We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and fabulous staff”
Review of Hotel Le Montana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Montana
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Tania
Certificate of Excellence
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay and fabulous staff”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We just came back from a week-long trip to the Hotel Montana and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The snow was fantastic and La Tania met all of our needs for a great week of skiing. We had three valley lift passes which we made good use of, and had a bright and sunny room overlooking the piste. We also loved the swimming pool/sauna/steam room facilities and afternoon tea. (Although the swimming pool is a teeny bit small.)

The Hotel Montana staff made our trip very special. They couldn't do more for us and were always friendly and positive, in particular our rep Andy, Anete in the restaurant and Wayne, the hotel manager. They should be commended for their hard work.

The only shortcoming of the hotel was the internet connection, which is sporadic and cuts out every few minutes. I wouldn't plan on using the internet for anything other than basic email. Other than that our holiday was perfect and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    110
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
105
55
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

having read some of the reviews i can only assume the negatives were people that booked and paid for a 3 star hotel yet expected everything to be 5 star. Really cant argue about anything the hotel had to offer or give. Food was 3 star, service was 3 star accommodation 3 star. the hotel did exactly what it said on the tin. 3 star ski in ski out. the only issues we really had was the wifi. We are fairly savvy with IT and there is a difference between the operator dropping out and the fact your router is simply overloaded. Upgrade your router and line to accept the number of guests and you would get rid of 90% of people moaning. Maybe you should block the staff out during busy periods as they should be working and that will drop about 20 - 30 connections. You also need to tell staff that the bar area is for guests as is the tea, so when guests come back from skiing for tea they can sit at the bar and have tea rather than watching the staff eat all the tea.Apart from those minor pointers you get what you pay for so simply cant moan.

Room Tip: Quad room was surprisingly roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy227062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have just returned from a week's skiing holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Montana. On arrival the staff were waiting for the coach to pull up to carry our luggage to the bedrooms, a welcome surprise that certainly impressed!

The bedroom had a lovely view of the mountains, was very spacious with lots of storage and was spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable, the room was always heated and there was always plenty of hot water. Each day housekeeping serviced the room, leaving plenty of fresh towels and was more than happy to offer any other assistance required.

The staff were very friendly, but always professional and created a very welcoming and relaxed holiday experience.

We also found the food to be excellent, there was a good choice and always presented nicely.

This hotel is excellent value for Money and is very well run, the only issue was the Internet service which was basically unusable.

This was our first holiday and hopefully not the last with

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaz020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I've just returned from a great week snowboarding staying at the Hotel Le Montana. It's a comfortable hotel (3 star is pretty accurate) with competent and 'can do' staff and good facilities. The best thing about Le Montana is however its location. It really is ski in, ski out. The main La Tania gondola is just a short walk/ski (albeit too flat for snowboarding) away which will take you up to the main Courchevel ski area in just a matter of minutes.

I was travelling with my sister and stayed on the 5th floor in room 503, which is a twin. This is a 'superior room', and was spacious and comfortable. The decor was contemporary although as another reviewer has pointed out the bathroom is quite dated, albeit adequate and there was always plentiful hot water from what was a pretty decent shower (over a bath). The beds were very soft (a bit too soft with sore limbs from a hard day on the slopes) but comfortable enough. We had a balcony which overlooked the main slope and enjoyed lots of sun throughout the day. The only small criticism I would have about our room was the radiator. Although the temperature could be controlled, it would go on and off at random times. This never resulted in the room being too cold or too hot but was a bit annoying when trying to dry out gloves/boots etc (although if you're more organised than me and remember to put your gloves on the radiator before going to bed, you'll be just fine!). The radiator was also quite noisy when it 'kicked in' so if you're a light sleeper, probably best to bring ear plugs.

The spa facilities were welcomed at the end of the day, although the opening times could have been longer (it closes at 8pm). The swimming pool is quite small and the Jacuzzi/hot tub was too cold with very few bubbles. The sauna/steam room were nice however and there are various gym equipment if you wanted to punish your muscles even more at the end of the day! NB the spa area is available to outside visitors and appeared to be used more by them then the hotel guests.

There is also a games area with two pool tables (we didn't use these but I think they were €2 per play) and a few large video games. Just a personal preference but it would have been great to have had a table tennis table in this area.

The communal areas are spacious with sofas/other seats, log fire (although this was too far away from any of the seats to really be a feature) and bar. I felt as if the hotel had the feel of a large catered chalet. The bar prices didn't seem too steep. Although there were plenty of places to sit, at certain points in the day (e.g. afternoon tea and after dinner) it was difficult to find somewhere to sit. There is Wifi in the communal areas but this really needs sorting out; it cut out constantly. I have read reviews from months back which complain about the same but little, if anything, appears to have been done to resolve it. These days I also expect Wifi to be available in bedrooms and this would be a great improvement if this feature could be added.

The equipment room was good with individual lockers for skis/boards. It's not heated though so best to take wet boots up to your bedroom to dry out.

Breakfast was good, offering cereals, bread/toast, mini croissants etc, with a variety of preserves/marmalades. There were I believe 3 cooked options each day but I tended to stick to the continental. When I did look for the egg options, they had often run out although these would be replenished upon request. Tea/coffee, apple and orange juice is available, in addition to yogurt and some fruit. Afternoon tea was very welcomed and consisted or slices of baguettes and a variety of preserves, a cake option and often a cookie/scone choice. Tea/coffee and squash were also served. I disagree with some of the comments about how dinner doesn't work. On the whole I think it worked quite well and I quite liked the fact that you could - generally speaking - choose when you eat. Only one night when we were booked for the last sitting at 8.15 did we have to wait before being seated. We also rarely had to wait long between courses - in fact sometimes it was too efficient and you didn't feel as if you could really sit back and enjoy dinner! I liked the fact that breakfast was served in a different area to dinner.

The food choice was pretty good and on the whole well executed. The soups could have been more flavoursome however, and I did find that a number of dishes lacked sufficient sauces/flavour. On the whole though I was quite impressed. The one negative about dinner is the length of time it takes to get your drinks order taken. We had ordered the unlimited wine (probably best avoided for the discerning wine connoisseur, but if you want something to wash down your dinner with rather than the table water it really was a snip at an additional £15 for the week), but for a number of dinners it didn't arrive until after our starter and on two occasions just before dessert (this was despite a number of requests).

The staff were on the whole very good. Yes, they were all quite young but that's to be expected and they all seemed to have a 'can do' attitude and seemed generally to enjoy their jobs. Bradley at dinner was particularly helpful and had a lovely manner about him. Having travelled in March I suppose they have had quite a few months to get used to their jobs so perhaps it would have been a different experience earlier on in the year.

In terms of apres ski, La Tania is quite a quiet resort with a scattering of bars/restaurants. The hotel put on a wine tasting evening (didn't go) and tobogganing, which was great fun although slightly cheaper to go on your own (and you can easily do so). There was a comedy night on the Wednesday which was very enjoyable and well worth the (I seem to remember) €15 entrance fee. There was supposed to be a quiz night on the Thursday but when we turned up at 9.30pm for the start we were informed it had been cancelled. Apparently we were the only people to have signed up. Fair enough, it wouldn't have been much fun with just two but it would have been nice to have been informed of this before planning our evening around the same. We also paid €3 entry fee each which was never returned to us. I would like to think that this has been donated to the charity 'Ski 4 Cancer' which the hotel supports.

In summary, we had a very enjoyable holiday.The Hotel Le Montana is a nice hotel, with good facilities offering good value for money. With just a few minor tweaks here and there (i.e. improved Wifi, hotter hot tub and drinks ordering at dinner) it could be almost perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonPeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I've just come back from a long weekend at Le Montana and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Max who served us in the restaurant and Tom who was behind reception. The breakfast was a bti hit and miss but dinner was good and the rooms were very large and comfortable. The resort itself is nice and quaint.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Enjoyed a great week skiing with family at La Tania, it has more than enough for every level of skier and the location is ideal. A few niggles with hotel would be the staff are very young and some appeared lacking in social skills and life experiences in general. Meal times are a bit chaotic especially the first evening meal with long waits for a table even though it has to be booked on arrival. Unless you arrived early for breakfast there would not be enough tables and you would end up waiting for more food to be bought out. Food overall was very good. Wi fi is hit and miss all over the hotel.
On the positive side we booked a larger room and it was very good with lots of storage, bed was very comfortable, room was warm with great veiws of the mountains and the shower was always hot.
Boot room was small and without heat so people just stored skis in the tiny wooden lockers and took their boots to the bedroom to dry out.
I would return to this hotel if the price was right as it is in such a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the mountains and valley (we were 208) although good are disturbed by the snow plo...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FussySpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for one week at Le Montana in February 2014 with our 5 year old son and had a wonderful time. The location is just perfect, ski-in, ski-out, some nice local bars and restaurants, free button lift up the local slope for practice runs and a children's snow park. All the staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to help but were not overbearing, just relaxed and professional. The food was good and the coffee and cakes served around 4.30 everyday was ideal for a quick snack after a days skiing. It was out son's 5th birthday whilst we were there and the staff offered to make a beautiful cake which was presented to him with candles and singing after dinner, much to his delight! We were on the 5th floor with fantastic views and a balcony. The room was spacious, warm and clean and serviced everyday. They have a good policy of changing your towels if you ask rather than wasting energy unnecessarily with new ones each day! We couldn't have asked for anything better.

Room Tip: 5th floor with balcony was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Tania
2.4 mi away
Mercure Courchevel
Mercure Courchevel
#6 of 55 in Courchevel
322 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 55 in Courchevel
147 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Sivoliere
La Sivoliere
#14 of 55 in Courchevel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#3 of 55 in Courchevel
196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel des Trois Vallees
Hotel des Trois Vallees
#15 of 55 in Courchevel
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Les Peupliers
Hotel Les Peupliers
#7 of 55 in Courchevel
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Montana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Montana

Property: Hotel Le Montana
Address: Centre Station La Tania, BP 5, 73125 La Tania, Courchevel, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Courchevel > La Tania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in La Tania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montana is a ski to door Hotel conveniently situated right in the heart of the 3 Valleys resort of La Tania, only 50-100 metres from the main ski lift (gondola) that whisks you up to some of the best skiing in Courchevel / La Tania. Walk out the front door and you are in the heart of the resort, snap on your skis or board and the fast gondola will whisk you straight into the heart of the Three Valley lift system. Inside The Montana you will find a health club with hot tub, pool, sauna and steam room, gym equipment, two restaurants, and a friendly warm and relaxing bar with comfy lounge. There is also a games room. The hotel has 12 covered parking spaces and 12 open air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Le Montana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Montana Hotel
Le Montana Courchevel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing