fish with vegetables! Here again, prices are reasonable. I would recommend to rent a car (automatic shift and "english style" driving (driver seat on the right) can be a problem at the beginning if you're not used to it,but after the first minutes, you get used to it and it is fun!), Karroll rent us a Yaris, it was new and clean and you do not have to bother getting in contact to the car rental by yourself, she does everything for you and you find the car ready at your arrival! With the car you can go visit Halfmoon Bay, English Harbour, Saint John (even if I did not find this area too attractive), but basically you can move through the beautiful beaches you have close to Cades Bay where the apartments are located and have a good time. Another excursion I would recommend is Barbuda, Karroll reserved a day trip for us and it was amazing! (If you do not suffer from seasickness, because the trip by boat can be rough!) We visited incredible places, ate lobster (included in the daytrip price) and sunbathed in a deserted beach with pink reflections!!I truly recommend to dedicate a day to marvellous Barbuda. In case of seasickness you can also choose to go to Barbuda by plane, I do not know the details, but Karroll can help! (As always!!)
What else to say, I enjoyed every minute of this holiday and cannot find something that I did not like!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Reefview is a great place to stay!!!!.Book there boat for a day and spend time with Nck and Karoll ( Mr & Mrs Jacques Cousteau). Snorkled two different locations, swam with Eagle Ray, Turtles,Lobster, Squid and I held a rare Triton Trumpet Shell. They spent time showing us the different sea life on the beautiful island of Antigua. The eco system is of the utmost importance to Nick and Karoll. Book your vacation at Reefview and enjoy the best holiday of a lifetime.
Linda & Steve

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Karroll and Nick sure do know this island. The vacation started off with Karroll picking us up at the airport, and whisking us "home", after stopping at some roadside stands to get some fresh fruit. When we got to the apartments, we were treated to an evening BBQ on the deck, with some excellent rum punch. The next day was wonderful, as we started off with a morning walk on the beach, and ended with the party at Shirley Heights (a must do). The week was fantastic. Lobster at Chappy's was fantastic. Scuba diving with Paul at Jolly Dive was superior. We went zip lining at the Antigua Rain Forest. We also visited 12 different beaches. We had all of them to ourselves (Deep Bay beach was the best). Karroll was able to direct us to all the best places to go. We watched the sunsets from our balcony. The view of Montserrat from the balcony was spectacular. We could not have had a better holiday. Thanks Reef View. Made for a great 20th Anniversary!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadian_traveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

We spent our 30th anniversary at Reef View apartments and had a glorious week. Karroll is a fabulous innkeeper. Her knowledge of the island and willingness to share made our vacation really super. The apartment was clean, nice and well furnished with all of the necessities plus some. We really enjoyed eating authentic Antiguan food at Chappy's and fishing off the beach near the apt. Everyone we met was very friendly. Dinner and dancing on the cliffs overlooking English Harbor will be one of my fondest memories. Greg's fondest memory is no doubt either catching or eating the large Mango snapper. OK, so the boat ride out to the deserted island, snorkeling, shopping in St. Johns and sightseeing were really fun too. What really made the week fun though were the people. We found Antigua to be such a warm and welcoming place and Karroll is a bit of sunshine. Reef view is in the fishing village of Urlings and is not a self-contained resort. For us, this made our trip much more interesting and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaBlueHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cades Bay
1.4 mi away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
471 reviews
11.7 mi away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
594 reviews
10.4 mi away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,020 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,307 reviews
2.8 mi away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ReefView Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ReefView Apartments

Address: | Damzells, Cades Bay, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Cades Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cades Bay
Price Range: £118 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ReefView Apartments consist of three unique and fully equipped self catering holiday/vacation homes - each with full bathroom and kitchen - set in lush tropical gardens affording spectacular panoramic views of Antigua's famous Cades Reef just 1 mile offshore as well as neighbouring islands of Montserrat, Guadeloupe and Redonda. ReefView Apartments is located on the shores of the Cades Bay Marine Reserve in a quiet residential hamlet - just 100m from a long deserted sandy beach, fringed with coconut palms, with walk in snorkeling available right off the beach. The shallows flats which front the apartments for miles in each direction are also a haven for sports fishermen - offering shots at hard fighting game species such as tarpon, permit, snook, snapper and barracuda - to name but a few.... Ideal for independent travelers, who enjoy long beach walks in beautiful natural surroundings, exploring the many interesting facets of Antigua's history and geography and immersing themselves in the local culture to provide an experience far removed from the generic experience offered by most other resorts. Owned and operated by long time Antigua residents - Karoll and Nick Williams - we are always on hand to help you get orientated and to know THE REAL ANTIGUA!!! We very much look forward to welcoming you to our little piece of paradise - down by the sea..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reefview Apartments Hotel Cades Bay
Reef View Apartments Antigua
Reef View Apartments Hotel Antigua
ReefView Apartments Antigua/Cades Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing