We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A cosy loch-side cabin in the midst of lacustrine splendour.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
A cosy loch-side cabin in the midst of lacustrine splendour.
Bedroom #1
The fog lifts off the loch
Sheltered porch
One of the many views from the cabin
Avich Falls Trail
Lochside footpath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Awe, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ruth C
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location for fishing. Everything you need on the doorstep. Cafe, restaurant, pub, shop. Fantastic. Will definitely book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Glad to have you back, Peter!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa D
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A nice getaway”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Kilchurn log cabin is not luxury accommodation and does not claim to be.
As for the other reviews the bed has new mattress and the sofa has been replaced
We had a three night stay and enjoyed it very much
It is basic but cosy with a wonderful view.
However be prepared to bring loads of logs as the hot tub takes two bags to heat it for one day.
Irene who sells the logs charges £7.50 a bag but if you stop off at the garage before you turn in to Dalavich they sell the same size for £4.50.
Then of course you will need more logs for the wood burning stove.
The walk to the hot tub from the bottom of the steps could be paved better as it is just rubble (very sore on the feet and uneven)
The price we paid in total for the hot tub alone was £60 then you pay Irenes husband another £10 to heat it for your arrival this includes two bags of logs so any day after that you will need two bags of logs for each time you heat it, i suggest you do it in the late morning as it takes around 5hrs to heat.
The only thing that was exhausting was the seven and a half mile drive on the single track road to get to the cabin, you really are in the middle of no were.
Would stay again but it was a bit far out from my home.
Lisa

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: the price of the hot tub.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tremendous potential, However....”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited a number of cabins over the years dating back to when they were owned by the Forestry Commission, they were much better kept and better equipped for a stay than this one.
This cabin is in need of decorating, one can only assume that the pictures taken are quite old.
The extra's i.e. wood for the wood burner comes in at an extra £7.50 per bag. (£4.95 at the local garage) one bag lasted the evening only.
£60 for the hot-tub outside that looked as if its seen better days. (One person told us he'd used 3 bags of wood for one session in his tub.)
The cooker within the cabin is extremely dated. No descent frying pan, No Whisk, ice tray. Sharp knives were blunt.
Some basics would have been nice. Matches for the fire, fire lighters, a small supply of wood to get things going. The supply of hot water is very limited. although the shower is OK.

The paint work is peeling in places, some of the windows are very grubby and there seemed to be a little damp in a corner or what looked like damp. The bed has been rescued with a mattress topper, and we slept very well.
The couch that seemed un-usable, (might have been us) and two uncomfortable chairs.
Two cabinet draws fell apart and had to be fixed by my own hand.
We could find no information about fishing rights from the property so fished else where.

When we entered we spotted a small collection of DVD's. One evening the free-view was on the blink due to weather. We could not get any of the dvd's to work, whether is was a faulty DVD player or suspect dvd's I can not tell.
The cabin is sandwiched between to other cabins although we didn't really see many people around.
The potential to make this into spectacular cabin is immense.
For the cost I expected much better. Brick built cottages are available at the same cost. We stayed in a large cottage a couple of years ago across the Loch for the same amount of money.
This is a reflection on this property and not the other cabins or surrounding area. The coffee shop serves am excellent breakfast, and the carrot cake is well worth a try.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the condition of the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2016
Thanks for your feedback. All guest comments are taken very seriously. We will be fully renovating the cabin next week and all these issues will be addressed and resolved. I apologise for your less than satisfactory experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miencamp
miencamp
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awe full”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
4
people found this review helpful

The cabin is run down and very grubby and dirty,and not in a remote forest it is sandwiched between two other very well kept lodges. Unfortunately one next door to us had builders working in if from 8am to 8pm Inc Sundays and bank holiday monday. Sadly the owner has neglected this cabin and opted to use it as a cash cow whilst having total disregard for the guests.we stayed here as a family with two teenage boys, (with many years of camping and holiday home renting over the years) it was impossible to get comfortable in the evening. The garden at the rear has also been neglected as is nothing more than a boggy waste groung,be aware if you have small children as in our opinion it would be unsafe as the ground is uneven and boggy. The owner is difficult to contact once payment has been made.
There are many better value lets available on this Chalet Park, it is a beautiful part of the West coast, if you do stay on this site please check out the boat rental and visit the islands in the loch.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackburn...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cabin very tired and gruby”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Cabin is very tired and grubby and in serious need of general maintenance. The kitchen utensils are in need of replacing they are well past there sell by date as are the mattresses and downies, which are very dirty and stained, though the linen was clean and laundered. The bathroom has large damp patches and the toilet seat is rather precarious and moves around a lot. The Sofa you cant sit on which left two chairs between four.
We had booked the hot tub but upon arrival the water had not been changed from previous
guests it also takes around 36hrs to set it up so we asked for a refund still waiting
this was not a cheap break , just under £500 and was not worth the money. There are other cabins available far superior and cost. The plus points are the Location and the views over the Loch, I am a Scott and would like to say this is not Scottish Hospitality.
To the owner,these points have been highlighted all the way through your visitors book since 2013 and no action has been taken to rectify. Shame on you.
I also would like the money back paid for the hot tub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and View
Liked least: The Cabin
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Hello, thanks for your feedback. We took your comments very seriously and refunded you a large portion of your payment, and are currently making these rectifications. The hot tub error was an unfortunate case of an email which never got to its intended target. Again, I fully apologise and have refunded the price of the hot tub as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittlestS...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic, amazing, outstanding, perfect!”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The best location ever. The cabin was furnished with everything you would need. The views are breathtaking from the cabin. Every second the loch changes and look different. The views take your breath away. The cabin is comfortable and so cozy. The log burner is a lovely addition. The location is so peaceful and relaxing. The ducks love to visit in the mornings. Our dogs loved all the walks around the loch. (No hot tub when we were there! So will have to make another visit to try that out!) couldn't fault this cabin. Do take everything with you food, drinks etc as it really is quite far out from anywhere, although this is a really good thing. The lady who arranges your keys etc is very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing