We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wish we could have stayed in the website version!”
Review of Le Vieux Nice Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Ranked #7 of 78 Hulhumale B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We wish we could have stayed in the website version!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

It was very basic but (just) good enough for a late night arrival and early departure to the islands. The price (comparatively cheap) should have been an indication of what we were booking but the TA scores were excellent and the website looked really good. It took repeated email & text chases to confirm pickup and we were on the verge of cancelling because of lack of confidence - hence poor rating, though the staff were pleasant enough when we were there.
It was only 100 metres from a lovely sea front but the area is a run down, residential apartment part of town.
But for a family on a budget or people out all day on the boats it would be OK and very good value way to spend a few days in the Maldives - just don't expect to stay in or around this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    45
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
55
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We had a really nice stay in this hotel. Good service, helpful and very polite managers, nice room and very tasty food in the restaurant on the first floor. We saw some other hotels on the island and they were definitely not the same class, so this one was the best option we could get!

Room Tip: Book business suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahudh, Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

What a delight to hear from you, Your visit to us for was memorable and it is so nice to see that you have captured memories with us. Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence.

We all look forward to see you again in near future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Shahudh,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I returned to this hotel after after 10 months and I've found that small flaws highlighted in my previous reviews have been largely resolved.
The staff is outstanding, polite, helpful and patient. The food in the small restaurant "Il Cucciolo" inside the hotel, has reached an exceptional quality, the kitchen staff creates dishes of Italian level and the fish is very fresh.
The rooms are clean and fresh and very quiet. The owner Hasseb, always available and attentive to the needs of his guests, he manages to turn a business trip into a half-holiday. Good, continues Haseeb, for my part I can only recommend to all and sundry this small guest house to all those who want to know the Maldives outside the Resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauroMonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahudh, General Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Mauro,

What a delight so hear from you, Your stay with us again after 10 Months was memorable starting from the first day it self. Your satisfaction and comfort is utmost important for us.
With much appreciation we say thank you very much for your most kind and considerate words. You and your team were one of our VIP guest for the period.

YES. We are looking forward to welcome you back in near future. We say "Where it is so nice to be nice."


Sincerely,

Ahmed Shahudh
Manager
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked this hotel as your main land flight was landing at 1 AM and the sea plane to our resort did not leave till 9 AM the same morning.

After going through immigration at the airport, we were pleasantly surprised to find a hotel representative waiting for us. We had to wait for another 10 mins for some more passengers but then were taken to the hotel in a clean van. The reason I picked this hotel was that we would avoid taking the water taxi at night. This hotel is located on the same island as the airport.

The hotel itself is nice and clean. We did not spend much time in the hotel but I really dont have any complaints. The front desk team promptly checked us in and arranged for our transfer to the sea plane airport in the morning.

We did not get to explore the island or surrounding of the hotel.
We booked the hotel through hotels.com and $20 charge was added for the airport transfer and transfer from hotel to the sea plane airport which was not bad.

Just give them your sea plane information before arrival and you should not have any problems. Nice clean facility with breakfast available in the morning.

Room Tip: Fax/Email them your itinerary to get the best service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alim58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahudh, General Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to hear from you. Yes, We take care of all our arrivals & departures to the maximum perfection, Your comfort & convenience is utmost important for us.

Your stay with us was memorable and charming. Our unique cozy designed rooms have given you the comfort you were looking for. We work to the best to improve our interior and make it the perfect place for your stay. as we say "Where it is so nice to be nice."


Our front desk team try their best to improve day by day, more convenient and a quick check-in as you will be tiered after your long flying hours to the Maldives.


Although your stay with us was a short stay, I'm sure you have taken a lot of wonderful memories with us.


We look forward to welcome you in a nearer future with bright smile & happiness.



Sincerely,

Ahmed Shahudh,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A perfect ambiance to enjoy a quality meal and the treat of a high quality service from the friendly staff.The owner speaks many languages and the staff are in a relaxed mood so that they can truly smile. They are really a friendly bunch . Quality of food was awesome and the Chef is always available in the service area for a friendly chat. Another feature at this place is 24 hour free tea & coffee for the in house guests.
This is truly the number one spot in Hulumale I'm sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudath I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahudh, General Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

What a delight to hear from you, You are one of our first guest who we invited to stay with us. I must say your stay with us was fantastic & memorable to me and my team.

To work with your team and work for excellence was amazing. I must say, the work we did in few hours was a lot and highly useful. To know each other and YES, your gift ( Huge Maldivian
& a French Flag) was a memorable and very close 2 country flags to Le Vieux Nice Inn.

We are going to raise the 2 flags on top of the building and will be a memory of your group.

As discussed we will be seeing you on our visit to Sri Lanka.

With much appreciation we say thank you & your team very much for your most kind and considerate time with us. YES. We are looking forward to welcome you in near future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Shahudh,
Le Vieux Nice Inn Maldives
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We landed late into Male and needed a 1 night stop over before our flight out to the islands the next day.

We were very happy with Le Vieux. They picked us up from the airport and dropped us back the next day. Check in was simple and easy and they took our bags up to the top floor. I don't recall there being a lift.

The room was spacious with effective air-con, and hot shower. There was fast free wi-fi.

The hotel was located on the same island as the airport, which was good. I didn't realise Male itself is a different island which you need to get a ferry too, so i 'm glad i didn't make the mistake of booking a hotel on Male itself.

We had to leave quite early, so we had a simple breakfast that they did for us specially, i think just cereal and toast, juice, coffee, so they were very accommodating.

Given they must get a lot of 1 night stays, i thought it was a very warm and friendly service.

Room Tip: We always go for top floor rooms, though there is no lift here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahudh, General Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Antibes,

We are extremely pleased to hear how much you've enjoyed your short stay with us. Your beautiful words about our rooms and hotel is highly appreciated. With much appreciation we say thank you very much for your most kind and considerate words and we look forward to see you soon.

Your late arrival will not be a problem for us. As long as we receive your arrival & departure details we will be taking care of your moments.

YES. We are looking forward to welcome you back in near future.


Sincerely,

Ahmed Shahudh
Manager
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel is a find. For the price you pay, you get fair service, good location, good food and nice accommodation. You can not get a taxi from or to the airport, but the hotel arranges you a ride for a decent price. They will also help you to get to local resorts etc. Beach is just around the corner, yet as it is a local beach, no bikini is allowed. Other restrictions apply as well, because Hulhumale is a local, islamic island. This brings a beautiful addition to the stay as you will meet and see a whole lot of local life. A trip to Malé takes about 15 mins walk and 15 mins boat trip costing less than a dollar.

Room Tip: We stayed in a honeymoon deluxe suite, which was more than nice and enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timo_Kontio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahudh, General Manager at Le Vieux Nice Inn, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Guest,

The beautiful encouraging words you have shared to all the readers of the Trip Advisor following your stay at our Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive compliments on our hotel. We are much more happy that you have wonderful memories with us, The room, The Island, The hotel, surroundings you captured in your heart.

Nothing is more motivating to our staff than honest words of encouragement from wonderful guests such as yourself. Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence. It was a pleasure to have you with us for your short stay.


May I take this opportunity to thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Ahmed Shahudh
Manager
Le Vieux Nice Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulhumale
0.1 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 10 in Hulhumale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
3.5 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#5 of 10 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel UI Inn
Hotel UI Inn
#3 of 78 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maakanaa Lodge
Maakanaa Lodge
#1 of 78 in Hulhumale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Nice Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Nice Inn

Property: Le Vieux Nice Inn
Address: Nirolhumagu - 06, Lot No.10056, Hulhumale 2050
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhumale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Hulhumale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Vieux Nice Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Vieux Nice INN is a chic European designed boutique inn offering unique style, sophistication and hospitality unsurpassed in the Maldives Islands. We are conveniently located on Hulhumale Island the largest man-made island in the Maldives connected to the Male' International Airport. Incomparable island comfort is graciously provided our most discerning guests. The pleasing adornment of a vast white coral sand beach and turquoise bay is only steps away. As you enjoy swimming, fishing, island hopping, dinning and exploring the surroundings, you will experience the philosophy of Le Vieux Nice Inn; "Where it is so nice to be nice." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, HostelWorld, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Le Vieux Nice Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Nice Inn Hulhumale, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing