We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay than staying in thr city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newtown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Newtown Inn
Ranked #13 of 78 Hulhumale B&B and Inns
Bangalore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place to stay than staying in thr city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is relatively new compared to other hotels in the area. Pickup was good from the airport and staff has been very friendly throughout the my stay of 5 nights. It is convenient place to reach by bus or taxi. Rooms are good & staff takes effort to maintain them.
Breakfast is simple but served quickly. I would suggest them to bring more variety for breakfast items because long staying guests like me would feel better with the variety.
Rest everything is perfect with the hotel & I am definitely going to come back here again being a regular business traveller to Male.

Room Tip: try to get a room on higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NI3-279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Manager at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
On Behalf of Newtown Inn Management, I would like to Thank you for your generous comment. and I will ensure that on your future visit and future guest we will include more items in our breakfast provided specially for the long stay guest.

Thank you
Newtown Inn Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    49
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
70
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fair price for the Maldives in small hotel near the airport in Male. If you need a place to rest before or after your flight in, this is a good option. They will pick you up at the airport and there is a good Indian restaurant downstairs from the rooms. The rooms are decent and the staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a Male city tour. There is nothing of much interest there and it is a waste of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaducedByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Owner at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
On behalf of Newtown Inn Management, I would like to Thank You for your generous comment on our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your two night stay with us...and I am sorry that the Male' City Tour was not up to your expectation...I will review this matter and see what I can do to improve.

Once again, Thank you and see you Next Year..

Newtown Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Even we didn't stay at the hotel, we found them accidentally looking for the tours in maldives. The staff was very helpful and gave us best prices comparing to other hotels around! Special thanks to Mazef who helped us out finding the resort and adventure trip!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ingrida K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Manager at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your generous comment regarding Newtown inn. We are always happy to give a good service and make the customer satisfy weather if the guest is staying in Newtown inn or walk in guest. We make sure that at the end of the day the guest leaves with a smile.
Hope your next visit you will choose Newtown Inn

Thank you
Newtown Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The Newtown Inn is a perfect hotel to stay for a few day's. The staff is very kind and helpful. The rooms are clean and have a good bathroom with a very good shower. Breakfast is simple but good and very nice on the balcony.
Downstairs is a very good Indian restaurant with tasteful meals.
Bus stop is in front of the hotel and 3 stops from the ferry.
Overall we had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the upper floor. (bigger rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weenjoy2620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Owner at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
On behalf of the Newtown Inn Management, I would like to thank you generous comment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and would like to know your next visit will be much more better than your last stay.

Thank you
Newtown Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Maldives is an exotic location and often termed very expensive. We did a lot of research and came across Newtown Inn. I'll list down the reasons to pick this hotel

1. There are two ways to see Maldives - Either stay at a Private Resort - which is very expensive or else stay near the locals.

This hotel is on same island as the Airport - 7 minutes after leaving airport we were in our room. We get a chance to interact with locals which is awesome.


2. Cleanliness. This is a 10 room boutique hotel. Its very newly built - November last year - hence everything is new, the paints look fresh, the floors are clean and well maintained and we did not find a single item - broken or not working in our room

3. Very good facilities - The bathroom fittings and room lighting systems are top notch. TV has Airtel DTH connection. For people travelling from India, watching TV was like being at home - all channels available including HD

4. Location - Bang opposite the hotel is the bus stop - to reach Hulhumale Ferry Terminal. You can also walk to the terminal in 15 minutes. But buses are very efficient, cheap and frequent. From terminal, one can reach Male in 20 minutes

There are several stores next to the hotel - to pick up groceries, food, milk etc. and the hotel doesn't mind carrying our food as well as water

5. Staff - Cordial and Friendly

6. Indian Food - There is an Indian Restaurant on the ground floor - Bombay Darbar - nice food

7. Things to do - Since the charges are unlike private resorts, one can spend lavishly on water sports and things to do. The hotel also arranges several trips and activities

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShrenikAjmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Owner at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Shrenik AJmera

On behalf of the Newtown Inn Management, I would like to thank you for giving us a nice review. And we are happy that you and your family had a absolutely wonderful vacation in Maldives. We assure you that on your next trip there will be more to come.

See you next year.

Thank you
Newtown Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
217 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a great little hotel if you need a place to stay prior or after your main stay. It is a small boutique hotel and they really do treat you very well. The rooms are small but are modernized. As soon as you come to check in, you are greeted with a small glass of juice since it is so hot out. They will carry your luggage up the stairs to your room no matter how heavy they are. The owner was nice enough to give me all the details on getting around by bus and even exchanged some money at the local price. They have a little Indian restaurant in the lobby. I thought it was going to be horrible but it was actually awesome! We wound up eating 2 meals a day there for 2 days. The naan w potatoes, garlic and parsley was the best I ever had and I'm from Manhattan!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Manager at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Adam

On behalf of the hotel management and the team, we would like to thank you for your generous comment on our hotel and restaurant. Though we are small, we always try to keep our service level on high standard and we will be continuing doing it, and grow.

We hope that your next visit, you will stay with us again.

Thank you
Newtown Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have been to Maldives for my honeymoon trip, since my budget was average I decided to stay in a hotel where my criteria was (average rate , not far from airport , not in male city, near to sea beach). This hotel is perfect match for my requirement. After my long stay in this hotel i felt people are very good(Owner is indian), they have their own restaurant so you can expect indian food there. I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajivSabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown I, Manager at Newtown Inn, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for the generous comment. We are glad that your stay in our hotel was a good memorable experience. We always try to make our guest as comfortable at our hotel. See you next year.

Mazin
Newtown Inn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hulhumale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ocean Grand at Hulhumale
0.2 mi away
Airport Beach Hotel
Airport Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Planktons Beach
Planktons Beach
#2 of 10 in Hulhumale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel UI Inn
Hotel UI Inn
#4 of 78 in Hulhumale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maakanaa Lodge
Maakanaa Lodge
#1 of 78 in Hulhumale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#3 of 78 in Hulhumale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newtown Inn

Property: Newtown Inn
Address: Polt No. 10488, Nirolhumagu, Hulhumale 23000
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Hulhumale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Hulhumale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Newtown Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newtown Inn the first of the group’s properties to be opened, boasts an authentic Indian restaurant, Bombay Darbar, as well as a roof terrace where you can dine under the stars. With 10 well appointed en-suite deluxe rooms guests can experience a level of luxury at an affordable price. Nominated in the Leading Guesthouse category 2014 MATATO Awards and ranked number 1 on Trip Advisor, guests are already recognizing the point of difference Newtown Inn and its team offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Newtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newtown Inn Hulhumale, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing