We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mecina Fondales
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently took a group for a painting holiday to this charming family run hotel and can't say anything else for it but praise! The bedrooms are spotless with lovely fresh cotton sheets and all kept tidy everyday by charming staff. The atmosphere of the hotel is of warmth and friendliness and the feeling that you're sharing the family's home. The gardens are full of cherry trees and abundant with roses and views of nearby mountains and the swimming pool is beautifully situated within the gardens. I'm wondering how soon I can return!

Room Tip: You can choose a room overlooking the pool and garden with views or one onto the little sidestreet w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miasomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is set in a stunning landscape. Very relaxing with nice rooms and facilities including sun terrace and pool. Staff are very attentive. A good place to get away from it all. Only downside is you need a car to get there as public transport is virtually non-existent. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbassill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a painting and walking group.
The hotel was immaculately clean welcoming and comfortable.
The food was acceptable and plentiful although appatently anglicised for our group!
The staff and management helpful and friendly. The gardens especially glorious in a perfect setting.
No complaints at all and looking forward to returning next year. Thank you to Victor senior and junior and all staff for making our stay so pleasant.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Cinibulk20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is the way a hotel should be run -to make it like staying with family or close friends. The hotel is set in a very peaceful and beautiful mountain location. Ok, the bedrooms weren't the most luxurious, but were more than adequate, with great views over the mountains, and the food was simple and excellent. Wonderful walking country, and the fabled Alhambra is only a couple of hours away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It is hard to do justice to this hotel in words. Such a warm welcome to a home from home. Spectacular location, esoteric and charming decor, extremely helpful and lovely people, and superb food. Definitely a place to treasure!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A really charming hotel very close to some lovely hill walks. The rooms are a good size and are very clean and comfortable with fridge, sink and kettle etc. The staff were superb and very friendly. I can really recommend the food and the house wine is great. Victor and Little Victor along with Ibrahim and the rest of the staff made us so welcome. The use of plants and ornaments in the reception area gave a very relaxed feel. The gardens were also relaxing with nearly ripe cherries cascading over the seating area. The lawns around the pool were well trimmed and maintained. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were staying as part of a party of 29 made up by the Polymnia chamber choir from Milton Keynes, UK along with some friends and family. The hotel is very traditional and "nip clean" as my Lancastrian wife's mother would say! Victor made us very welcome and the rest of the staff including his son were very helpful - thanks especially to Ibrahim for helping me with my Spanish rather than the usual "don't bother we speak English!" that you often get in holiday hotels. We had lunch most days in the hotel which was always three courses and of excellent quality (and quantity). Amongst our party we had a variety of dietary needs and because these had been communicated in plenty of time before our arrival they were well catered for. The tables were laid with linen cloths and napkins which always feels good.
There is a large bar area downstairs which we were able to use for our daily rehearsals and this was very useful. Wifi was available in most of the hotel. One or two of our party needed to sit in the lovely sofas dotted around the communal spaces to get signal but we had very good reception in our own room. The room had a large fridge which was useful for keeping water and other supplies cool.
The hotel is high in the mountains and the scenery is beautiful. Several of our party went walking in the locality and were delighted with the paths they found.
The gardens are lovely, pity the cherries were not quite ripe as the trees were laden. A nice pool that although unheated was usable during our visit at the end of May - you do need a jumper in the evenings as the temperature drops sharply after sun set at this time of year.
Even though the village is small there are 3 other bars which are all very close and also friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mecina Fondales
2.9 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#2 of 4 in Capileira
269 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
9.1 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rural San Roque
Hotel Rural San Roque
#1 of 1 in Pitres
25 reviews
12.2 mi away
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
#2 of 12 in Nevada
589 reviews
3 mi away
Hostal Poqueira
Hostal Poqueira
#4 of 4 in Capileira
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mecina Fondales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mecina Fondales Hotel

Address: Calle de la Fuente - Las Alpujarras, 18416 Mecina Fondales, La Taha, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Taha > Mecina Fondales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mecina Fondales
Price Range: £57 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mecina Fondales Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Hotel at 1000 meters high over the Mediterranean sea level. With spacious and very comfortable rooms. Outer rooms with terrace or balcony and views to the countryside. Cafeteria available. Breakfast buffet. Lunches, dinners for organized groups are served prior reservation. The hotel has available a business meeting room and for celebrations. Two hectares of large gardens and an outdoor swimming pool of saltwater. Located in the Sierra Nevada National Park, La Alpujarra de Granada, Spain. The Hotel is certified as office information point of the National park, for trails and general information. It is specialized in the attention of walking holidays groups,and as a resting hotel in the summer months. The hotel has free Wifi for guests in the public areas. We put in contact with the clients with the companies of activities in nature, that allow the clients to make them with or without guides, such as trekking, photography, horseback riding, downhill cycling from the high Mountain, (high mountain bike slopes), observations and geological visits, observation of endemic flora and butterflies, birds of Sierra Nevada (birdwatching), astronomical observation courses , painting courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mecina Fondales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing