We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded home from home”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Suzanne M
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Secluded home from home”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Set by the shore of Loch Awe this cottage is tucked away just off the single track road, it's about 30 minutes drive to Lochgilphead but well worth it. The cottage has a lovely large lounge area that commands a large corner sofa & dining table with french doors onto a decking area with table & chairs perfect for an evening meal looking out over the loch. The owner came and introduced herself shortly after our arrival and explained that the cottage was on a private water system, this means that even with filtering the water sometimes looks slightly brown due to peat, but she provides 2 bottles of spring water & a welcome basket of shortbread goodies & a vase of flowers. The cottage is well stocked with DVDs, jigsaws, books & games suitable for families and a number of information leaflets. The kitchen is well stocked with all the essentials. we had dinner in the cottage on a couple of occasions and had no problems with having the utensils we needed, the kitchen also boasts a dishwasher & washer. This is a great base for exploring from if you don't mind a drive around we visited, Isle of Bute, Arron, Mull of Kintyre, Oban and had a boat trip out to the Corryvreckan whirlpool - trips from Ardfern where there is a post office/general store which is the closet shop to the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review of your recent Sykes Cottages booking. We’re glad to see that you had a positive experience Drover's Way in Kilmartin. We hope you consider booking with Sykes Cottages again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoardingP...
1 review
“Cosy and warm Cottage -perfect accommodation for 4 people”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

A very warm and comfortable cottage and had everything we needed. We have had a fantastic Christmas which included lots of walks. Thank you for making everything enjoyable!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
carlisle Cumbria
Reviewed 18 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Slough
Reviewed 8 February 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dunfermline
Reviewed 10 June 2010 for a stay in April 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: beautiful view
Liked least: singler track road access
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surrey
Reviewed 19 December 2009 for a stay in June 2009
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing