We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pg”
Review of Loch Awe Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Loch Awe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Awe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loch Awe
Certificate of Excellence
Epping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“pg”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fantastic Holiday Great Hotel, The hotel and all its staff are Excellent with 1st class service, our driver Kevin was wonderful Polite smart friendly and very knowledgeable on every trip, l would recommend this Holiday every time Locks and Glens are a great company to have your holiday with just sit back and all is done.

Room Tip: ask for the view of the Locks its out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank petergK6625EO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    105
    24
    12
    7
See reviews for
42
232
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were visiting England from Canada and my sister referred us to Lochs and Glens as she and her husband had done two previous trips with them and highly recommended as a way to see a liitle bit of Scotland.Very, very happy that we chose them. Great value for money. We were a little apprehensive about the long coach ride from Southampton but with frequent stops and Gary our knowledgeable,courteous,friendly and full of jokes driver, the trip wasn't so bad. We had emailed the hotel and asked for and received a loch facing room which ended up being above the dining area but we never noticed any noise from evening entertainment. Room was comfortable although bathroom could do with updating. The dinner menu was varied with something for every taste( I was able to try haggis) and a full breakfast was always available to start the day. Trips were interesting and different lengths so that you had time at the end of the day to relax before dinner or do as we did and walk to the ruins of Kilchurn Castle further down the loch.We really enjoyed this vacation and highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The young staff from Hungary, Canada et al helped to make this one of our best ever hotel holidays. The room was warm and cosy for a damp June and the food was varied and always piping hot.
My husband had special needs which were provided for by Phill in the Dining Room with no fuss.
Thanks again Lochs and Glens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westlothiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

amazing hotel in a most amazing location, the room was great and the staff very friendly and helpful, travelled with Lochs and Glens holidays and cant believe how good the value was. Will do it again. the day trips were also incredible to places I had never been before

Room Tip: looking out at the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haffeniceday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have just returned from a 6 day holiday in this hotel yet again I was very impressed with the standard of accommodation the helpfulness and politeness of the staff. My room no,211 had a lovely view of the loch and apart from the shower which needs updating everything was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This was my first holiday with Lochs and Glens. It was the most amazing value. We had lots of good trips out and saw so much beautiful countryside. The hotel was a lovely old building on the banks of Loch Awe. It even has its own railway station. The staff were all very pleasant and the food was very good. There was evening entertainment, and there was a very nice atmosphere. Lovely log fires burning in the big public rooms. I was a single traveller and had a room with two single beds and a good sized bathroom. There were no windows, apart from a skylight. However, there were superb views from all the public rooms. A very enjoyable holiday, and absolutely amazing value for money. A lovely venue and lovely people.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WMM183G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from my first trip with Lochs & Glens and Dave as our driver. Excellent trip with plenty stops on the way. I was initially given room 36 which was tiny, stuffy & only a porthole for a window so high up I couldn't see out of it, but when I asked for another room the lady on reception was very nice & changed it straight away for a bigger room with a lovely view though I did wonder why I wasn't allocated the better room from the start . The only fault with this room was the draught coming through the window making it chilly sleeping but I solved this by turning the bed round!! You have to remember this hotel is quite old but very beautiful!
The excursions were good, the hotel food was lovely & I will definitely use Lochs & Glens again

Room Tip: Avoid room 36 at all costs!! I was given room 102 which looked out over the back gardens & moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loch Awe
12.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,404 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ardanaiseig Hotel
Ardanaiseig Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kilchrenan
634 reviews
6.0 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kilchrenan
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
439 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
416 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Taynuilt
The Taynuilt
#1 of 2 in Taynuilt
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Awe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Awe Hotel

Property: Loch Awe Hotel
Address: Loch Awe PA33 1AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Loch Awe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loch Awe
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Loch Awe Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing