We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Elite Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Elite Inn
Ranked #66 of 78 Hulhumale B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Firstly I must say that the staff we dealt with were friendly and tried to help where possible. The issues started when we checked into the room:
1. There was a clump of pubic hair in the toilet and hair in the shower suggesting that the toilet was not cleaned before we got the room.
2. There was rubbish and old slippers(?) under the bed as well as a good measure of dust.
3. The fridge was not a "minibar" and was in fact not even switched on.
4. There were no coffee or tea making facilities in the room as advertised.
5. No windows. There is a however a door(?) leading to a small balcony and had old cigarette buds in an ashtray on the balcony wall.
6. The "sattelite" TV has 4 channels. Two indian channels, a sport channel and a news channel
7. There is construction all around the hotel so was noisy from contruction in the area all day until late.
8. The Elite Inn does not have a restaurant and has to order food from a restaurant from somewhere far away. (We could not find any restaurants on the island). The food was overdone and tatsteless so may be worth going to Male' for dinner.
9. The hotel is far from the Male' ferry so needed to get a taxi each time to and from the ferry.
10. We waited about 45 minutes in reception at 07:00 before we saw staff. When I asked where the reception staff was I was told they were sleeping.
11. The breakfast is not a la carte as advertised and is basically 3 slices of bread, some apple, jam, orange juice and your choice of coffee or tea. We didn't even bother with breaksfast the next day.
12. Only certain types of taxis are allowed between the island and airport and the hotel uses Airport Express which will cost you $16 return. Be ready for this hidden cost. These taxi drivers drive recklessly without any consideration for their passengers and our driver nearly had a head-on collision while driving 120 km/h in a 40 km/h zone.

This hotel is far from everything and is not value for money. It is really worth spending a bit more and going to the aiport hotel with easy connections to the airport and Male'.

Room Tip: We had the corner room 202 and was horrible. There is a small random window (the only window) near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salix7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    9
    15
    11
    27
See reviews for
9
28
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Ok for a few hours, but if you are going to stay, the rooms are tiny wee boxes, staff very sweet, I stayed 5 hours, cried when I arrived. You get what you pay for. No pool, no restaurant, rooms with no windows eeeeek,

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirisydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Arrived late at night by Malaysia Airlines from Kuala Lumpur. Hotel representatives wait for us at arrival hall gate. Transfer to hotel by taxi provided by the hotel. They served welcome drinks and cold tower. Check In was smooth and our room located on the same floor with the lobby which is on the 1st floor.

The room was small with attached bathroom. All amenities was provided but the view from room was not good. Whole area of Hulhumale was new and the area was so quiet and a lot of construction works going on. Pressure in the bathroom was great.

Breakfast was adequate but not good. Transfer to Seaplane terminal was using mini bus which is no air conditioning. Overall, this is the cheapest place that i got for a night stay before flying to Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Putraskyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A very good transfer hotel, Although it's not so big.The hotel owner is friendly and try his best to make our stay comfortable. A deluxe room may be a better choice. Complimentary WiFi is available in room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessSerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hulhumale hotels
0.9 mi away
Clear Sky Inn
Clear Sky Inn
#36 of 78 in Hulhumale
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel 78
Hotel 78
#2 of 78 in Hulhumale
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loona Hotel
Loona Hotel
#47 of 78 in Hulhumale
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Newtown Inn
Newtown Inn
#12 of 78 in Hulhumale
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Le Vieux Nice Inn
#10 of 78 in Hulhumale
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Transit Beach View Hotel
Transit Beach View Hotel
#11 of 78 in Hulhumale
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite Inn

Property: Hotel Elite Inn
Address: Nirolhu Magu, Hulhumale 00960
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhumale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Hulhumale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elite Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 3-minute walk from Nasir Beach in Hulhumale City, Hotel Elite Inn offers rooms with free Wi-Fi access. It provides water sport facilities and can arrange for activities such as fishing, diving and island hopping trips. The hotel is an 8-minute drive from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport. Fitted with tiled flooring, air-conditioned rooms feature a flat-screen TV, a personal safe and a wardrobe. Tea/coffee making facilities and a minibar are included. Private bathrooms come with a hairdryer. Trips to Vilingili Island, which is a 7-minute boat ride away can be arranged. Other activities available include snorkelling, night fishing trips and deep sea fishing at the reef with bait and line. An à la carte breakfast is served daily. Room service is available from 07:00 - 22:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Elite Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Elite Inn Hulhumale, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing