We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for students ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kappara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kappara
Ranked #1 of 2 San Gwann B&B and Inns
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
467 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great hotel for students ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Kappara with a group of students for the second time. Chris was wonderful to work with setting up our arrangements. Maria and Maria were wonderful during the day and helped with anything that we needed. The accommodations are simple but spacious for European standards. Very close to the hospital and university and easy to walk there. Convenient to many bus lines. Excellent breakfast. The bathroom has a little issue with some mold and mildew but that could easily be addressed. I would not hesitate to return. Exceptional value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jwillstp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    40
    30
    10
    8
See reviews for
10
44
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

A really friendly hotel where nothing was too much trouble. It's a quiet place which is why we chose it but very accessible by bus and cheap taxis to elsewhere (Its about 20 euros to Valletta from there. Rooms were basic, but clean and comfortable. Could do with a kettle and a fridge but guess you'd pay more for a hotel with those amenities.Main improvement would be the breakfasts as very basic, such as adding yogurts and fruit salad. Pool is great and very refreshing after sight seeing, a great place and excellent value for the price.
Air con was quiet and effective
The staff were always pleasant and pleased to see people and were very welcoming. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Choose room over looking pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Comfortable , clean and staff friendly . Good restaurant close, Del Marte . Good location on the island for getting about and in a quiet area . If you are looking for a relaxing holiday I would recommend this small hotel.

Room Tip: rooms over the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountnugent, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

They kept the chef on for our late arrival so 3 of us could have dinner.
Hotel is spotlessly clean. My mother (75) could walk to main street for dinner in evening.
Has a pool which I used (still freezing), free wifi was good for general broadband but too slow for films. Only had three english channels, CNN, Euronews + Eurosport. Breakfast is typical european style, plentiful but coffee & tea in thermal flasks were usually cold, replaced if requested. Email requests were quickly responded to. Air conditioning is excellent. If window closed outside sounds totally obliterated. But inside hotel noise seemed to be amplified!
I was going to give it 5 stars as it's only a 3 star hotel and I think the price was excellent.
However, there are two houses being built across the road and there is noise when the windows were open or when sitting outside headphones were a must. Staff are very friendly + helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms over pool are nicest. Though a party of people may want to take top floor which has access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountnugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, Cheshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Hotel Kappara is a small and friendly place. It's perfectly situated for anyone that needs to be near the university or the new Mater Dei hospital in the residential area of Kappara.
It's located on quite a steep hill so someone with walking difficulties may have problems and it’s approximately a 10 minute walk to a bus stop which is served regularly. The hotel recommends that you walk 10 minutes to the hospital to get on a bus but we found walking into San Gwann offered all the bus routes we needed including St Julians, Sliema and Valetta. It also allowed us to buy our breakfast along the way as there are plenty of shops in San Gwann. The nightlife district of Paceville in San Giljan is about a 5 minute taxi ride away.
The rooms were spacious and kept spotlessly clean and also for €10 a week there is a tiny kitchenette (which looks more like a wardrobe!) containing a small cooker, sink and fridge, which they will unlock for you to use, which means anyone on a budget can self-cater.
Our room overlooked the pool and the valley beyond and the balcony had a table and chairs and was lovely and sunny.
There is a lovely little pool and terrace area with views over the valley and the sunbeds are new and modern. There are also washrooms and an outside shower which looked very clean and modern.
I can't comment on the breakfast as we were room only but you have to walk through the dining room to get to the pool and the food looked fresh and plentiful.
We ordered cappuccinos and toasties and they were reasonably priced for a hotel along with the local beer Cisk!
The staff are lovely and very helpful and they are what make this place even more of a hidden gem.
The only downside to the hotel in my opinion was the lack of sound-proofing and so it could get a little noisy when younger clientele returned from the nightclubs or the staff were setting up for breakfast but next time I would ask for a room on a higher floor!
But do your research first in terms of location. The hotel was perfect for us and it more than fulfilled our expectations but this obviously won't be the same for everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are sunny and have extended views over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I would like to thank you to all staffs at hotel Kappara who have accommodated me for three weekes. Back office staffs were efficient and very quick to response, hotel staffs were extremely kind and genuinely kind & warm! I had my tears in my eyes when I left this hotel... this place became my home in Malta and I would love to stay again if I have a chance to return to Malta.

It's a 3-start hotel; you get everything you would expect from 3-start hotel!
I stayed in a room with a balcony - I enjoyed looking at the sky everyday.
I had a self-catering kitchen - it was just perfect for me to prepare lunch & dinner every day.
There is a foldable desk - this was again just perfect for me as I had to study 7hrs per day in the room. Everything was comfortable.
The only wish was to have a bathtub to soak into... but as I wanted to be environmentally friendly, a shower was good enough. (some rooms have bathtub and some are only shower)
The Room was always cleaned up perfectly. Staffs at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful - We always had nice chats in the morning and when I come back from my yoga training - I missed them a lot.
- Breakfast is simple but I saw some people ordered British breakfast and the hotel prepared it on request.
- Sitting in the patio is always nice and relaxing.
- Sound proof can be improved but as far as all guests & staffs are aware to keep quiet in the evening, there is not much sound to disturb (or just bring ear plugs, just in case).

I also had nice opportunities to have words with other guests. If you stay with open-heart, you will meet other wonderful guests!

This place is often used for students as the location is very convenient for those who go to the University of Malta (or language schools). This makes the hotel absolutely vibrant!

There are some supermarkets and small shops in the town (people are extremely kind! my favorites were a delicatessen in Vegimania supermaket & Sicilian food shop) Buses run quite frequently.
Taxi btw St. Julian is around EUR 8-10.

On the last day, I stayed in a 5-star hotel in Sliema but I missed Hotel Kappara a lot as I never felt that I was alone at Kappara. Hotel Kappara is the hotel that can full fill value for money and they have more to offer. Massive THANK YOU to Hotel Kappara!!! and I want to go back again soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marinka_ilmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, General Manager at Hotel Kappara, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear marinka_ilmondo,

Thank you for your kind words. We were all sorry to see you leave and everyone sends their regards.

We very much hope to have you again in the not so distant future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

The staff at the Hotel Kappara are truly amazing. Nothing is too much trouble and things are done with pleasantness and graciousness. The hotel is clean and the rooms nicely furnished. The meals are also good. The downside, which staff can do nothing about, is that the hotel rooms and corridors have no soundproofing and so voices, even when people are not being excessively noisy, reverberate throughout the hotel. This can be somewhat disturbing late at night, or early in the morning. Having said that, I would go back again, simply because there is such a delightful attmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for one on first or second floor with a balcony. It is worth paying the 10 euros per week to add...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gwann
1.3 mi away
The Plaza & Plaza Regency Hotels
1.0 mi away
Bayview Hotel & Apartments
1.0 mi away
115 The Strand Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
1.6 mi away
Plevna Hotel
Plevna Hotel
#16 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sliema Marina Hotel
Sliema Marina Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sliema
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kappara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kappara

Property: Hotel Kappara
Address: Triq Wied Ghollieqa | Kappara, San Gwann, Island of Malta 1000, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > San Gwann
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Gwann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kappara 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Kappara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kappara Malta/San Gwann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing