We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!!! The views are just perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cosy loch-side cabin in the midst of lacustrine splendour.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
A cosy loch-side cabin in the midst of lacustrine splendour.
Bedroom #1
The fog lifts off the loch
Sheltered porch
One of the many views from the cabin
Avich Falls Trail
Lochside footpath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
jade l
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!! The views are just perfect”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Had an amazing time at loch awe the cabin is in one off the best spots in the cabin site it was perfect! The cabin is older so didn't expect it to be a 100% clean but I was surprised It was better than expected. Waking up in the bedroom felt a little damp but as soon as the log fire is on getting you warm you dont care!! Will definitely be back great place

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karyn L
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely and quaint, although looking a little tired”
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We've just spent a week here and on first view the cabin is lovely and quaint, it was clean and there seems to be everything we needed. It felt warm when we arrived and the views are amazing as stated by everyone who has been here.

The young lad that gave us the keys for the cabin advised he would drop the wood for the wood burner off later that day, which we thought was fine, however he didn't come back, so we text him on our 2nd day and were advised they would be dropped off soon that never happened either, we arrived on Monday and was due to leave on the following Sunday, during this time there were no logs dropped off, even after we texted a couple of times, and was told they were coming soon, it became cold at night so we had to source our own wood.

Once you spend time in the cabin you notice it is looking a little tired and could do with a lick of paint on the inside and outside, the windows in the double bedroom could do with a good clean, the balcony needs some attention, the fact there are no spindles on one part of the staircase is a concern if you have kids, the double bed could do with a new mattress, and the cabin defiantly needs a new sofa it sinks in the middle and is way past its best, in an ideal world the garden could really do with something doing to it, if you look at the other gardens on site they are all landscaped to a certain degree.

My husband fished most days and didn't catch a thing, the water is too shallow which is a shame really, you really need to fish from a boat.

We went for a walk and followed the blue trail which took us into the forest and past the waterfall which was lovely and the weather was brilliant for March. I know this review sounds more negative than positive but it really is a lovely little cabin, and we would come back. The woods and walks in the area are really lovely and you forget how beautiful Scotland really is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The sofa, and double bed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlreade...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glorious - even in the depths of February”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Perfect retreat for a few days away from everything with family. Within minutes we had a roaring fire going, wine open and the kids were out playing with the ducks on the shore of the loch. Cabin was cosy (heaters worked well, too well in fact, had to turn them off when fire got going), it was clean, kitchen had all we needed and the DVD library was pretty well stocked with movies for different tastes.
One tip: don't rely on previous guests to leave wood/kindling/matches/toilet roll (especially at the start of the season). We made sure we bought plenty beforehand - its a long and windy drive to the nearest big shop.
Couldn't fault the place - just go

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you very much! Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey B
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab,”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely log cabin right on water! Log burning stove! Views were stunning!
Lovely walks, perfect for pets!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camillah2...
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful but not that clean!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a lovely stay at Kilchurn cabin. The view was beautiful and it was the most peaceful place I've ever been. However, the cabin owners rely on people staying there to clean the cabin after their stay and when we arrived it really wasn't up to an acceptable standard. I would recommend the owners found a cleaner in a local village to clean thoroughly after each guest's stay to avoid any disappoints in future. Other than that, the location of the cabin was amazing, and I'd go again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JillRyanC
Eye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful paradise!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This holiday was exactly what we wanted for our wedding anniversary - just to get away from EVEYRTHING! The cabin was perfect and actually had more amenities than we expected. It was lovely to just sit and look out across the water and hills in the evening with a glass of wine and the wood burner blazing! Loved every minute of it. Warning, be careful on the roads if you suffer from travel sickness!! Only thing I could suggest is popping a non-stick pan in there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness - peace and quiet, not being overlooked
Liked least: Having to go home at the end of our stay!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E19791979
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal hideaway”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Kilchurn for five nights and found it a wonderful getaway. The cabin is clean, airy, comfortable and very quiet. Reuben and Irene were both excellent to deal with.
As others have said, It is a fair drive to any substantive food shops so come prepared! However the post office / cafe a couple of minutes walk away is great for breakfast and lunch , you can ask for sandwiches to go (but Brian the owner has a lot of top tips for local things and is lovely to chat to!).
We will definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2014
Thanks very much for your kind words. Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing