We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Every convenience all under one roof and such...”

Review of Kilmore Cottage

Kilmore Cottage exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kilmore Cottage exterior
Seaview beach < 5 mins drive from cottage Bright & spacious kitchen /dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Kilmore Cottage exterior
Seaview beach < 5 mins drive from cottage
Bright & spacious kitchen /dining area
Kilmore Quay memorial gardens
Lounge area with authentic irish feel
Twin bedroom upstairs, tastefully furnished for a relaxing atmosphere
Feeding lambs on the farm
Sunset from the garden
Zeb the donkey foal
We love Chocolate the donkey!
Seal resident in Kilmore Quay
Johnstown castle gardens 15 mins drive away
Our cottages - plenty of room to manouevre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kilmore, County Wexford

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeannine...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Every convenience all under one roof and such friendly hosts..”
Reviewed 28 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We (both family and friends) stayed in Kilmore Cottages for a weekend while celebrating a recent birthday. The properties were spotlessly clean and on arrival it was lovely to see a complementary homemade cake and tea laid out. The Cottages were all on one site with plenty of parking, the beach and local amenities were all nearby. Even though this was an older group hiring the cottages we noted that this would obviously be a great place for a group with young children too. If we were doing something similar again I would definitely think of going there again. I would also like to add that I left something behind at the cottage and Helen found it for me and kindly posted it to my home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Delighted to hear you all had such a good time and that it worked out so well for the group. Thanks!
~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paget M
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our ages range from 75 to 3 years, including a disabled grandmother, and we had a wonderful 2 week stay.”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

John Cousins welcomed us on arrival and was most attentive during our stay. Almost daily he checked if we had everything that we needed and even provided tools for us to fix our own equipment. At the end of both weeks he brought us to feed the donkeys with our compost waste. He also showed us his herd of cows, calves and the bull, explaining the different breeds and breeding. He also brought us to the chicken coup, where they happened to have laid 6 eggs for us! Our disabled grandmother was able to enjoy the trip, as John had collected her in his car and driven across fields, which would have been impassible for a wheelchair. John also renewed our towels and bed linen at the end of week 1.
Zoe, their daughter, was a most popular and competent babysitter.
The house was most suitable for our needs. The spacious downstairs double bedroom and large bathroom, with a level access shower were perfect for a disabled person. The layout of the grounds gives the three houses seclusion from each other and total privacy at the rear. Each looks out onto the very large open garden with lots of playthings for children. A smooth driveway encircles the garden and this was much enjoyed by our 3 and 4 year olds on their scooters.
The cottage is a very short walk (even with a wheelchair) from the village, where there is a P.O./small shop and an excellent restaurant / pub (Mary Barry's). Thoughtfully, there are hi-viz vests in the cottage for night walking. The beach can be accessed at two locations, each about 1.5 miles from the cottage. Kilmore Quay has restaurants and a great fish and chipper. There is a popular children's playground and our juniors really enjoyed catching crabs at the slipway and having them race back into the sea at the end of the day. There are frequent boat trips from here to the Saltee Islands. During our stay we also enjoyed Ballycross Apple Farm and spent a whole day in the very attractive grounds of Johnstown Castle (just off the road to Wexford).
When the 4 year old was asked what she liked most about the holiday, she replied without hesitation "the garden"! Whilst the dry bright weather was kept a bit cool by the constant westerly wind, we were better off than most of the rest of Ireland in an abnormally chilly July.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2015
Wow, thanks a mill for this. It'll be helpful for other guests too - lots of local, useful information :) ~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
451John
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic facilities”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

From the moment we arrived you could not fault the property and the facilities. From the moment we arrived until we left we could feel the Irish welcome, especially from John Cousins the owner,who would enquire if we needed any extra's, being that I am registered disabled. The cottage even had a wet room shower. John even brought half a dozen egg's one day for our breakfast.
We would thoroughly recommend. Great place,great people,wonderful area to stay.
Thank you, we hope to be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, hope to welcome you back soon!
~ John & Helen Cousins
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecorpo
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Ideal for mid-term break”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We're just back from our second stay in Kilmore cottages, and loved it again. Stayed in 'Teach a tri' which is the last of the three houses and it was still in perfect nick, (the owners really look after the place) with a decent selection of books and puzzles to occupy the kids when the weather was fairly terrible outside. Our 2 year old son was also obsessed with the big play boat in the front garden.

Hopefully, we'll be back next mid-term!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thanks a mill. I'm (nearly) a professional shopper so it's a joy to keep things fresh. Delighted it worked so well for you and we look forward to welcoming you back!
~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fergal O
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
“Excellent place to unwind and catch your breath.”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The cottage we stayed in had literally everything you might need from Wifi to a microwave. Everything is spotless when you arrive and the welcome from John and Helen is fantastic. And as for the tea cake and tea/coffee to refresh after the journey … lovely touch.
I would strongly recommend this to anyone wishing to have a few days away from it all, yet close enough to Wexford Town if you want some hustle and bustle. Also, you simply must try to Fish and Chips from the Saltee Restaurant and few minutes drive away in Kilmore Quay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Our tea brack is from an old traditional recipe, glad you liked it. Fish & chips from the local chipper is an effortless supper & because they use locally caught fish, it tastes great. Thank you!
~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve d
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another lovely Holiday at Kilmore cottage”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We just returned from a week at Kilmore cottage, we have stayed before around 8 years ago.
We had 2 cottages this time, and they was everything we wanted.
We love the surrounding area, John was very helpful with tips on places to visit, The children all loved the farm tour with John.
They said one of the best parts of the holiday was when the cows were moved into the field opposite the cottages, a great view to wake up to every morning.
Most evenings we took the short drive down to Ballyhealy beach beach to watch the sunset.
We loved getting the fresh eggs, and the cake on arrival was lovely.
The cottages have everything you need and are clean. I felt very at home.
We will be back, thank you for making our stay so pleasant .
We asked to arrive at the cottages early and it wasn't a problem, both John and Helen very accommodating to any requests.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
Love to hear that you "felt very at home". Thank you! ~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Sep 2013
Fresh eggs are great for breakfast. At the moment wild blackberries and field mushrooms are adding to the 'menu'. Sounds like you had a super family holiday!
~ Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;