We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super place to relax”
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugarapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Truly excellent little place which operates to the standards of a much bigger and more expensive hotel. We were immediately delighted to be contacted by Cilla to check when we would arrive and offering to arrange a taxi to meet us. Franklin, the driver, only works for Sugarapple and is consequently readily available to take you on trips and to and from restaurants. We used his services throughout our stay and appreciated his advice and reliability.
On arrival we were shown to our room which was very spacious and features a separate very open kitchen diner with louvred shutters and fabulous views. There is powerful A/C and a fan which combined with the bug spray kept the mozzies at bay in our bedroom (there are plenty of them around so take DEET). We used the provided beach chairs every day and loved Friendship Bay. Breakfast is a fairly simple affair with toast, cereal and cake provided and the opportunity to pay extra for eggs etc. We were also pleased with the welcome we received at the smart Bequia Beach hotel and enjoyed a meal and drinks there.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Sugarapple Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

We just got back from our vacation at the Sugarapple Inn.
This was our second stay within a year. We had a wonderful, relaxing time
again. Cilla and the staff made us feel at home.
The grounds are well kept, the rooms are large and well equipped
The kitchen has everything one might need to cook a meal
The location is perfect. A 3 minute walk to Friendship Bay beach /Beach bar
A 20 minute walk to Lower Bay or Princess Margret's Beach (Jack's Restaurant)
A short bus ride into town or to the ferry.
Can't beat the location and the service that's provided by a wonderful staff

We will be back soon.
Christine and Tom, Colorado

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 166Christine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was really surprised at how amazing everything was at this place! Rooms big and comfortable, with a kitchen too! Service great, superb location, really reasonable prices as well. I am definitely going back to stay! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JadeJaguar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We arrived on Bequia after a 17 hour journey to find that due to construction works on the Breakfast / BBQ area that no breakfast would be available (for which we agreed on a suitable adjustment to the room rate), but no worries we had arranged for a few essential items to be purchased locally in advanced and placed in the fridge and kitchenette for us.

Initial impressions were not that great but once we got the A/C and fan on and cooling the room down to 18C and settled in and had a bite to eat we were fine. We were in unit 1 which has a super king size bed and the mattress and pillows were both firm enough for us. The seats were comfortable enough for reading in the day but with shutters closed the lighting was insufficient to read except on the bed. One of the high level lights had failed and the other developed an annoying flicker late in our stay – how they can possibly be maintained beats me!

The shower room is basically adequate with a large shower space unfortunately the water pressure and shower head are poor and it is hard to see how you can conserve water as requested and get a decent shower as you have to wait so long for any hot water to come through the system.

The kitchenette and dining / lounge area was functional and fit for purpose the appliances all worked even though showing signs of normal wear and tear. The standard of housekeeping (except Sunday when there is no housekeeping service) was excellent and the flowers on the bed each day were a nice touch.

Even though it was low season we did not expect to the only guests but for 7 out of 9 nights that was the case. We were frustrated from using the pool area during most of our stay however by the presence of the builders who were also in the process of finishing off an extension to the pool deck area.

We decamped to Princess Margaret beach and Jack’s Bar on 4 days of our stay went to St Vincent on another and down to the Tobago Cays on our last full day. Hopefully the builders will have completed the works for guests arriving from late October when Bequia’s ‘season’ starts.

NB Bequia’s low season seems to start in June and last through to late October you can expect many restaurants and other amenities to be closed for part or all of this time! The low season corresponds with hurricane season but whilst we were there the only rain we had was two heavy downpours during the night for about an hour each time and by morning you could not tell they had even happened.

Room Tip: We used Noel’s Taxi Service for transport in the evenings into Port Elizabeth to go to restaurants b...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slowhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a nice experience staying at this beautiful hotel. The rooms were very nice & comfortable. I didn't think the fridge work too well & the pool didn't have any lighting so it was kind of scary to swim at night. Also there is not enough lighting in some of the steps, so it was hard to see where I was going. I guess this is the reason why they provide flash lights in each room. The overall stayed was good. The continental breakfast was also good & they served fresh fruit from the grounds of the hotel.

The view from the hotel was absolutely gorgeous. I would go back to this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We decided to stay at Sugarapple Inn during our weekend to Bequia. We chose Sugarapple based on the reviews, price and location. We spent two nights here and weren't disappointed at all. The hotel was very flexible and allowed us to check in early after we took the morning ferry across from St. Vincent. They also allowed us to check out late since no one was checking into the room that day. The room we stayed in consisted of a kingsized bed with mosquito netting (though we didnt need it), A?C, cable television, ceiling fan and large windows. There was a kitchen/lounge area adjoining the bedroom which was fully equipped with refrigerator, stove, toaster, kettle and microwave. Continental breakfast was included and served in a covered area near the pool with a great view. The service was very good and even though there isn't someone at reception 24/7, they can be reached via mobile phone. They also provide a mobile phone for guests to use. You just need to top up at any supermarket. This hotel doesn't sit on the beach front but since the island is small, it takes no more than 10 mins to get to the main town or any of the beautiful beaches along the way. The beach at Friendship is within walking distance. We utilized the 1$ busses during the day and taxis after dark but a car would have made things more convenient. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The hotel has about 8 rooms in two buildings. For the best view ask for the room in the building fur...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Couldn't fault Sugar Apple. Great studio apartment which consisted of a huge comfortable bed in a huge room with en suite toilet and a double shower. Included A/C and a ceiling fan and naturally ventilating windows. Satellite TV too. Kitchen/lounge included 2 seater sofa, table with 3 chairs and probably the best equipped kitchen you might expect to have on holiday. Microwave was available, you just had to ask for it. Continental breakfast is included in the price and is offered in the covered area in the huge gardens that have all kinds of fruit trees. We had a sugar apple tree right outside our apartment. I found mozzies a big problem in Bequia, Sugar Apple even provide you with Bop to get rid of unwelcome guests!
And so to Cilla. Cilla and her team are quite simply wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. Ask and ye shall get! Maid service was daily and superb. Everything cleaned, mopped, dusted and polished. Cilla arranged 2 trips for us, one to Mustique and one to Mayreau on our last day. She even held on to our luggage while we were away then met the ferry on its way back to St. Vincent with our cases. Feeding the staff some home made macaroni pie regularly obviously helped!!! See you in Barbados next week Cilla :)
We hired a car for 3 of the 6 days we were there. Nothing is far away from anything in Bequia, but good to have own transport for supermarket runs, restaurants in evening and exploring during the day.
So, if you are planning a trip to Bequia, stay at Sugar Apple, I highly recommend it :).
PS: I put 5 stars for fitness centre above - property is built on hillside so quite a few steps, good exercise :)

Room Tip: Room 1 has the best views :)
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
6642.6 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
176 reviews
6643.2 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
64 reviews
6642.4 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6642.9 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
256 reviews
6643.0 mi away
Bequia Beachfront Villas
Bequia Beachfront Villas
#2 of 2 in Friendship
14 reviews
6643.0 mi away
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range: £65 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugarapple Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing