We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent experience in a glorius part of the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
Kitchen Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Exterior
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Floor plan
Shower room
Nearby Kilchurn Castle
Bunk room
View of Loch from village marina
Great fishing
Cosy winter retreat
Regular visitor. Photo by recent guest
Guest photo of Osprey at nearby nest
A hidden gem at every turn
Scottish dancing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
bilbocard...
. U.k.
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent experience in a glorius part of the country”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Having just enjoyed a week in the Loch Awe side log cabin park at Dalavich in Argyll, I must say that it is a wonderful location in a peaceful setting, and at this time of the year the weather was as expected with lots of sunshine interspersed with a couple of days of heavy showers wich just brought all of the waterfalls into magnificent torrents, also the pair of regular nesting Osprey have once again returned to the area and are at present easily veiwed from a wooded hillside just above the road alongside Lochawe, the cabin was ample for the two of us, being reasonably well equiped and spacious enough for my wife and I,with regular visit to the veranda from a pair of Red squirrels and all the usual Highland birds, located amongst the plantation of mainly pine trees it was ideal being just a short hop from Glen Orchy and the ultra magnificient Glen Coe,and I would not hesitate to return to the same site when I next visit that part of Scotland.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb getaway”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here,such a quiet place and all the local residents are very nice people. The cabin was perfect in every way. I really can't fault anything about it. So many amazing nature walks and trails are available...... Really really good relaxing holiday

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location and Clean Cabin”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed many times here and really enjoy it. Only thing I would say is that I wouldn't want to stay here with more than 4 adults in total. I have usually just stayed with my g.friend and for that it's perfect.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon W
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb lodge in a quiet location”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely lodge with nice unique touches, has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Only things that would complete the experience would be free wifi and firewood.
Will sleep 6 no problem not sure about 7 as says in advert. Approx 500 meters from loch side but a pleasant walk down. Very quiet location unfortunatley pub and shop were closed whilst we were there.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Not wishing to split hairs but cabin is 250m from loch shore. The wifi is a tricky one; we make a charge as an extra as not everybody wants it and we'd have to put base price up to include in rental cost.

Apparently the shop / café was closed for refurbishment, pending new management, during your stay. Sorry about this, we didn't know until after your stay that it wouldn't be open.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lslav
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cabin in a lovely location”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

An a wonderful week at silver birch cabin on loch awe. Cabin decor was lovely and very cosy with the log burner. The caretaker couldnt have been more helpful. Spent the week mostly relaxing at this lovely location although visited oban and inverary on a few occasions. We hope to return soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayne s
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely views over the loch even on a rainy day”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely break at silver birch cabin the loch and woodland scenery was amazing.
The roads to get to cabins were not so lovely it was like going on a rally but when we saw the scenery it was worth it.
The cabin could do with a bigger fridge as it is quite a way to get to a supermarket also when we went the loch view grill was closed which was a bit of a shame.
The bedroom has no mirror and I would suggest taking one along as I only took a compact mirror so drying hair was a bit of a nightmare.
There are some lovely walks near to the cabin which I would recommend .
We had a nice time but we wished we had stayed in one of the cabins nearer the shore of the loch.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Point noted about mirror in bedroom, one has now been installed. The Loch View Grill goes on off season opening hours at this time of year. Can be a problem during the week but the demand is simply not there for them. This info is on our website. Regards, David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Does not justify its three 'Visit Scotland' crowns”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A perfectly pleasant cabin was spoiled by relentlessly cheap and uncomfortable furniture. In my view the furnishings have been assembled thoughtlessly and with little regard to their utility or the comfort of the occupants. The chairs are tatty and dirty and extremely uncomfortable, and the beds are unreasonably hard and rough. Several other guests have left comments to this effect in the guest book.

Our cabin (Silver Birch) not only has no loch view, but has no view at all. In my opinion the wording of the website implies (although it does not actually say) that the cabins have a view of the loch. When I queried this with the owner he suggested that this was just my misunderstanding, however it seems to have been shared by others as there are also comments about this in the guest book.

To his credit he did offer to move us to a loch view cabin when one became available half way through our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location is fabulous
Liked least: The very uncomfortable furniture
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Point taken about furniture, much of which has now been replaced. With regards to 3 star rating this is applied by Visit Scotland (Tourist Board), not us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing