We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Chalet, great catering and brilliant...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Montchavin, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

HelenH100...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chalet, great catering and brilliant ski location”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the chalet for exclusive use for 4 families over a year in advance (school holidays!) and it proved to be well worth the wait.

Lee & Kevin were helpful in arranging ski hire, kids lessons and lift passes in advance and these were all ready for us on arrival.

The accommodation was spacious, homely and perfectly suited our requirements with kids. There were also nice touches such as English plug sockets in the bedrooms. We all enjoyed the newly installed outdoor hot tub too.

The food was delicious and included some local specialities such as a fondue evening. The kids were also well catered for with simpler meals such as pasta and shepherds pie which kept everyone happy. The hosts even arranged a birthday tea for one of the kids with pizza and hot dogs etc which was a huge hit.

The skiing in Montchavin and beyond in La Plagne and Les Arcs was excellent. It is a short walk from the chalet to the piste and the children who were beginners, were able to ski back close to the chalet by the end of the week. It was also very useful that Kevin drove the kids and their equipment to the bottom of the bubble lift up to ski school each morning which saved time and made it a less stressful start to the day for us!

Overall we had a brilliant time and are keen to return to Chalet de la Vanoise!

Date of stay: February 2016
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finuala S
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable, all mod cons and more with great skiing”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Our 3rd stay at this Chalet and it gets better year on year. The new heated bootroom is a massive bonus not to mention the amazing hot-tub with views over the mountain just a few steps from the sauna. Again a wonderful chef (Lee & Kev certainly know how to pick them) with a menu catering for all. The Chalet is ideally placed to ski Les Arcs or La Plagne as the fancy takes you with easy access to a great lift system and a myriad of runs at all levels. After a hard day of skiing the Chalet has everything you need, all the comfort of home plus more and a very friendly atmosphere. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: It was so comfortable with every detail thought of.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant - again”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is the 3rd year running I have stayed in Chalet De La Vanoise, and this year was even better with the addition of the hot tub overlooking the valley, and the refurbished boot room with boot warmers. This chalet is second to none; this year’s chef was extremely talented delivering amazing top restaurant quality food every time. Being located for such easy access to the vast ski area just makes me think why would I go anywhere else.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Hot tub, sauna, and general comfort of the living space
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom h
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great catered chalet. Loved it!`”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stayed here last week and it was absolutely first class. Lee and Kevin were wonderful hosts.The food served by Lewis and Sadie was the best i have had in any catered chalet and on a par with a very good restaurant. With the whole of La Plagne and Les Arcs at your doorstep I would recommend this to anyone looking for a friendly, relaxed chalet with brilliant food.

Date of stay: January 2016
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Food, wine and company
Liked least: There was nothing i didn't like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
familygir...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was the first skiing holiday going to a catered chalet and we certainly were not disappointed. We arrived very late with two children aged 12 and 9 and to say we were apprehensive about sharing a chalet with others that we did not know was a concern however, not necessary as we found out. We were the only ones in the chalet with children and thankfully our children just fitted in. The chalet hosts Capri and Hayden were just brilliant and catered to everything requested. The others in the chalet were a group of british expats who were certainly entertaining - especially at dinner time with songs! Lee the owner was great and extremely helpful with any questions. We had a great room with more than enough space for us all and a great view of the pardiski area. Overall the food, wine and company was just great. We definately want to return if allowed.

Date of stay: March 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tough to Beat!”
Reviewed 28 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

From the start of planning the holiday Kevin & Lee were extremely helpful & accommodating, all their recommendations for transfers, ski hire & lessons were spot on. The chalet is nice & modern whilst still giving the idyllic Alpine appeal, it has the largest rooms for a chalet our group had experienced & proved ideal for a large group with young children. It is well located with just a short walk in to the lovely village & even with the poor snow conditions we were still able to ski back to within 200 metres of the chalet & we were able to get some great skiing in at the higher altitudes that the La Plagne & Les Arcs areas offer. Our hosts for the week, Capri & Hayden were absolutely perfect & they couldn't do enough for us & the kids, the food was absolutely amazing all prepared from scratch & I guarantee the best you will ever have in a catered chalet or even most top restaurants.

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Atmosphere
Liked least: Lack of snow!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigRichYo...
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfection !!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The title says it all !!!

We were a group of 7 lads and dads on a weeks skiing and boarding and had a fantastic time.
Prior to getting there Lee's communication and knowledge were brilliant and she had helped us book lift passes, lessons and rental prior to arriving so we were straight on the slopes the next day.

The chalet itself it about 200m walk from the slopes with a small blue run down to the main lifts. You can ski back when the snow is good but we werent that lucky I'm afraid.

The views from the chalet are stunning across the valley. The bedrooms are all spacious and comfortable and come with English and European sockets.

The amazing part of this holiday is the food. Hayden the chef is a master at what he does. It was like eating at a top end restaurant every night, having 3 courses and with complimentry wine as well, what's not to like ??? I thought I could cook prior to the holiday, but found myself asking how he made half of what we ate. To arrive to a glass of champagne, duck and caramelised onion crostinis and a smoked salmon will give you an idea of what your in for.

The owners are fantastic, lovely people, gave us great advice on where to ski, picked us up when picked up injuries and even met us in the local bar for a beer or two.

I cannot recommend this place enough, just wish the snow had been a little better.

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.