We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful by the Sea.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Baletna Skola
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Peaceful by the Sea.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I’ve now stayed twice at this hotel whilst doing business in the area. I think it is very pleasant, modern hotel overlooking the sea in a quiet neighbourhood. I’ve also found friendly, English speaking staff and good service.

My rooms have both times been clean and well presented, with air conditioning and a private balcony to sit outside. There is mini bar fridge (empty perhaps because this was low season) and a clean and well maintained bathroom. Breakfast is served in the adjacent dining room which has fine views over the Adriatic sea. Breakfast carries a small but reasonable selection of hot and cold food.

There is a tiny stony beach outside the front of the hotel, plus a neighbouring restaurant and bar which is more than adequate for an evening meal and drink. The neighbourhood is less than exciting and not worth spending any time in, other than to drive through.

The hotel is about 15 minutes taxi ride from Split airport and about a 20 minute drive from Split itself, so a car is the best solution to stay here. There is a direct bus to Split although I have not tried it.

I will definitely be back here again.

Room Tip: An neighbouring cockerel may wake you early morning at the back of the hotel, as it is very quiet he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigelhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
19
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I couldn't find the 'Restoran Baletna Skola' on Trip Advisor, just the hotel, but we enjoyed our meal so much I felt I ought to give the restaurant a mention.
Eleven of us ate here as a group, meeting with Croatian relatives of our son's fiancée.
The situation was ideal for our grandson to take himself off to the nearby play area overlooking the sea, whenever the adult company proved too much.
The service was friendly without having to wait too long for the food. We chose a variety of meals from an extensive menu: some had steak, others mixed grill, fish platter (which looked great!), chicken or spaghetti. There was more than enough in each portion although that didn't stop most of us enjoying a dessert too!
The popularity of the restaurant amongst locals suggested it is highly regarded by them.
A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KALMAR
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This modern built (80s probably) hotel is set in rather a strange "no mans land" location outside Split, which for me had little charm - but on the plus side, the staff were very pleasant and it was clean and the rooms were clean also. The barman Ivan and the rooftop bar were the two best things about this hotel (though the chairs were very uncomfortable in the bar).

The reception staff were very helpful as they helped us get to the hospital in the middle of the night and with other less urgent matters also. I would say that it is only the staff that make this property, otherwise I would prefer to book something smaller and more interesting which would be less expensive.

Although the hotel is by the sea (beach is pebbly and busy in July) the view from our hotel room was the roof of a restaurant and a grill chimney which billowed out barbeque grill smoke most of the day and night. We had to move room to the ground floor to avoid it. This meant we overlooked the car park. We were given a twin, not a double. It made use of the balcony very difficult.

The breakfast was odd, in that the orange juice brown and horrible, the coffee diabolical. On one day there was no breakfast left as there was a group in the breakfsat room together and they scoffed the lot leaving a few scraps of bread.

The restaurant in front of the hotel did offer a large menu and it was adequate but I would not rave about it.

This hotel was (through my own fault for allowing it) booked for us by Croatia ala Carte, a local tour operator who did not listen to what I wanted and booked me into hotels that I would never personally recommend (especially at the price we paid) if you want hotels with charm or elegance, go elsewhere. I paid twice the price I should have for this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the mountains if the restaurant at the front is open, otherwise you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KalmarLoulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week. The service was good (english was understantable) and the staff was really helpful. We arrived at 9:00 am and our room was ready at 10:00 am. We would have been able to check in right away, even though the official check in- time was at 02:00 pm. We were able to leave our luggage to the reception while we were out before our room was ready, afterwords our luggage were carried to our room.

The room itself was average. It was air conditioned, but it had to be turned off during the night becouse it was too loud. The room had a small fridge, also really loud. The bathroom was clean, towels were changed daily. But when you wanted to shower, you had to leave the water running for a while to be able to have a warm shower. Quite a small room, but enough space for two people who weren't spending so much time in there anyway. The only really a nagtive thing about this room was that there were ants quite a lot. But the room had a balcony overlooking the sea which made the ants look like a tiny little thing.

Breakfast was average. If you were having breakfast early you got boiled eggs, if you had your breakfast a little bit later there weren't any eggs left. As a scandinavian I would have hoped to see some fresh vegetables.

This hotel is located in Kastel Kambelovac which is about a 30 minute bus ride away from Split center. The bus (37) goes every 20 minutes from Mon to Fri. The bus stop is not far from the hotel. The same bus goes to the airport too. There is a grocery near by the hotel with a post office and even a few ATM's.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

In May 2013 we were walking down the exquisite Kastela promenade between Trogir and Split. We were ravenous; one can only drink so much at the Cafe Bars. Everyone directed us to the Ballet School restaurant. And it was impressive: beautiful setting, tasty food, pretty music... until the bill came.

Here a hamburger is redivined as a patty. You pay extra for the bread roll.
Stroganov is a saucy meat dish. You pay extra for rice.

And DON'T complain. Our waitron was condescending and rude

Room Tip: We ate at the restaurant, but stayed in Split at the affordable and lovely Apartments Marjan
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanchenSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Baletna Skola Konoba is part of a hotel with the same name and overlooks the sea and Split skyline, it is made up of different rooms that have been added to the building over the years. There is also a large garden area, with shade from the sun. The view from the front of the Konoba (restaurant) and the garden is excellent as it is set in a large bay of overlooking Split and the distant islands. The menu has a large amount of dishes to choose from with lots of fish and meat and pasta as well as pizza; I had the octopus salad to start with followed by mix meat and fries. While my wife had octopus salad followed by pasta with salmon and prawns, we were both full up by the time we finished so did not get to the desert menu. But there was a wide choice as well as a full selection of wines and beers. We both thought it was value for money and will try some other dishes another day, it was nice to walk along the beach after to clear some of the calories we had taken on as everything was well cooked and the service was quick and friendly. And I nearly forgot, we were served hot bread at the start of the meal. Which was really tasty, and it was good with the octopus salad.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the hotel, but what we saw of it looked okay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrighton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orliczko, Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Hotel is very comfortable, very nice rooms with clean nice bathroom. Nice, helpful stuff. Meals in the hotel's restaurant were very good, awesome coffee we enjoyed few times a day. The beach is just few steps from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gosia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastel Kambelovac
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Zarko
Hotel Villa Zarko
#1 of 2 in Kastel Luksic
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stacija
Hotel Stacija
#1 of 5 in Kastela
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garden Apartment Hotel
Garden Apartment Hotel
#23 of 55 in Split
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kastel
Hotel Kastel
#2 of 2 in Kastel Luksic
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Split
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adria
Hotel Adria
#1 of 2 in Kastel Stafilic
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baletna Skola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baletna Skola

Property: Hotel Baletna Skola
Address: Ulica Dr. Frane Franica, Biskupa 1, Kastel Kambelovac, Kastela 21214, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Kastela > Kastel Kambelovac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kastel Kambelovac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baletna Skola 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baletna skola is placed in a center of Kastela. It is only a few meters away from a sea coast. Hotel has its own parking. 10 minutes away from Airport and Split, the hotel is also convenient for business stay. Rooms have two beds, with possibility of placing an extra bed. They can also be single-used. The rooms are air-conditioned, bathroom, telephone, WI-FI, TV SAT, safe and mini bar, with balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Baletna Skola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing