We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Strae Cabin

Strae cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Strae cabin
Strae interior Strae interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Strae cabin
Strae interior
Strae interior
Strae from burn
Strae kitchen
Strae
Strae veranda
Double bedroom
Strae floor plan
Loch shore near cabin
Loch from village marina
Loch Awe at sun set
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane M
West Lothian, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My daughter booked this weekend away for me and partner and her partner.We had a fantastic time the cabin was ideal for the 4 of us it was very clean and comfortable my only problem was the doors on the tv unit banged my head about 4 times when it was open other than that i would highly recommend it very relaxing would love to go again in the near future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how peaceful it was
Liked least: tv unit
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiona b b
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“fun at the forrest”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Myself, husband, 9 and 13 year old children stayed at strae cabin for a few nights. The cabin was surprisingly cosy and despite being compact, it was incredibly well designed. The children loved the sleeping arrangements: one room had three bunks in it, making full use of the cabin' s height space and our teenager was delighted to find and claim the almost hidden bunk in the roof space. We had plenty wholesome family fun: fishing, attempting to make a camp fire, tracking each other in the forrest, erecting a hammock in a sunny forrest clearing, shore side walks and plenty exploring. We were very fortunate with the weather and Loch Awe is absolutely breathtakingly and peaceful. We returned home very much relaxed and contented.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2015
Thanks very much for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise B
1 review
“lovely way to spend 40th birthday”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My husbands treat for my 40th birthday. Just how I wanted it, peaceful.Strae cabin is a perfect wee cabin, clean and cosy.The walks and views were amazing.We will be back with the children next time (not so peaceful).
Thanks again for a beautiful place and lovely stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2015
Thanks for your kind words, glad you enjoyed the cabin.
To be honest it's difficult to get it wrong in such a stunning location.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A really good stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a great time at this cabin, it's very compact and just right for two people with everything we could need. Very warm and comfortable.
Set back in the woods it was wonderfully quiet and the wildlife was superb everything from Tree-creepers to a pine-martin.
If I had to make one criticism it would be the couch has had its day..
We'll definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area.
Liked least: The couch
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Thanks very much for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay.

I've had a look at couch and even though it's less than a year old, you're quite right, it appears to have lost its spring a little. I have ordered a new one today, which will be delivered in a couple of days.

Hopefully we'll see you again soon and you'll be more comfy on new sofa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna P
1 review
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a fantastic time, location is beautiful and cabins spaced a good distance so as to have privacy. Dogs loved the location, the walks in the forrest which was only 5 min walk from the cabin and then the gorgeous Loch Awe to swim in. Everything you need for a relaxing, romantic break. Irene the on-site house-keeper was so friendly. Would definately love to spend more time there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location of the cabins offered good privacy
Liked least: Bathroom smelled a bit damp, but was clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Thanks very much and glad you enjoyed your stay. Wouldn't catch me swimming in the loch but hat's off to you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sowhat357
Schagen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a lovely place, quiet, a lot of nature and wildlife, real chilling”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have a very nice week in the cabin, nice people in the neighbourheid, lots of wildlife. Much to see in the surrounding. Good cup of coffee with Wild Rowan ( Bryan and his wife) in the Shop. Nice dinner in the Loch View Bar. The cabin is lovely. The weather was nice,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the silence and the nature, and the nice people in the neigbourhoud
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swensley7...
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dirtiest place I have ever been.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at strae and am so disappointed.we drove 15 hours and arrived an hour and a half early and the place looked like it hadn't been cleaned. I took photos and spoke to m.ment who sent the 'cleaner' over. She then made a very embarrassing phone call to another cleaner in front of me saying-she says it's dirty and got photos! It had already been cleaned! They cleaned again as we were going back out but when we came back they had literally only cleaned the things I had stated. The pluga and walls have a build up of dirt . There was food under the sofa, used toilet rolls left,dirty smears on mirrors, sofas,chairs. I had to clean the fridge and cutlery tray,there was even a mug with tea left in it! The most disgusting place! When I spoke to m.ment again he was very polite but did state you can't expect a self catering cabin to be pristine. Actually I do when im a paying customer . also we had to spend alot more than expected on eating out as kitchen was so dirty. Such a shame it could be so nice if it was clean

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2014
Guests arrived 3 hours earlier than check-in time and cabin had only been part cleaned from previous guests, who left that morning. Guests were given access to cabin on their request, as they had had a long journey. An attempt was made to complete cleaning after arrival but there was a limit to what could be done as guests had already unpacked.

We are surprised & a little upset to receive a bad review as a result of this, as early entry was on guests request.

It is also worth pointing out that we received complaints from neighbouring cabin guests regarding the fact that our guests let their dog roam free (and foul) on adjacent properties. Our House Keepers had to clear up dog mess and also had to remove 3 dirty nappies from kitchen bin.

We hope future guests will see this review for what it is. It can be clearly seen from other reviews that this is a lovely, clean cabin.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing