We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well... what a place!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious, Ski in Chalet with Exceptional Facilities of Hot Tub, Sauna and Professional Chef
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious, Ski in Chalet with Exceptional Facilities of Hot Tub, Sauna and Professional Chef
A Hot Tub with a view! Ariel View of the chalet - ski in !
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Spacious, Ski in Chalet with Exceptional Facilities of Hot Tub, Sauna and Professional Chef
A Hot Tub with a view!
Ariel View of the chalet - ski in !
The spacious lounge area with stunning views
The spacious lounge area with log effect fireplace and surround sound cinema system
Our large dining table for the fantastic meals prepared by our professional chef
The well-equipped Playroom which the kids love (and adults appreciate)
The Library is well stocked.
Our Spa area with Disco Douche, Sauna with Steam Option
Ladies of Leisure in our Sauna before taking a steam or a power shower
Large Ski Room with Heated Boot Driers for 18 pares of boots!
Our guests have the use of their own kitchen, ideal for making picnics or for quick lunch time snack
The Vanoise suite - with Double, Bunk and Large Balcony
The Vanoise suite - with Double, Bunk & Large Balcony
The Felix suite - Main Bedroom
The Felix suite - Main Bedroom
The Felix suite - Twin or Double
The Bertie suite with Double and sofa and large balcony
The Rosuel Suite is at the top of the Chalet and has the best views!
The Vanoise bathroom - this suite has 2 shower rooms
One of the en-suite shower rooms
Kitchen for our Summer guests (Chef's domain in winter)
The Hallway - lots of character
Hallways of Charm
The best views of Mont Blanc all year round
View from one of the Balconies
Autumn View of the Tarentaise Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
7 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Montchavin, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
markbairs...
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well... what a place!!!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

From start to finish possibly the most amazing holiday we have ever had! Really welcoming, superbly sited, stunning views of Mont Blanc... from the hot tub, great food...Access onto the mountains was even assisted by our superb hosts as we went late season,just by popping us in their vehicle... could have walked it but a great offer with the little ones.
Beds comfortable, skiing awesome and our hosts even took the time out to show us a few of the best areas on the last day ... hey is you want a recommendation one family is even going back with their family immediate family next year!
Awesome! There is Snow place like Home!!!
Cheers
Mark and Family

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
Thanks Mark and crowd and already looking forward to your next visit ! So pleased all the children did so well with their skiing !!!! Merci beaucoup Lee and Kevin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharkyno1
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2nd ever ski trip, Brilliant hosts!”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I haven't been skiing in 15 years. What a fantastic trip.

Lee and the staff at La Vanoise were super. They gave me tips on how to get going again as I hadn't been skiing for so long. They showed us the best places to ski in the area, helped us with ski hire, took us to some great bars and cooked mega meals.

Each morning we woke up to a massive breakfast, got quick 2min ride to the nearest lift as we couldn't ski to it due to lack of snow that month.
On return we were greeted with more food and drink as we retired to the super the jacuzzi to watch the sunset over the valley.
Then were served up a fantastic meal, accompanied by endless bottles of wine.

It was the week before Christmas and they made an extra effort to make it as Christmasy as possible, and even went carol singing which added to the trip.

Brilliant hosts, will visit again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manonanol...
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, fab food!”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a few days break with my ski buddy. Great chalet in a good location, view from the hot tub is amazing. Nice welcome from Lee and Kevin with passes and skis ready to go. Short and easy down hill walk to and from slopes. Great food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thoughtfu...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent quality, excellent value”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I agree with the other reviewers and won't repeat things too much, but, yes, this chalet is excellent all round. You get a warm, friendly reception from owners and chalet staff alike, where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious. The views from the front rooms are truly stunning (looking across the valley to Mont Blanc). The food is superb and nicely planned for variety. The location is handy between Les Arcs and La Plagne (get a lift pass for both it's scarcely more expensive) giving you 2 big ski areas. When we were there Les Arcs had the better snow so we were grateful for the efficient Vanoise Express over the valley. The local lift and slopes (red and blue) are a 100m walk down the road in the village and within 30mins you are skiing high in either Les Arcs or La Plagne areas. Everything is as it says on the website. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil W
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Birthday & New Year ski holiday ”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My wife had long ago said she wanted to spend her "significant" birthday, which falls just before New Year, skiing with friends. Making this a reality was looking difficult back in March when all the usual chalet operators wanted us to compromise on dates, accommodation or location to get a 7 day break for 4 families, totalling 18 people of mixed skiing ability starting after Christmas and spanning New Year. Then we found La Vanoise or as the owners Lee and Kevin name it on their own web site "Snow place like home", and they made this ski holiday happen and ensured it was a fantastic time for all of us.
The real point of difference about Lee and Kevin is they listen to what their customers want and put that at the heart of their offer, rather than only providing a standard package. They are also well "tuned in" to what people want from a holiday and make it their business to deliver this. For instance as we were 4 families with children aged young teens upwards so we wanted to eat in one sitting rather than the usual chalet fare of "kids high tea" and adult dinner. Lee and Kevin made some changes to the dining area to accommodate this. There were many other examples such as procuring champagne for New Year celebrations and beers for early evening post ski relaxing!
The chalet is well equipped and all the rooms very comfortable, our party has, between them, clocked up reasonable experience of other chalets and all said that La Vanoise was one of the best they had stayed in. The sauna and hot tub were very popular after a day skiing.
The food was excellent, particularly given the challenge of feeding eighteen in one sitting. Afternoon tea was a particular treat.
The snow was reasonable for the time of year albeit you had to go a fair way to access the better slopes, but this was the same across France this New Year I believe. I imagine when the snow falls in Montchavin and it's possible to ski in and out the chalet really comes into its own. I can't complain though as Lee and Kevin made sure we got to the lifts each day and if they aren't around a bus runs hourly from the small town and will generally stop right outside the chalet.
The village of Montchavin is very pleasant with some good bars and restaurants. Just a short stroll from the chalet is an excellent bar where we joined the locals to see in the New Year and share their fireworks and disco entertainment!
I really can't recommend this chalet more highly, and would return in a heart beat whether it be for skiing or to enjoy the mountain air.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Thank you Phil for such a lovely review ! We all really enjoyed the week too, particularly decorating the chalet as a surprise and helping you all celebrate the 'significant' birthday ! You also livened up the New Year's Eve Party no end so thanks for that ! Snow conditions are now ski in/ski out and hopefully one year you will experience that pleasure ! Thanks again Lee and Kevin and Team !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnybrow...
1 review
“Great relaxing chalet for the perfect ski holiday”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We arrived as a group of 9 on our first skiing holiday together. It was the first time that i have stayed in a catered chalet. It did not disappoint. Lee and Kevin created a friendly atmosphere for all of our members of the group. We were taken to the slopes in the morning and collected in the evening to be greeted by a home made cake. Our glasses and plates were never empty. The rooms were spacious and just what we needed to relax after a full day of skiing. We were encouraged to try the local cuisine by our chalet hosts and their staff. They could not have done more to make our trip better. Cant wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonjam...
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ski chalet where guests shall be very well looked after”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A group of nine of us arrived, in mid-December for a little outing on the slopes. We don't ski often, so were a little unsure as to what to expect at a fully catered ski chalet. As it turned out, the hosts Kevin and Lee gave us all a very welcoming and from arrival our glasses were never empty. Being so looked after made the trip an absolute pleasure, which goes from being dropped at the lift each morning due to the unfortunate lack of snow lower on the slopes but there was great snow higher up the mountains and it was great to be able to relax at the chalet as well as enjoy great food in a homely chalet amongst friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing