We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firefly Sunset Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elbow Cay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Firefly Sunset Resort
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My family and I stayed at the Firefly for spring break this past April 2013 and had an awesome time!! We traveled with another family and shared a house: Sweet Tea. It's a four bedroom four bath house with a family room, dining room, and big kitchen that more than accommodated our party of 8. We rented a boat and a golf cart for the week because no cars are available on the island. We wanted a place to go that isn't commercialized. We wanted a little bit of an adventure for our family. Well, this is perfect if that's what you are looking for. Make sure you do your grocery shopping on Marsh Harbor when you first arrive, because groceries are limited once you get to Elbow Cay. We also chose this destination because of the restaurant. After a day on the water, the last thing I wanted to do was have to cook dinner, so the restaurant at Firefly was awesome! One day we went fishing and the chef cooked our fresh catch (for a fee which we didn't mind at all) four different ways! There isn't a kid's club, but we didn't need one! Having the boat, two pools, and snorkeling around the dock was enough to keep our kids happy (9 and 7). We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Make sure you do your grocery shopping on Marsh Harbor because Elbow Cay has limited goods. Roost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    3
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Firefly Sunset Resort is a friendly place. I have not stayed there, but have been there several times both in the summers of 2012 and 2013 for dinner and to hang out at the bar. It has really wonderful food, a dock that is easily accessible to boats of different sizes, fabulous views, and a great staff both at the bar and in the restaurant. It is a first class place, but has a relaxed, informal atmosphere. Anyone staying in the Abacos needs to pay a visit to Firefly!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristyMtP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We just returned from the most wonderful week at Firefly! I cannot say enough great things about our stay. Lorenzo and his staff were over the top. We stayed in Java Rum. Right on the beach next to the dock and restaurant. We could sit on our porch and watch our boys snorckle, kayak, swim, watch the staff clean conch for fresh daily specials, gorgeous sunsets, and on and on! We all had the best time. Great spot for families. So much to do every day on all of the neighboring islands. Starfish bank, Pete's Pub, Cracker P's, Sandy Cay reef, Nipper's. Every day was a new experience. The restaurant and bar at Firefly were great! We will definitely be back soon!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineJ29464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

We were staying on Lubber's Quarters Cay last week and kept hearing about FIREFLY. Since we had a boat, we decided to check it out. All I can say is WOW! The grounds are immaculate, the views are world class, and the food was wonderful. Although we did not stay at FIREFLY, we ate dinner there twice. We have already booked a cottage for Christmas week. What a jewel this resort is! I have traveled all over the Bahamas and Caribbean and can truly rate this resort as one of the finest I have visited. I can honestly say this is hands down the BEST resort on Elbow Cay. If you are a boater, it is located just to the left of the mouth of White Sound. It has a large dock to accommodate boats. If you are without a boat, it is about a 10 minute golf cart ride from Hope Town. To the owners of FIREFLY, I say THANK YOU.

Room Tip: Java Rum and Mint Two Be are directly on the water. They are only steps to the beach and bar. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boone7548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

we stayed in java rum house for a weekend and everything was perfect, since the moment Lorenzo picked us up in Hope Town until the moment we left.
we were greeted us with anything we needed and on the first night we had a wonderful experience withf The Illest reggae band performance. Fantastic

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SergioCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Beyond the fact that this is a gorgeous resort, the staff here make it outstanding. Lorenzo greeted us when we arrived and saw to any requests we had. It's evident that he is very experienced in hospitality and seeing to every detail. The entire staff are extremely attentive, helpful and contagiously friendly. I can't say enough about their restaurant and bar. I stayed here 4 nights and dined in their restaurant for lunch and dinner. The cuisine is world class! The chef, Gavin, is one one of the best anywhere!

The views are spectacular and I watched the sunsets from the bar every evening. I also went snorkeling in front of the resort and captured some great photographs of their resident turtle.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped and maintained as well. I stayed in the Dragonfly cottage and the rooms were very clean with all the comforts of home...internet, large flat screen TV, full kitchen...I really hated to leave this beautiful place. I'm already planning my return trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wlwaldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My girlfriend and I actually met part of the crew on their day off, when we were staying in Great Guana Cay and they visited that island on their day off. They sold us the idea of Firefly with so much enthusiasm that we just had to come over a couple of days later.

Boy, their enthusiasm was justified more than we could imagine! Upon arriving we were greated by Lorenzo and the crew at Firefly. The location is beautifully situated on the sea of Abaco and although we didn't see the villas from the inside as we did not sleep at Firefly, they look beautiful and spacious from the outside. The crew is very friendly, helpful and entertaining when engaged in conversation. And the food is the best we've tasted throughout our visit to the Bahama's!

All in all, we'll definitely come back here to stay at the villas next time we're in Elbow Cay. Lorenzo, Devero, Tyrone and everyone else at Firefly: thank you for making us feel so welcome!

Britt & Mick, Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittandMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elbow Cay
0.0 mi away
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
Hope Town Harbour Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hope Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abaco Club on Winding Bay
Abaco Club on Winding Bay
#2 of 6 in Marsh Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bahama Beach Club
Bahama Beach Club
#2 of 2 in Treasure Cay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Treasure Cay Beach, Marina & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Hope Town Inn & Marina
Hope Town Inn & Marina
#1 of 4 in Hope Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abaco Beach Resort and Boat Harbour Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firefly Sunset Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firefly Sunset Resort

Property: Firefly Sunset Resort
Address: Centre Line Road | Abaco, Elbow Cay
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Abaco Islands > Elbow Cay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Elbow Cay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise awaits at the Firefly Sunset Resort overlooking the Sea of Abaco in Hope Town, Elbow Cay in Abaco, Bahamas. Experience Abaco’s breathtaking views and the relaxing tranquility of this tropical vacation destination. Set on a secluded oceanfront estate, the Firefly Sunset Resort features seven beautiful rental cottages with modern amenities, two pools, dock slips, a private beach, on-site snorkeling reef and The Firefly Bar & Grill waterfront bar and restaurant. About our Cottages: If you’re looking to travel with the entire family or a large group, reserve the “Sweet Tea Cottage” or “Georgia Peach Cottage”. These luxurious villas offer four bedrooms, four baths and modern amenities. Unwind on the expansive rich Brazilian wood decks with elevated views of the Sea of Abaco and dazzling daily sunsets. Escape to our “Java Rum Plantation House”, a Bahamian-style home with three bedrooms, two baths and just steps from the Sea of Abaco. Cook up your catch of the day in its modern gourmet kitchen and dine al fresco in this gorgeous getaway. Three of our cottages on the resort, “Dragonfly Cottage”, “Butterfly Cottage” and “Firefly Cottage” are charming two bedroom, two bath cottages perfect for a small family or couples looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of life. The cottages feature a full-sized kitchen, living room, dining room and a spacious veranda to unwind after a day on the water. Whether you’re celebrating your honeymoon or looking to rekindle the flame, the “Mint-Two-Be Cottage” extends over the Sea of Abaco and features your own private deck and plunge pool. This two bedroom, two bath cottage is designed for romance as the sound of the waves crash onto the reef below. Just steps away from your cottage, enjoy fresh seafood and other island creations at the Firefly Bar & Grill at Firefly Sunset Resort. Serving up savory daily specials, guests can sit back, relax and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets and a Firefly Sweet Tea Vodka cocktail. You can’t miss our daily sunsets at our Seaside Sunset Bar. Get your glow in the Abacos! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing