We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cosy loch-side cabin in the midst of lacustrine splendour.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
A cosy loch-side cabin in the midst of lacustrine splendour.
Bedroom #1
The fog lifts off the loch
Sheltered porch
One of the many views from the cabin
Avich Falls Trail
Lochside footpath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridget W
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning views”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Had a lovely stay at Kilchurn log cabin, the views are stunning, constantly changing through the day, in the evening when the sun goes down the colour reflection on the loch changes every ten minutes. The walks in the forest and near by we're lovely, with great views and wild life.
The ducks liked to visit and see if any food had been left for them.
The food at the club was excellent and every one was friendly and enjoyed a chat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views through the patio window.
Liked least: Midges
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay - thank you for the taking the time to write us a review. Please come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
120133270
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed 9 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We drove up from Liverpool; the cabin was clean and really well equipped for an unplugged weekend break. Our iPad stayed firmly in the bag. It was really nice to wake up with the sunrise through the mist across the loch, and plenty of good books and boardgames. We did a fair amount of sightseeing. Our four year old appreciated soft play facilities in Oban and the gorgeous lakeside walk through mossy trees with deer and babbling brooks. Profoundly recommend this place for anyone who just needs to get off the hamster wheel and unplug for a weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: Rain (not really under landlord's control!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated. Come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann L
Blantyre, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a relaxing break.”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Just home from Kilchurn cabin, great cabin, basic but clean and all you need for a relaxing holiday, ideally situated on the banks of the loch,and the log burner kept us cosy at night in the cabin. Reuben was great to deal with and Irene the key holder was her usual cheery self. Will we be back, try stopping us.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2013
Thank you very much for your review! It was a pleasure having you and assisting you in your preparations. Please come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallys_mu...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week at Loch Awe. We had sunshine for most of the week although it was also quite windy up there. Our dogs had a great time, making friends with Irene's dog who joined most of our walks. The view is breathtaking and is something I could never tire off. The loch view grill opened while we were there and the food was great.

The wild life was fabulous to see with the red squirrels, golden eagles, buzzards and osprey.

Reuben was extremely helpful and very quick to respond to any queries, and while we were there we found Irene to be brilliant. I was very surprised to have a signal on O2 all week!

Will definitely return to Loch Awe

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The gale force winds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2013
Thank you for your review, we are overjoyed you had a good time, and you are very welcome to come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathpicki...
bingley
1 review
“stay in Kilchurn cabin”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The location was breathtaking and we were blest with fantastic weather. The cabin was little rustic but well-equiped and cosy. Reuben was great to deal with and Irene was very helpful. All together a spendid holiday. Will we go back? You bet!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views of the loch
Liked least: no cell phone access
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2013
Thanks for your review, I'd be delighted to accommodate you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael P
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

If you like the centre parcs feel, but not the corporate big brother bit then you will like this. It has a rustic feel and is not at all polished, but that is it's charm. You can sit looking out over the loch from your sofa and although it is a bit muddy & boggy to get to the loch side it looks like the owner may be about to address that (lots of decking timber waiting at the side).
The cabin is small, but there was plenty of space for the 4 of us. Things to do in February are limited unless you - like us, are happiest walking amongst the fantastic views and forests.
We managed a day skiing and a trip to one of the islands. We have all really enjoyed out stay at Kilchurn cabin

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view & the fire
Liked least: Slight stale smoke smell on arrival - soon dissapeared
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2013
Thank you for your review, I appreciate it. Yes I am building a decking at the ground level with a staircase up to the balcony so guests may access the shore directly. The water level actually rises and falls as the loch is used for hydroelectricity, hence the slight marshiness. Sometimes the water comes up almost to the cabin! I'm glad you had a nice time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave k
preston
1 review
“A Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

6 of us headed up to this cabin at the start of February and we were a bit apprehensive about all fitting in. It wasnt a problem - the cabin had ample space for 6 of us! The wood burner kept the place toasty and the kitchen had everything we needed-cooker, toaster, kettle, fridge with mini freezer etc; even coffee makers. the bathroom facilities were ample and the beds comfy. the situation by the lochside was idyllic and we spent 3 days just sitting around reading and relaxing. its not too far a drive to glen coe/glen etive or up to oban if you want some fish and chips and a little shop. the surrounding woods and waterfalls are beautiful and you can easily go for a walk and not meet a single person.

the only problem is the road to the cabin - its very twisty and windy and we all ended up feeling a little queasy every time we drove down it. but to be honest, it wasn't that big a problem compared to what we got out of this holiday.

all in all this was one of the best holidays i have ever been on and i would definitely come here again (hopefully when there will be a greater quantity of sunny days!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: idyllic location
Liked least: the drive in
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your week at the cabin! I always describe the space as 'pleasantly spacious, reassuringly small'. Yes, the road leading to Dalavich is long and twisty but that adds to the area's secludedness, and it's probably why you didn't see many other people wandering about. Thanks for your review and I hope to hear from you again! Reuben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$92
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing