We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Watermark Surf House
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Perfectly located in a small village of fishers in front of really good waves, as well for beginners as for experienced surfers, it's a beautiful house with everything you need: surfboards (soft and harder ones), bicycles, skates... There's also a chill out I liked the most of the house! I really recommend this place for a surf trip, as it isn't expensive and the people you spend your time with are great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hola!
Me and my boyfriend, two crazy people about surfing, spent such a great time in Watermark SurfHouse for New Year's Eve! Although the weather wasn't as sunny as we expected because of the storm, we don't regret this trip at all! House is located close to the beach with a garden for bbq and some relax. Esmoriz, nice local village, surfs you a really tasty portugal food such as francesinha which after you won't be hungry any more! If You want to spend some chilly time surfing on the biggest waves ever, You can not miss this place! Great thanks!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room "Porto", but all three are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

First of all, the guys who run the camp, Rui and Ricardo (Rubisco among the surfers) were one of the most accommodating and pleasant people I ever have to deal with. I really appreciate them going out of their way to ensure our stay was as perfect as possible.

The house is in a awesome location, 50 yards from the beach. The 3 rooms were impeccable clean and with great modern local art on the walls. The kitchen and bathroom were spotless and updated.

The backyard is a great addition to the rest of the experience. Surf in the morning, come back for lunch (roast chicken made on the barbecue = yummy), relax... At night some friends tagged along and we had guitar sessions, chill atmosphere and plenty of fun.

As we look ahead for next Summer, we're honestly thinking about going back and repeat the great times we had at this place. Totally recommend it.

Ric

NYC, USA

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicF1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

this surf house is the cosiest place i've ever been to! with only 3double bedrooms this is the perfect place for your surf'n'relax vacation. you get to share a clean bathroom, a modern kitchen (incl. fridge, oven, microwave ect) as well as a cozy living room and a nice back yard with a BBQ with at most 5 other people. a washing mashine is also available. rui and ricardo are giving their best to make everyones stay most comfortable. the room rates include breakfast, towels and sheets are provided. teaching groups were not bigger than 5students/2teachers during our stay. bikes are for your use 24/7, as well as boards and surf equipement. there are small supermarkets in walking distance, the beach is only 2blocks away. porto is only a 30mins ride by train. this lovely surf house is the better alternative, run by locals, compared to huge party camps! we will definetly come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarahkaydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I`ve looking for a long time for a quite and nice place to learn surfing, not crowded by the people. By chance i found this surf house. Clean house with a big backyard area, were you can have a lunch/or take a sunbath. This place by the sea was just what i was looking for. In the morning i used to get up a bit earlier and walk to the ocean (just a short 3 min walk:) But Ezmoriz is only 30 min (1,90€) by metro from Porto citycenter if you have a party mood or just want to dicover Porto:) 
Ricardo & Rui were really attentive teachers. Every morning they were choosing the best location to surf, depend on waves and our capabilities:) They were carring about every each of us:) Ricardo is not only a surfteacher, he build surfboards, he is also a professional photographer. After surfing and a little break me and my boyfriend used to ride a bike (surfboards and bikes were in the garage and availaible at all time) through the villages and park nearby and ofcourse along the sea side. And the one of the best things was to have an esspresso on the beach enjoying a sunset into the ocean…

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank nadka b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

By now i tryed some surfcamps in Portugal, Morroco and SE Asia and for me so far the watermark is the best I´ve encounterd yet. The 2 guys who are operating the camp giving there best to make your stay there as comfortable as possible. The house has three 2 bed rooms and a big garden with a barbecue area. The kitchen and the bathroom are well equipped and clean. 5 min by foot there is a surfable beach, so even without a car you are free to surf as much as you can. The guys are checking the nearby beaches every morning to find the best spot for the day. Generally the beaches around porto are not yet so crowded as in peniche or the algarve so no fighting for waves at all.
You can book everything from accomodation only over surf guiding to surf lessons for all level`s from beginners to advanced. Surf classes are small(3-4ppl/teacher sometimes even less) and really effective no overly croweded classes with 9 or more surfers/teacher like you have them in the bigger surf camps in peniche or the algarve. Also they are doing video analysis and really nice surf fotos. Additionally to the surf lessons they provide yoga and functional training sessions, which are included when you book a complete surfpackage. In case you need a little change bikes and skateboards are available for free too. For some partying or sightseeing you can reach porto in 20-30 min by train which goes directly to sao bento station in the city center.
If you are looking for a relaxed holliday with a lot of good surf the watermark surf house is the perfect choice.
We had an amazing time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin_Gala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esmoriz
3.8 mi away
Watermark Surf House - Espinho
1.5 mi away
La Fontaine Hotel
La Fontaine Hotel
#1 of 1 in Esmoriz
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oporto Surf Camp
Oporto Surf Camp
#3 of 5 in Esmoriz
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermark Surf House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermark Surf House

Address: Rua Fernao Veloso | N.º 171, Esmoriz 3885-575, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Esmoriz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Esmoriz
Price Range: £33 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house has three double bedroom witch, among with the other cozy rooms and with our sunny backyard, offers a confortable and quiet ambience so that our guests may enjoy their stay. Being one of the Esmoriz oldest houses, Watermark Surf House keeps its original touch and adds the lifestyle mood of what we love most: Surfing!Located just two steps away from the beach and the forest reserve, we provide a list of services that will make your stay an incredible journey: surf lessons, surf guidance, yoga, massage, expeditions,... And remember that in just a few minutes we can easily get to Oporto for a tour! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Watermark Surf House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermark Surf House Portugal/Esmoriz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing