We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Holidays”
Review of Le Vieux Nice Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Ranked #9 of 78 Hulhumale B&B and Inns
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dream Holidays”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I recommend hotel Le Vieux Nice Inn, as a comfortable place to stay in Hulhumale, Maldives. The hotel’s equipment is new, with the nice designed restaurant. The food is very good. Personnel of the hotel makes everything to take care about the guests as good as it is only possible. They are very helpful, friendly and warm people. They have very nice offer of many activities to improve holidays, for example visiting picnic islands or resorts. They organize for guests Boduberu evening show, which shows real Maldivian heritage. There are many shops near of the hotel, and it is 10 minutes by car from the Hulhule airport. All additional staff as hair dryer etc. available at the reception desk.
Few meters from the hotel is a long and nice beach with palm trees and coral reef, the point is that it is lack of trash bins, so people throw plastic on the beach. It depends on the local government’s environmental politic, which has to be change if the place should stay friendly for the locals, tourists, and for the ocean wild life.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Via_dei_Serpenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 22 March 2013
Dear Via Dei Serpenti,

It seems like only yesterday that you were here in our very proud Le Vieux Nice Inn. You certainly did fit in the European aura as it charmed you but then so did our Chef Alii as he fulfilled every International food request on or off the menu as you experienced.

Proper leadership is always on display and particularly by our staff always going beyond the expectations of our guests. It is pleasing to have you notice.

The growth of our Recreational Department is bringing a lot of pride for us. You mentioned of your enjoyment of the resort islands. We had a French lady who went night fishing on her last night here and caught eight large fish. Another man caught a fish so big he had a truck deliver it to the hotel. Of course we have many activities such as Diving,Snorkeling and Surfboarding etc.

Being new we are expanding in every direction.

Our native Maldivian Boduberu night of drumming, singing and dancing is very popular.

I agree with you that the local government’s position on the environment has to change and do more general cleanup.

Sincerely,

John Seyfert
Innkeeper
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    46
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
56
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I was be back with any notice and found amazing difference respect some days ago. The hotel and the annex restaurant have improved very fast. This is due to the management of Haseeb, that got my previous suggestions and applied. Very good. I will be back next time

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MauroMonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Mauro Monti,

We respectfully acknowledge this second complimentary review from you with a lot of pride in that you still have us in memory regarding your visit and assorted dinner preferences.

Our restaurant of your enjoyable dinners with your friends is not an annex but is truly attractive and visibly accessible as one comes in the main entrance of the hotel. This will be very obviously seen as you scan photos on our web page.

Yes, we have grown rapidly in our few months of being open. Our staff definitely deserves sincere recognition for this accomplishment along with the detailed tutoring of Haseeb.

We certainly look forward to your upcoming return visit and possibly two more reviews.

Sincerely,

John Seyfert
Innkeeper
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I state that I have not stayed at this hotel, very well put and in a new building, designed by no more than five months ago, small but cozy and clean. Hasseb the exhibitor is a Maldivian co partner with an Italian still absent, it is absolutely great. Hasseb speaks Italian very well and with properties and manages the hotel, they do have stayed in two of my colleagues, a small restaurant with traditional cuisine but also Italian dishes. I eat good pasta, well cooked and quality. My colleagues have told me that the rooms, although not very large, they are comfortable and clean. Hasseb has worked hard proactively to meet our needs, loosing a full day to take us around the islands.
I will definitely stay in this hotel for my business trips that will continue in the near future, and make this place my fixed point.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MauroMonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Mauro Monti,

Your most welcome description of you and your friends visit to Le Vieux Nice Inn either for dinner, recreational activity or residency is most important for us to know. We feel like the United Nations with the varied International occupancy and culinary requests of our most discerning guests.

Very notable as you very well stated is your superb satisfaction of the Italian Cuisine as being well prepared in a quality style of acceptance by you and your friends is kindly appreciated by our Chef Ali and his staff.

It is a joy to know of your pleasurable Italian language communication with Haseeb. His many years in Monaco and Nice, France along with Milan, Italy are now very obvious in our daily operation.

Your excursion of native islands with Haseeb must have been most informative of the native Maldives Culture. Therefore and most positively the hospitality of Haseeb and our staff encouraged you to say that when in the Maldives you will make Le Vieux Nice Inn your fixed point of hotel residency.

We only have ten European décor styled rooms in groups of five on two levels. Each set of five varies in size with the smallest being large by local standards and often described as incomparable, this you will notice on your first overnight stay.

Your kind commentary as submitted has encouraged a moment for us to express our pride and prevailing hospitable welcome of convenience and comfort.

We look forward to have you visit again and enjoy the Maldives Culture and hospitality within us.

Most sincerely,

John Seyfert
Innkeeper
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We have only had a dinner in this restaurant one night. Everything was perfect, food, service and atmosphere. It is the most beautiful hotell restaurant in Hulhumale with the most friendly owner John. Thank you and success in the future.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Krista V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 10 March 2013
Dear Krista,

You are most kind to take the time to comment on your brief visit and enjoyable dinner. If I recall correctly, you had one of our very special Seafood Platters. This is a popular dinner entrée with our certain touch of Italian and French condiments very pleasing to the most discerning palate.

Thank you for the recognition but no successful entrepreneur stands alone. You must have met the proprietor Haseeb who may have proudly greeted you or joined you for a brief conversation. Along with him and investor friends in Europe and America we made a dream come true.

Your genuine commentary will remain with us for a long time.

Most sincerely,

John Seyfert
Innkeeper
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

A new small hotel on the airport island. Its nice to be nice and I agree this was very nice and friendly and they made us feel at home. Rooms are clean staff are friendly and you feel very comfortable. If you want maldives brochure 5* then go to a resort but if u are a little more adventurius like to stay where some locals live and get the public ferry and explore then this is good. local area and beach can do with a little clean but you can meet with locals get the ferry to mali and further and if you want still have trips to fantastic resorts on day trips this was the better option for us. thanks John and all the great crew for making us feel so welcome. Downside of airport island at present apart from our hotel where food was good there was a lack of eating places and a coffee bar and no drinking or on Mali not a problem for me coffee is fine but if thats what you want you have to go to a resort. This area as mali beach is local and Muslim so no bikini for women so ressect and enjoy overall our 4 nights was great but 7 would have been better

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimbojim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, General Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
28 February 28, 2013

Dear Jimbo Jim,

It was an absolute joy to have you stay with us and now what a delight to read your expressions of satisfaction.

Yes, we may be a small hotel but proudly overflowing with hospitality which you so kindly took the time to write. I agree that our staff with their contagious smile gave immediate comfort upon your arrival which was surpassed by their willing service to you during your stay.

You are so kind to comment on the Maldives culture which is an attraction in itself to observe and understand.

I have great hesitancy ending this letter to you but business is calling me away.

Sincerely,

John Seyfert
Innkeeper
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I lived in this hotel for 12 days with my small child and I found it very comfortable for staying. Rooms are very clean, the food in the restaurant of high quality and very tasty. Haseeb, you are the best!! The beach is very close to the hotel and clean. In 3 minutes of walking there is a children's Playground. And there are a lot of shops on this island where you can buy everything. It was very comfortable for me and my child of 2.7 years and I`m going to come back in May. From airport it is 10 min by taxi! People are very friendly everywhere and for my child it was very interesting ti play with the Maldivian children.

Nataly and small Egor from Russia

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Notik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S, Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear Notik,

What a pleasant surprise to have you visit us again by this posted commentary. Your enjoyment and satisfaction of an extended stay is our true objective in creating the convenience and comfort equivalent of an island resort while being reasonably affordable. Although we are only two months new, our recreation department is significantly being established to accommodate and fulfill a guests enjoyment of the Maldives in its entirety.

It is with ultimate delight to know and as we observed, your sons happiness in being playful with his Maldivian friends. As well, your comfort of the beach and swimming the lagoon was obvious.

Yes, Haseeb must be complimented on his diligent effort and European design enhancements to his property in creating our classic look already highly complimented by our most discerning guests. A true international accomplishment. As to his culinary status, you explained it well in a few words.

We look forward to your return visit and satisfaction of the Maldivian hospitality.

Most Sincerely,

John Seyfert
Innkeeper
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulhumale
0.1 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 10 in Hulhumale
68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
3.5 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#4 of 10 in Hulhumale
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maakanaa Lodge
Maakanaa Lodge
#1 of 78 in Hulhumale
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel UI Inn
Hotel UI Inn
#3 of 78 in Hulhumale
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Nice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Nice Inn

Property: Le Vieux Nice Inn
Address: Nirolhumagu - 06, Lot No.10056, Hulhumale 2050
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhumale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Hulhumale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Vieux Nice Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vieux Nice INN is a chic European designed boutique inn offering unique style, sophistication and hospitality unsurpassed in the Maldives Islands. We are conveniently located on Hulhumale Island the largest man-made island in the Maldives connected to the Male' International Airport. Incomparable island comfort is graciously provided our most discerning guests. The pleasing adornment of a vast white coral sand beach and turquoise bay is only steps away. As you enjoy swimming, fishing, island hopping, dinning and exploring the surroundings, you will experience the philosophy of Le Vieux Nice Inn; "Where it is so nice to be nice." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Le Vieux Nice Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Nice Inn Hulhumale, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing