We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT value, and GREAT place for your first night in Maldives”
Review of Fern Boquete Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fern Boquete Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hulhumale
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
218 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
“A GREAT value, and GREAT place for your first night in Maldives”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Anyone who has visited Maldives knows how terribly expensive the resorts are: any of them! And a casual observation tells me that half or more of airline capacity arrivals happen after 4 pm each day (at 1030pm there was a virtual stampede in arrivals with 4 wide bodies arriving at once!). Given that your resort room will be costing you $300 - $1000+ per night, why take a boat or plane in the dark to the resort just to sleep? Fern Boquete is a charming little place 5 minutes (FREE shuttle...the only thing you ever get free in the Maldives) from the air terminal. The downstairs first impression is a bit shabby and worn, but the rooms are kitted out brand new and very modern. And for a fraction of the price of any resort room, you get a clean, quiet COMFORTABLE first night's stay in Maldives. You can rise the next day refreshed and make off to your hideously expensive resort room somewhere. I highly recommend this property to anyone arriving late afternoon or later, for your first night in Maldives!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csundseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    30
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
31
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I didn't stay in this hotel but came here for the restaurant. The menu is a combination of indian, malaysian and chinese. It was some of the best foods I have ever had. I pretty much come here every night during my stay in Hulhumale. The nasi goreng and curry are done to perfection!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
182 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Good: The rooms are nice and clean. They are modern and bathrooms look classy too. Staff is friendly but the locals are not very fluent with their english.

The Bad: The food service is not really good and food in general does not taste very nice. Hotel is expensive for the location as well as compared to other offerings around this area. I recently read someone staying very close to this hotel for half the price which i paid. Location in general is not ideal for a Maldives holiday as this should be considered only a transit hotel and not for honeymooners wanting an extended vacation.

The Ugly: Complementary breakfast service is really really bad. It completely puts you off to whatever good this hotel might hold.

All in all it was an average stay which could have been better but for a few niggles here and there. I wouldn't personally go to this place again but if someone desperately needs a stop close to the airport on the way to someplace better then it could work.

Room Tip: Take beach view room as the other sides are town facing which basically means looking at empty or ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharma_Aditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupont, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We arrived late at night and didn't transit on our seaplane till the following day. I hadn't contacted the hotel ahead of time about our arrival so there was no one from the hotel at the airport when we landed. The lady at the airport lobby called the hotel for us and a man arrived within ten minutes apologizing profusely for not being at the airport when we arrived. In apology for being late he bought us papaya juice at a local bar. I felt a little sheepish considering it was really my fault (i still enjoyed the papaya juice though). The driver, who spoke impeccable English, made all the arrangements for our sea plane flight while we sat and enjoyed our drinks. Everything after that was very smooth from check in to check out. The staff is very friendly and most have understandable English Language skills. The room was clean and simple with a gorgeous view of the ocean. The free breakfast was average but still free. We had lunch here because our flight wasn't till the afternoon. The fish my wife ordered was actually better than the fish we had at our luxury resort at less than half the price. The driver came and picked us up on time and introduced us directly to the our liaison at the Trans Maldives Airlines, all in all the experience was completely hassle free, a nice quick stop on your transit to other islands. One last recommendation, visit the rooftop lounge. My wife and I spent half an hour on top of the building enjoying the view and taking fun photographs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the fern boquete for 2 nights on either side of our week on an island. We were using it as a transit hotel and for that it is fine. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport at no charge, even making us a special breakfast at 6am ( basic but good enough) for an early morning flight. All of the staff we met spoke good English and they even chased up our sea plane flight times for us.

The rooms are new and clean, however quite noisy with other doors, reception and they have live music upstairs sometimes. We had earplugs so it wasn't an issue. Free wifi although not always reliable on the upper levels.

It is right across the road from the beach but due to their religion women can't swim in bikinis. I respect that but I had nothing else to swim in so we couldn't go. Which didn't leave much else to do. There is not much on hulhumale so i would really only recommend it as a one night stop over. Plus it's much cheaper than the hotel that is right next to the airport.

Also no drinking on the island, not that it was an issue but just a bit of FYI if that's something you may want.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We didnt stay at Fern Inn, but rather wish we had. We stayed at Elite Inn - Ok & Skai Lodge - very budget. We ate at Fern Inn twice & the service & staff was great. Staff really kind & helpful. The position of the hotel is alot better then most Male / Hulhumale hotels. Its new & clean & its much nicer then being on Male. You read that Male has nothing to offer, and yes it really has nothing to offer, rather stay on Hulhumale. Much cleaner & you wont get run over but scooter drivers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbsEric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for one night due to arrival time being too late for seaplane transfer. It was ok, fairly new so the bathrooms are half decent. Was kind of like a fawlty towers experience, they forgot to pick us and 2 other couples up, the airport help desk rang them! Our room wasn't ready and we had to wait awhile for it to be cleaned- we checked in at about 11pm! And the half used hotel toiletries were left in the shower from the previous guests. But overall for the few hours we spent there Im glad we didn't fork out for the more expensive Traders hotel. Another bonus is that it's only a 5 minute drive from the airport. They tried hard though and for the price I'd stay again for a stopover only

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hulhumale hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel UI Inn
Hotel UI Inn
#3 of 78 in Hulhumale
433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
0.0 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#4 of 10 in Hulhumale
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 10 in Hulhumale
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maakanaa Lodge
Maakanaa Lodge
#1 of 78 in Hulhumale
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sand Gate
The Sand Gate
#14 of 78 in Hulhumale
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Boquete Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Boquete Inn

Property: Fern Boquete Inn
Address: Hirudhumagu, Hulhumale 10402
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhumale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hulhumale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fern Boquete Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the pleasant and peaceful ambiance of Hulhumale’ beachfront, just minutes away from the capital city, Fern Boquete Inn is managed by Maziya Hotels and Resorts. We look forward to making your stay both comfortable and memorable, providing an opportunity to take advantage of the sandy white beach and bask in the sunlight, with personalized service and modern convenience at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Fern Boquete Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Boquete Inn Hulhumale, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing