We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and budget Stay”
Review of Newtown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newtown Inn
Ranked #10 of 81 Hulhumale B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Comfortable and budget Stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have been to Maldives for my honeymoon trip, since my budget was average I decided to stay in a hotel where my criteria was (average rate , not far from airport , not in male city, near to sea beach). This hotel is perfect match for my requirement. After my long stay in this hotel i felt people are very good(Owner is indian), they have their own restaurant so you can expect indian food there. I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajivSabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Manager at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for the generous comment. We are glad that your stay in our hotel was a good memorable experience. We always try to make our guest as comfortable at our hotel. See you next year.

Mazin
Newtown Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    53
    21
    10
    10
See reviews for
28
77
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed for transfer for 2 nights. (1 night during arrival and 1 night before departure date)
From the shuttle pick-up at the airport, to the check-in, to the services provided during our stay, everything was impeccable. The staff genuinely care about the well-being of the customers and the service is very good and very friendly indeed. Awesome hotel and really great value for money. The room was clean and nicely decorated though a bit small. Bus stop is only opposite the hotel if you would like to catch a ferry to Male or to the airport by bus. Free and superb WiFi connection. We had our dinner at the terrace on the 3rd floor ordered from the ground floor restaurant and the food was good. The minor downside is that the hotel doesn't have an elevator or lift but to worry much their staff will handle everything for you especially on the luggage.
I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZielShahzira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Manager at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for talking the time to provide us with your comments following your recent stay at Newtown Inn. It is pleasing to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our target is to provide good service to customer and when our customer leave with a smile.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed here for three nights to explore Male and Hulhumale before going on our dive trip. What can I say, the hotel is perfect in all aspects. Staff was amazing, the owner onsite daily to make sure all was well.Airport pickup was perfect, quick check-in at 1am could not have gone any faster. Nice short walk to the ferry to go and explore Male.

Special thanks to Soba for going above and beyond to make our stay amazing. Especially for the special order Maldivian breakfast - Mas huni, he got us to try. A must if you like mixing it up a little.

Highly recommend and will stay here again on our next visit.
Great for a one night transfer, but we recommend staying a couple of nights to explore Male.

Room Tip: Choose a room with Street view. Nice small deck to enjoy a morning coffee or evening drink and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Manager at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for talking the time to provide us with your comments following your recent stay at Newtown Inn. It is pleasing to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our target is to provide good service to customer and when our customer leave with a smile.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

New town inn was great. It's is on the same island as the airport so after a long flight it was great to just get to the hotel within 7 minutes and just crash. It's walking distance to the ferry over to Malè which makes everything (connecting to other islands etc.) easy. The owners are awesome and very helpful in everything. All around a great stop over for a night or two

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josiahengle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Owner at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for talking the time to provide us with your comments following your recent stay at Newtown Inn. It is pleasing to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our target is to provide good service to customer and when our customer leave with a smile.\

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

stayed in transfer for a night. great value, clean and nicely decorated rooms (though a bit small), free WIFI. very friendly staff and well organized pick up and drop off at airport/ferry piers. higly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Owner at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your positive comment. We are happy to know that you and your family had a good time in our hotel and it was pleasing to know that the team is friendly and welcoming.
We hope to be able to welcome you again to our hotel.

Thank you
Mazin Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Rooms and bathrooms are very nicely done with rain shower head and hand held in nicely tiled bathroom. Comfortable bed and lots of lights. Minibar fridge and AC kept up with the heat. Very new, very nice. Ferry to Male is walkable, or the bus stops right in front of the hotel. And the staff is affable and very helpful. Ask for the Maldivian breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if it matters to you ask for a lower room. And ask for a room with a window facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Owner at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear MLSreality

It was a pleasure for us, for you to stay in Newtown Inn. I m really sorry for the inconvenience of allocating a the room from the 3rd floor. We are so glade that you had great experience with our inn and in Maldives.

Your next trip will be more adventurous.

Thank You
Mazin Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

It was one of the most convenient hotels in Hulhumale for stopover. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The facilities are good I wish the restaurant was open in the ground floor. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay for HUlhumale for a night or two.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueocan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Owner at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Blurocan,

It was a pleasure for us, that you stayed in Newtown Inn and experienced our facility.

Our Restaurant will be opening on February 2014.

Thank you
Mazin Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hulhumale
0.3 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 11 in Hulhumale
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
0.3 mi away
Fuana Inn
Fuana Inn
#9 of 11 in Hulhumale
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel UI Inn
Hotel UI Inn
#3 of 81 in Hulhumale
455 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maakanaa Lodge
Maakanaa Lodge
#1 of 81 in Hulhumale
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtown Inn

Property: Newtown Inn
Address: Polt No. 10488, Nirolhumagu, Hulhumale 23000
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhumale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Hulhumale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newtown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newtown Inn the first of the group’s properties to be opened, boasts an authentic Indian restaurant, Bombay Darbar, as well as a roof terrace where you can dine under the stars. With 10 well appointed en-suite deluxe rooms guests can experience a level of luxury at an affordable price. Nominated in the Leading Guesthouse category 2014 MATATO Awards and ranked number 1 on Trip Advisor, guests are already recognizing the point of difference Newtown Inn and its team offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown Inn Hulhumale, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing