We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Coast Ocean View Apartments
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Scova, it was our first time to the caribbean.

Rudi collected us from the airport and didnt grumble that our flight was delayed, he suggested we stop at the grocery store on the way to the apartment to get some food etc.

The apartments are spotlessly clean, have everyhting you need and great views of the sea.

Rudi has pretty much thought of everything, his hospitaltity experience shines through, he lends you a local mobile so you can make calls at a lower cost and he can also call you very useful.

Nothing was too much trouble for him the morning we left we had a flat tyre, he came to our assistance as we couldnt find the car jack, he helped change the tyre only to find the spare flat too, we were starting to get panicked as we had a plane to catch.......he called the rental company and they sent a replacement otherwise he would have taken us to the airport.

The only little grip we have is that they charge a service charge on top of the rentle not sure what this is for and then when you leave you have to throughly clean the apartment otherwise they charge for cleaning. Being in the hotel industry myself I would expect to have to clean after someone leaves and not charge them for it........I would suggest they increase the basic price a little to account for this, it may just sit a little better from the customers point of view.

The toads like to keep us awake with their night time song but this is mother nature doing her thing.

overall highly recommended and we would definitley return if we go to Antigua again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MangoWinetaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

We spent 10 days in Antigua from the 9th - 19th February and I'm so glad we stayed at Ocean View apartments as they are simply stunning with a view to die for. They are set in the hillside above Cades Bay and looked beautiful from the road. On driving through the automatic gates we were amazed by the perfectly landscaped gardens filled with gorgeous flowers and palm trees attracting humming birds, butterflies and bees which we saw every day. The drive up to the apartment is lovely and we were met by Rudi (the owner) who us extremely proud of his apartments and rightly so. They are 5 star throughout, from the soft furnishing, the decor, the crisp white bed linen, the softer than soft towels, the well equipped kitchen and large balcony with amazing views. If you have any problems Rudi sorts them straight away and it seems nothing is too much trouble. We had two linen changes during our stay and came back to an apartment that was spotlessly clean and as Wilma (Rudi's wife) said 'it is what I would want for myself'
There are beautiful beaches just a short drive from the apartments...Valley Church being our personal favourite and some excellent restaurants a short drive away too. We found the local people to be very friendly and we stopped to by a black pineapple from a road side store which was delicious! Nelson's Dockyard is a great place to visit as is Shirley Heights with it's magnificent view over English Harbour. There really is something for everyone. We had a fabulous days sailing on a traditional wooden yacht with snorkelling where we saw green turtles and rays and wonderful fish amongst the coral. Antigua is a beautiful island with perfect weather, stunning beaches and together with Ocean View apartments.......sheer perfection! Go on.....book your stay.....I know I'd go back in the blink of an eye!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

After checking out many resorts on the island, we decided to stay in one of the appartments on Cades Bay, which seemed to be really good value for money compared to the overprizes hotels. We were islandhopping for our honeymoon and had 5 days on Antigua, and we were very happy with the accomodation. The rooms are spotless, everything is very new and perfectly equipped. the view from the balcony across the bay is really beautiful and the surroundings are quiet. You do need a car to get around, and there are great restaurants and some of the nicest beaches within 5-10 minutes driving. We also went to English Harbour a couple of times, which is about 20 min. drive, just like st. john, the capital. Ruedi was very helpful with information about the island and everything else, they're really great hosts.
I guess if you like resort vacation with buffet dinners and lots of animation and people around you, this wouldn't be your place of choice. But it is absolutely perfect for visitors who want to explore the island on their own, stay in a nice area away from the crowds and prefer the privacy and comfort of a big, well equipped appartment.

Room Tip: The upstairs apartment was a little bigger and we loved the view from the balcony, but at some night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kschowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

My husband and I went to Antigua for 10 days to celebrate our 2 yr wedding anniversary. I accidentally stumbled upon SCOVA apartments and knew instantly that it was the kind of place where we wanted to stay. If you are looking for a more quiet, private vacation experience, away from the touristy area, then this is the place for you. The view is absolutely astounding! Ruedi does a great job keeping the place sparkling clean. We enjoyed sitting out on our balcony to eat breakfast. There is a gate at the bottom of the driveway which is locked overnight, and Ruedi lives in a house right by the gate, so we felt very safe in the apartment. We rented a car and enjoyed exploring the island each day. So many gorgeous beaches nearby, with torquoise blue water, and hardly any people on them! Turners beach is just a 5 min. drive and it was one of our favorites. Had decent snorkeling on the left-hand side. There is a beach right across the road from the apt that has alot of colorful starfish washing up on it, also found some huge shells. Also within walking distance of the apt is a mountain that we hiked named "Mt Obama". All in all we had an amazing time, we stocked up on food at the local grocery store and did most of our cooking at the apt. The kitchen is stocked with everything you could possibly need, even wine glasses. Would go back to SCOVA again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mxpx79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Located high above Cades Bay, with beautiful vistas, Montserrat & Redonda in the distance, Curtain Bluff and Carlisle Bay to the left. Very well appointed rooms, bathroom, bedroom, lounge/kitchen area with a wonderful airy balcony. The apartments are 2 up and 2 down, upstairs IMO has the slightly better views. All kitchen equipmet is first class, blender, knife set, toaster, coffee machine cooker etc etc etc. Also has A/C, cable tv and free wi fi, (a good signal). I stayed there last year for 4 nights and would not hesitate to go back for a short break from work when ever possible. The hosts Ruedi and Wilma are very nice people and take great care in their outstanding property. You do need a car to get around.

http://www.scova-antigua.com/index.html

Room Tip: Best room is number 3 upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Expat1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2011

A very well equipped appartment with marvellous views.We stayed here for 5 days after sailing with friends, and this an ideal place for a relaxing peaceful holiday.The appartment is ideally located up the hill with beautiful views down to Cades Bay with the reef in the foreground and the island of Montserrat on the horizon. A great backdrop to the sunset !

The owners Rudi and Wilma, live in their house at the bottom of the hill, and were charming and could not have more helpful. They loaned us a local mobile which we use on a pay as you go basis, for a returnable deposit and so we could always contact them for any queries.

The appartments are spaceous, tastefully decorated with a well equipped kitchen and and a balcony. Our appartment was one of two upstairs, but well designed to give privacy, and I'm sure the downstairs appartments also had stunning views.

The appartment is in a rural location close to the sea so you really need a car but Ruedi was very helphul with recommendations by e-mail which we followed up successfully directly with the hire company.

If you want a peacful relaxing holiday in a beautiful location this it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to South Coast Ocean View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Ocean View Apartments

Address: Brooks Estate, Cades Bay, Antigua
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish > Cades Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Cades Bay
Price Range: £121 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — South Coast Ocean View Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to South Coast Ocean View Apartments nestled among palm trees and pineapple fields and ideally situated in Cades Bay, Antigua. Our lavish suites are located close to numerous top rated Antigua tourist attractions including: beautiful beaches, restaurants, yacht clubs, boat tours, nightclubs, fishing tours and golf courses. The finest in Antigua attractions are all accessible from our beautiful property. Our recently developed apartments offer a beautiful view of Cades Bay in which numerous other Caribbean islands are visible. Our brand new apartments feature spacious bedrooms, a living room, a large bathroom (complete his and hers sinks!) and of course the balcony overlooking Cades Bay. Each room has A/C, en suite bathrooms, high quality mattresses, beautiful bedding, plenty of comfy pillows and all the extra little comforts and necessities of home. Whether you intend to spend the day relaxed in the sun on the balcony or exploring the island our location is the perfect place from which to begin and to finish your day. As the proud owners of this premier Antigua accommodation, we invite you to leave the cold behind and come spend some time with us in Antigua! We believe that a special vacation starts with special accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your South Coast Ocean View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Ocean View Apartments Antigua/Cades Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing