We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, good value self catering inn”
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugarapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We chose this inn after reading many other reviews.
Location- very convenient for everything of Bequia. Very easy walk to the beach nearby and to the restaurant at the Bequia beach hotel. Quite convenient to have a cocktail!
Rooms - spacious, clean with a nice view over the garden. Quiet most of the time, although this will depend who is staying. However, the toilet is only a few feet from the bed with a louvred door which is not sound proofed at all.
Breakfast is served on the patio, I would have preferred a cold cereal rather than porridge packets, but my husband enjoyed his fried breakfast.
Service is very good as other reviewers have said.
We found the WiFi good. The kitchen was fine for self catering, but we didn't make much use of it.
There are mosquitoes, but the bed net is good but do use spray.
There are a few steps around the property which are fine unless you have mobility problems.

This inn has a very friendly, relaxed feel and we enjoyed our stay. Perfect for exploring the island.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed here in December and absolutely loved it. Unfortunately our plans changed during the stay (last minute ferry cancellation to Canouan) but Cilla was so helpful in assisting us to rearrange everything. She is a truly special person. We also loved Franklyn who met us at the ferry and then took us backwards and forwards across Bequia for the duration of our stay. He was almost a part of the family by the end of it!
The Sugarapple is in a fabulous position overlooking Friendship Bay and we were able to access the beach through the Bequia Beach hotel. Really enjoyed the Bagatelle restaurant there and their bar.
The rooms at Sugarapple are surprisingly spacious and very well equipped. I loved opening the shutters and seeing the view.
The pool area is a good place to chill. We had the pool to ourselves when we were there and it was so peaceful and relaxing. The area where breakfast is served is a great place to start the day. The breakfast was good but if we had stayed longer we would have paid extra to have the cooked meal.
This is really good basic accomodation and is very good value. If you are expecting fluffy robes and luxury toiletries with organised activities every minute of the day then you will be disappointed. If, however, you want a quiet, peaceful place run by genuinely kind and helpful staff that gives you the chance to enjoy Bequia independently, then this is the place for you.
We were so sad to leave this little Inn on this beautiful little island. We have been Barbados fans for so long (and still love it there) but I am longing for the opportunity to come back here.

Room Tip: I don't think any room would disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParishOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

My family and I (8 people in total) stayed here in November for 3 weeks. It's been a few weeks since staying here so here are some of my thoughts on the place:

- the eating/sitting area has an incredible view of Friendship Bay and is the perfect place to eat breakfast in the morning. The free breakfasts when we were there included cereal, coffee/tea/juice and homemade bread (usually banana). There are also two small gas powered BBQ's for preparing lunch and/or dinner.

- the staff (Sandra, Atto, Celia, etc) are all super friendly and really helpful should you need any advice on what to do and where to go. They are also great with kids (we had a 4 year old and a 6 month old).

- You're only a quick 3 minute walk down to the beach. The only warning I would give about the beach (and most beaches have them) are that they have some trees that drop nuts that are "poisonous" and irritate the skin so don't pick them up. Each room comes with two beach chair's and beach towels are available.

- there is some noise from passing cars and dogs barking at night so if you're a really light sleeper it may be an issue (but wasn't for us).

- it wouldn't be a good place for someone isn't mobile or has a tough time with walking as there are a lot of stairs.

- this isn't your typical resort or hotel, its a bed and breakfast so don't expect a fitness centre, spa or bar. Luckily for us, we didn't want any of those things and because its such a small place (two buildings with 4 rooms in each) you don't feel like your staying in a hotel or resort. You feel like your staying at someones house.

- The only two things that are walking distance is the Bequia Beach Hotel below that has a bar and restaurant (both expensive). There is also a really cool small bar down the road run by a Czech guy. Other than that, you will have to go into town.

- When you need to go into town I personally recommend taking the dollar bus as its cheaper and you get to meet locals on it. If you do take a taxi (especially for an island tour), take an open air one. Taxi's and dollar busses are always coming by the hotel although at times you do have to wait.

- all the rooms have kitchens with pretty much everything you need to make meals. The only thing we wished we had were better utensils to cut/crack lobster. Regular knives make cutting a lobster in half and BBQing a lot of work. If you want to boil lobster, just ask the staff and they will be able to get you a pot big enough to do it as the ones in the kitchen were too small. Of course be sure to seal everything properly or sugar ants will get to it.

- The pool area is great. It has a shallow end which is nice for when you have kids and has loungers for when you want to lay in the sun. For those who need a break from the rays but want to be near the pool, there is a shaded area with wooden benches.

- the property has fruit trees that you can pick from. Nothing better then picking fresh lemons to prepare your food with. There are also coconut trees and we were told they were planning a whole area with a lot more variety of fruits for guests can pick from.

- The reception area has a small store where you can buy soft drinks and snacks (Pringles, chocolate bars, etc).

At the end of the day I can't say enough great things about Sugar Apple Inn. This is a great place for family trips (we rented 3 rooms in total) or even couples (there were plenty when we stayed there). The way the staff treat you and how the rooms are set up, you feel like your just staying in someones home.

If you're thinking of going to Bequia (and you should) there is no question that you can't go wrong with staying at the Sugar Apple. The world is a big place but should I ever return to Bequia (and I want to), I'll be staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hklarsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We booked for 2 nights and stayed for 8!
This is a very refreshing place, with nice breezes and glorious views over Friendship Bay.
The rooms have a small kitchen as well as cool airconditioned rooms that are bright and cool with mosquito nets.
A really nice touch was we were issued a local mobile phone with all the local numbers programmed into it which was so convenient.
The dollar bus is right outside to get you into the town, approx 10 mins, or you can get a taxi, 20ec dollars one way.
There are a lot of steps, which comes with the high location and the views, so not good for disabled.
The Bequia beach hotel is literally at the bottom of the garden and great for the beautiful beach of Friendship bay, lunch and Dinner.
Bequia is a real find, and the Sugarapple together with the charming, gentle staff was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tillywitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Hi everyone. I had a fairly stressful time putting together our holiday in the Caribbean and had many anxieties! Can I say that we had the most blissful, peaceful time enjoying the beauty of Bequia, Friendship Bay and the Sugarapple Inn. Lionel and Cilla were incredibly helpful with the various queries that I had prior to the trip. We were met off the ferry from St. Vincent by Franklin, whose services we made much use of during the rest of our stay. He waited while we stocked up on groceries before heading to the inn. This was worth doing, as it is a little trek back and forth to Port Elizabeth. Sometimes we used Franklin, particularly in the evenings, but it was easy to use the dollar (actually dollar fifty) vans during the day.
We rented two interconnecting apartments. They were spacious and comfortable, the kitchen/living area opening to delightful vistas. The airconditioning was most welcome. Being careful to spray the room with Baygon early evening was enough to keep mosquito annoyance to a minimum. I would advise visitors to store all food that is not tinned in the fridge, as there were quite a few ants in the kitchen, and they did manage to infiltrate some of our food - and food is not over-cheap on Bequia! I assume that this would be a problem in any of the apartments, as the kitchen/dining area is very open. We were in Units 5 and 6.
We enjoyed having the choice of pool or beach (5 minute walk max) to relax, most of the time having both entirely to ourselves! One evening we used the barbecue facilities to cook some fish that we bought off a boat near the fish market in town. Great! The open eating and barbecue area lends itself to parties, so I think the Sugarapple would be a great venue for a holiday for family groups/celebrations, or groups of friends.
We planned a couple of trips, and Cilla was really helpful with this. We hugely enjoyed the Tobago Cays trip with Fantasea. She also arranged a tour on St. Vincent for us, where we saw the Pirates of the Caribbean sets, apart from other things.
The staff at the Sugarapple Inn are warm and friendly. I had the wonderful surprise of beautiful flowers and a card when they realised that I was celebrating my birthday. It was so helpful to be able to get laundry done, and the house-keeping team were so easy-going when we hadn't quite vacated the rooms early enough for them to be able to do their cleaning! Well, we WERE on holiday!
If you are wondering whether to go to Bequia, just do it, before it becomes too well-known a secret! We certainly plan to return. Thank you, all at the Sugarapple!

Room Tip: Units 5 and 6 have a view over the pool and are quiet, being further from the road. Units 1 and 2 ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinniethePooh051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed 9 nights in mid-August and booked two adjoining one-bedroom apartments. This is the slower time of year and the staff was available during the day at the office or by phone. The apartments are thoroughly equipped and nicely furnished with extremely comfortable beds and large kitchen area with a round table by the windows. We loved the fact that we had the option of air-conditioning or having everything open to enjoy the breezes. The grounds are beautiful with flowers blooming and we were very fortunate that mangos and guavas were ripening just steps away! Sugarapple is located a short walk to Friendship Bay and beach which is lovely and picturesque. We spent more time on the Caribbean side of the island, where there are numerous restaurants, shops, great beaches and the main port, which we easily reached by taxi (Franklin was great), flagging down the 1EC vans or even on foot. Silla booked us an amazing day boat tour of some of the other grenadine islands with Fantasea. Cell phones were provided and it was most helpful that they had the numbers of the restaurants. This was our second trip to Bequia and we would definitely return to the Sugarapple Inn. We are already missing the warm smiles of the staff and the beautiful location in Friendship village overlooking the sea.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank HankOrenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

This property was extremely delightful. Great for lovers, family or friends looking to for a get-away retreat. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The place is self sufficient. Although Concierge is a service is limited to banking hours (8an-4pm), there was someone available just a quick dial away. The only thing I would warn guest is to ensure you have a way to contact the concierge during 'off' hours. We stayed during holidays 2010 so understandably staff would work during the day and be gone by 6pm at the latest.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinebaptiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
0 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
181 reviews
0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#2 of 16 in St. Vincent
165 reviews
0 mi away
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
0 mi away
Beachcombers Hotel
Beachcombers Hotel
#1 of 5 in Arnos Vale
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugarapple Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing