We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ski Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Montana
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Tania
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Ski Hotel”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

For 2013, Alpine Elements have taken ownership of this central hotel in La Tania, part of the 3 Valley's network ski area in France. I've just returned from a fantastic weeks skiing there based in this hotel and to say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement.
On arrival there is an initial guddle of getting your luggage up to the hotel entrance from where the bus stops. You have the option of several flights of stairs or a lift which takes a few at a time with all associated luggage, so whichever, patience is the name of the game here. Check-in is reasonably quick and simple - name, sign, key, directions, into room! First impression on opening the door....well this is spacious! We only took a standard double but I understand the superior rooms are a little bigger again. The room has a large double door wardrobe area, half shelved and the other for hanging space. There is a separate toilet and bath/shower room, all very clean and neatly appointed. The main area has the bed(s) with separate wall lights for night reading, a small flat screen tv a small circular table with 2 small arm chairs, another chair at a desk with another reading lamp.There's also a small balcony accessible through a French door if you're on the ski slopes side of the building. With respect to the TV, don't expect anything great here: the choice of channels is very limited and given it's a British company that have taken over the hotel they may need to think about the choice of English speaking channels, although there is a large TV in the bar area with Sky channels. Having said that, we barely had the TV on - once or twice to catch up on news!

Meals are served in two different areas of the hotel. Breakfast and afternoon tea/coffee/cake are served in the ground floor restaurant and the main evening meal served upstairs in the dining room opposite reception. Mornings are a little chaotic - everyone wants breakfast more or less at the same time - served from 8 am, and it does cause frequent shortages but they do their best to replenish food as quickly as possible. In the afternoon, tea/coffee and cake are available from 4.30 pm, but what also surprised me was they also had home made biscuits, bread/butter/jam. As a veteran of many ski holidays this goes way beyond the normal. The only complaint here is the greediness of guests who would have 1 person from a party of 6 or 8 go and collect 6/8 pieces of cake, biscuits and some bread, then find they didn't all want it and a lot was wasted. I have to say this infuriated me and certainly not a fault of the hotel or the staff. Evening meals were a real pleasure. The upper restaurant had a very nice atmosphere in pleasant surroundings. The variety of meals throughout the week were simply superb and not what you'd expect of normal ski fare. I've read a few complaints of others saying the portions were small. Either they improved them by the time we arrived or they were expecting too much, as I thought they were pretty much on the mark - in fact there were a couple of meals I couldn't quite finish and I'm no small person! If soups are on the menu, take them - they are a wonderful start to the meal!

La Tania is a pretty small village and you can see what's available in a short 10 min walk. Therefore, apres ski is based around hotel activity. There's a small spa on the ground floor. Although I had every intention of using it, I didn't get around to it, but I understand the steam room is decent. There are some games and activities for the kids certainly to help keep them occupied. The hotel have a quiz night on the 2nd night which is pretty decent and a good laugh. One night in the week you're asked to fend for yourself in terms of meals. We went to Les Marmottons, literally 50m from the hotel and had a wonderful meal of fondue Savoyarde. Highly recommend it.

The staff as you'd expect from a ski resort are all young people, but even as we approached the end of the season, still working hard to make sure our ski holiday was up to expectations. For their enthusiasm and pleasant nature I couldn't fault them - well done.

All-in-all, this was a great place to have as a base for what turned out to be one of our best skiing holidays ever. I think I'll be coming back here - just too good to miss!!

Room Tip: The pillows are pretty soft - if you have neck or shoulder problems may be worth considering an infl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carve_the_Piste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Hotel Le Montana, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your experience with us from start to finish and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    110
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
105
55
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is the first time I have book at holiday with Alpine Elements, I would defiantly recommend them. Booking was easy and we had no issues.

The hotel location is ideal. The rooms are big, we had a superior room which was nicely decorated. The rooms go a bit warm at night so we had to sleep with the balcony door open and the mattress wasn't comfy!

Breakfast and dinner were good. Afternoon cake wasn't the best.

I used the spa once, it is ok, but the steam room smelt of mould.

The bar was nice and very reasonably priced (for a ski resort)

I will defiantly be booking next years holiday with Alpine Elements

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Hotel Le Montana, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent holiday with Alpine Elements. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your first experience and hopefully it won’t be the last one. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just spent 4 day at Le Montana and can certainly recommend it .Bedroom decor is a bit dated but tooms were large so penty of room for your equioment ( used as a ski hotel) . Not a great choice for breakfast compared to a 5 star hotels ( this is a 3star one ) but sufficient . Tea and cake avaiable at 4.30 at end of your ski day. Evening meals were excellent . Best rooms had balcony view . Coffee and drinks certainly cheaper than at Courcheval . Happy hour in the early evenings. All the staff very friendly and approachable . Geat location for beginner skiers as nursey slope only a few yards from hotel

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Hotel Le Montana, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and thank you for recommending us. It is great to hear that the staff were friendly and approachable. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We 3 old girls have just returned from Le Montana Hotel having had a great ski trip. Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Our triple room was spacious with great views over the valley behind the hotel. Could only see a bit of the ski slope but that didn't matter. Recommend only buying drinks from the bar during Happy Hour as very expensive as you would expect in any ski resort. Cooked breakfast wasn't the best but other options were very good (cereals, coissants etc). Free afternoon tea and cakes were excellent as was the evening meals with a good selections. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Our triple corner room was spacious, warm and quiet. Not much view over ski slope but good over val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnL393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlpineElementsTeam, Manager at Hotel Le Montana, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review and comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed your recent experience with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel was a pleasant surprise after the incompetent booking process with Alpine Elements. Two of us needed to travel independently to Geneva rather than with the rest of the group from London. Several exchanges with AE brought different answers and self travel discounts. In the end 100 GBP per person was offered for not taking the flight. We were not allowed to use the AE transfer from GVA to the resort so all the discount and more was spent on the normal Altibus.com service bus from the airport. The overall package seems good value but beware of deviating form the basic offer.

Anyway back to the hotel, the first impression was good with a comfortable reception and bar area. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equiped. Although well used and showing some signs of wear and tear the room was pleasant surprise after having previously stayed in self-catering apartments in the 3-Vallees area. A further great surpise was the the quality of the food on offer. I'm generally sceptical of British operators' catering but the offer at La Montana was very good - an interesting selection of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 deserts for the evening meal. Quality is at least comparable to a good pub meal with lots of fresh ingredients being used. The wine list has a good selection of drinkable wines at reasonable prices. For me the most impressive achievement was serving decent bacon for breakfast. Many hotels in the UK fail miserably at this, so to be able to serve good quality bacon in France is a very big plus mark! (Sadly the sausages are another story...)

The breakfast room was somewhat crowded when we stayed (week before Easter) with the staff struggling at times to keep up with demand but in the end they did succeed in maintaining the vital supplies. Tea and cakes in the afternoon were very good and plentiful. My only complaint would be that the coffee was sometines a bit wishy-washy but this was soon improved after asking one of the staff.

The hotel staff were all very friendly and responded enthusiastically to any questions - a good young team.

Room Tip: Rooms 111 to 117 are directly above the restaurant and kitchen area and so one hears a lot of chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrLpHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burwash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We have recently Returned from a ski holiday at the Hotel La Montana in La Tania and overall for the price paid we had a great holiday.

The position of the Hotel La Montana is superb with ski in ski out access and a gondola 100 metres from the hotel that takes you to the vast skiing of Les Trois Vallees area of Courchevel, Meribel and Val Thorens. La Tania village is a mix of new ski apartments and traditional Savoyarde chalets, with a few shops and restaurants and has a friendly feel.

Our rooms at Hotel la Montana were upgraded to refurbished superior rooms that overlooked the ski slopes. The bedrooms were contemporary in style and spacious with lots of cupboards and drawers. Beds were comfy and bathrooms spacious. These are probably the biggest rooms we have ever had on a ski holiday.

Breakfast was served between 8 - 9.15am which is a later start than other ski hotels we have stayed in and did result in breakfast feeling like a bit of a scramble - a hot option was on offer each day.

Dinner selection is made during breakfast for that evening and consisted of three courses with unlimited French bread and dipping oil. The food was generally very good with lovely presentation - it felt more like food that would be served in a restaurant than a 3* hotel. The wine list at dinner was a little limited and on a couple of evenings we needed to select an alternative.

We drove from the UK to La Tania -10 hours with an overnight stop at Lyon - a very easy drive! One negative point - we were disappointed to be advised three days before our departure by the Alpine Elements UK office that we would be required to pay £50 to park our car in the hotel car park! This felt like a holiday operator 'on the make' however, the friendly manager at the Hotel la Montana - Wayne, very helpfully resolved this situation for us satisfactorily.

Driving in Les Trois Vallees area was simple with roads promptly cleared of snow and easy navigation between resorts - the views on the route up to Courchevel 1850 was truly stunning.

The team at the Hotel la Montana are very young & friendly and accommodating, but a bit inexperienced in hotel housekeeping. However, given the excellent position of the hotel, the price we paid, superb snow conditions and the stunning views on offer in the Trois Vallees we all had a fantastic holiday and will return to this area again!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room overlooking the ski slopes - these rooms get the late afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie180261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Previous reviews have complained about the lack of food, bu we found there to be a good choice, 3 each of starter, mains and puddings. A young team run the hotel and are very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are a good size and very clean.
Have breakfast, walk to the end of the corridor and put your ski's on and ski out to the ski lifts 100 yards away.
Still lots of snow at the end of he season but also lots of cloud, visibility poor on most days.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neale931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Tania
2.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 55 in Courchevel
145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#3 of 55 in Courchevel
194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Peupliers
Hotel Les Peupliers
#7 of 55 in Courchevel
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
L'Apogee Courchevel
L'Apogee Courchevel
#5 of 55 in Courchevel
72 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#17 of 55 in Courchevel
72 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#6 of 55 in Courchevel
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Montana

Property: Hotel Le Montana
Address: Centre Station La Tania, BP 5, 73125 La Tania, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel > La Tania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Tania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana is a ski to door Hotel conveniently situated right in the heart of the 3 Valleys resort of La Tania, only 50-100 metres from the main ski lift (gondola) that whisks you up to some of the best skiing in Courchevel / La Tania. Walk out the front door and you are in the heart of the resort, snap on your skis or board and the fast gondola will whisk you straight into the heart of the Three Valley lift system. Inside The Montana you will find a health club with hot tub, pool, sauna and steam room, gym equipment, two restaurants, and a friendly warm and relaxing bar with comfy lounge. There is also a games room. The hotel has 12 covered parking spaces and 12 open air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montana Hotel
Le Montana Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing