We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another fantastic holiday .”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Loch Awe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loch Awe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Awe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loch Awe
Certificate of Excellence
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yet another fantastic holiday .”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Thought it would be hard to improve on our last holiday at Loch Awe. How wrong we were, returned last night(5th Mar). Weather not great but a fantastic time with super company from Essex, Devon and Norfolk. Phill the entertainments manager is certainly a credit to your hotel the way he keeps everyone enjoying themselves and linking up with the main entertainer of the evening without the usual break which you often get . The usual high standard of everything including our drivers Clive,Dave and our link driver John.
What a beautiful room we had, view, comfort etc. No.113. Can't wait until Moutains and Mistletoe on 2nd Dec.
Bob and Beryl Beal.

Room Tip: All rooms are good--but 113 is super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    103
    24
    10
    7
See reviews for
42
229
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My friend and I have just returned from a great time at the Loch Awe Hotel.
The coach driver Peter was great from start to finish.
When we arrived at the hotel after a 12 hour journey we were greeted by the staff and shown to our rooms.The rooms were more like 5 star rooms.very clean.the bathroom was spotless with double shower.nice tv and the best bed I have slept on in any hotel.
The entertainment was great every night esp phil who made us laugh.we had fun and games and it was nice to see every one up dancing and having a great time.
The food was lovely all home cooked and the service was top class,
All the staff really go out of their way to look after you and make you feel welcome.
There were three coach parties at the hotel but we all got on well and had so much fun it was shame it had to end.
I would like to say to anyone who has never been on a locks and glens hoilday before to give it ago as its great value for money and you get to see stunning scotland.
So thank you to all staff at Loch Awe for a enjoyable break and keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: ask for lock view top rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseriddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and myself have just returned from a Lochs and Glens Holiday which was based around our stay at the Loch Awe Hotel, Loch Awe. We were on a good value family coach holiday from our home up to Scotland for 5 days and 4 nights. Our coach driver was Peter a very competent driver and a superb orator and guide for the whole of our holiday.
When we initially arrived at the Hotel we were put into room 218, and we spent our first night in that room, which appeared to be initially OK, but as we found out the heating which cut out at night reduced the temperature in our room to make it very cold, and the hot water at night before going to bed was cold, we spent a very cold first night in room 218. So the next morning first thing I went straight to Reception to tell them of our plight and problem. The young lady at reception was most concerned and very helpful, and apologised profusely, and said something would be done about it asap. Well within the hour she arrived at our room, this was before breakfast, and offered us another room, which we took straight away. This was to be room 10, which turned out to be a lovely room overlooking the Loch, and was like being in another Hotel, we enjoyed the rest of our stay here.
The food and entertainment was good, considering the amount we had paid for our total Holiday, and in the evenings we were entertained mostly by Phil, who was a lovely young man from Newcastle, who was a great young entertainer, who could go far if he put his mind to it.
We had all included trips each day which were very good and Peter our driver really excelled with his expert knowledge and driving skills.
If you can get a room, always ask for a Loch View room, these are much better than those at the rear of the building.
Altogether we found this very good Holiday, and can recommend this to anyone, even the Hotel Manageress came on board the coach on our departure to wish us a safe journey home, which we really appreciated. Well done Lochs and Glens, as their staff in all departments are a credit to their Company.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch facing room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BALI2007BALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

It was are first holiday together as newly weds and let me just tell you it was not just the company, entertainment and trips out that we're worth there weight in gold but also the food and accommodation were excellent. Lochs and Glens are a great company and the staff are very helpful one of the highlights was seeing Phil (member of staff) in his kilt and sporran dancing to the Macarena. We would defiantly consider going again next year considering I'm in my mid twenties and my husband in his forties it was nice to see retired couples enjoying themselves and having fun. My only concern is that I didn't win the bingo but I'm sure there will be more luck for me next year

Mrs S Collier :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DJCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Having just returned from this hotel I have nothing but praise for it...we went on our first trip with Locks and Glens its not going to be the last, we have booked up to go again to the newest of the hotels this time...we will be booking another for later this year too and got our eye on one for next year too ...I have nothing but praise for our driver Jules she was fantastic.. an asset to the comapny as were all of the staff at the hotel our room was spotless, clean towels each day too..with fantastic views of the lock....this hotel shows up the standards that other tour companies give you some are in fact disgusting to be honest they they have lost our custom. Thank god we found Lochs and Glens congratulations for work well done also staff at the booking offices. The food was very good with a good menu to choose from including vegetarian...You are all to be praised.

Room Tip: Roon 201 was ours overlooked the Loch lovely and clean newly decorated large shower. Quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This hotel is another lochs and glens hotel. Can't fault this company or their hotels. Return coach fare, meals and trips all included for less than £200. Such good value it's unbelievable.
Staff in all the lochs and glens hotels so kind and caring as are the drivers.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking loch awe have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village near Canterbury
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed on a "Winter Warmer with Lochs and Glens Holidays last week .

No complains just one or two observations for those travelling after us.

I made the mistake of asking for a ground floor room so we has room two which must be the coldest room in the hotel as it is in the main service corridor and has a wonderful view - of the wood pile so rooms two and three are probably best avoided.

The food s very good but "heavy" fruit and yogourt or a continental breakfast havn't got that far north yet so expect cereals, a full fried or as many ways as you can think of , well nearly, involving eggs.

Dinner much the same, there is a roast and a soup of the day each night but no starter with a salad, basic salads are offered as a main course but not such a good idea in February, a pasta option would also not go amiss.

Also everything is very regimented and breakfast at set times only usually one hour before you coach leaves for the day although for us it was over two hours before departure on the first day.

Dinner can be at any time between six thirty and eight o' clock so again that doesn't suit everybody particulary in the lighter mornings and evenings when guests would perhaps like a walk before breakfast or after dinner.

Havng said all of this which is not intended as a criticism as the holiday itself could not be faulted.

Liz our driver gave us a wonderful commentry on everywhere we we went, the scenery was breathtaking and, refreshingly, all the towns we visited were interesting and lacked most of the chain shops that blight most English High Steets these days.

All in all a very good holiday, value for money provided you avoid rooms two and three!

Room Tip: Ask for a loch view and avoid rooms two and three
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie-Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loch Awe
12.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,337 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
614 reviews
17.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
337 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
401 reviews
7.8 mi away
Taynuilt Hotel
Taynuilt Hotel
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Awe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Awe Hotel

Property: Loch Awe Hotel
Address: Loch Awe PA33 1AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Loch Awe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loch Awe
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Loch Awe Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing