We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugarapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We are just back from Bequia and what a wonderful holiday it was. We hardly set foot in the airport before people were greeting us as if we were lifelong friends. Franklin picked us up and drove us to Sugarapple where we were greeted by Cilla who showed us around.

The accommodation was spacious and clean with a fully equipped kitchen and dining area as well as a wonderful view of friendship bay. The modern Bequia Beach hotel is just below Sugar Apple at beach level but is considerably more expensive and - for us at least - less attractive. Nevertheless, we were able to use the restaurant and bar if we wished. There is also a good value fish restaurant about 200 yards up the road. Otherwise we normally ate in Port Elizabeth which is about 30 minutes walk or a short taxi ride. Breakfast at Sugarapple is a very sociable occasion when guests in the eight rooms have the chance to get acquainted and plan their days.

There is not much nightlife on the island although several restaurants have live music. But there is plenty to do during the day - especially considering it is such a small island. My wife Mary read a lot, I went diving (which is excellent), we met lots of nice people from Canada, USA and elsewhere, took a catamaran to Tobago Cays, enjoyed the Bequia Mission’s "Fish Friday" event, visited the Turtle Sanctuary etc. The day before we left we got a big hug from Cilla and when my wife said we still had another day she said "but that's just a pre-hug". The people are fantastic. Bequia and Sugarapple are an unbeatable combination and we are already planning to go again next year.

Room Tip: Mosquitos can be a problem in the evening on rainy days. We found it useful to keep the adjoining do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GKODurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    39
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
94
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Sugarapple Inn on Friendship Bay certainly lives up to its location name. The staff especially headed by Cilla are all so friendly and helpful. Our room was sweet and dressed with flowers in the bedroom and kitchen and the wonderful airy shutters in the living area made it so comfortable to hang out in. The views are great down to the bay through the gardens and the pool was a real added bonus on days when we needed to wash away the seawater. Such an easy walk everywhere from here or catch the dollar buses. There is even the cutest cat evet , Nell, should you wish to share your red snapper or best lobster in the world! Thanks everyone ,for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guardianeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Truly excellent little place which operates to the standards of a much bigger and more expensive hotel. We were immediately delighted to be contacted by Cilla to check when we would arrive and offering to arrange a taxi to meet us. Franklin, the driver, only works for Sugarapple and is consequently readily available to take you on trips and to and from restaurants. We used his services throughout our stay and appreciated his advice and reliability.
On arrival we were shown to our room which was very spacious and features a separate very open kitchen diner with louvred shutters and fabulous views. There is powerful A/C and a fan which combined with the bug spray kept the mozzies at bay in our bedroom (there are plenty of them around so take DEET). We used the provided beach chairs every day and loved Friendship Bay. Breakfast is a fairly simple affair with toast, cereal and cake provided and the opportunity to pay extra for eggs etc. We were also pleased with the welcome we received at the smart Bequia Beach hotel and enjoyed a meal and drinks there.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverthorne, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We just got back from our vacation at the Sugarapple Inn.
This was our second stay within a year. We had a wonderful, relaxing time
again. Cilla and the staff made us feel at home.
The grounds are well kept, the rooms are large and well equipped
The kitchen has everything one might need to cook a meal
The location is perfect. A 3 minute walk to Friendship Bay beach /Beach bar
A 20 minute walk to Lower Bay or Princess Margret's Beach (Jack's Restaurant)
A short bus ride into town or to the ferry.
Can't beat the location and the service that's provided by a wonderful staff

We will be back soon.
Christine and Tom, Colorado

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 166Christine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was really surprised at how amazing everything was at this place! Rooms big and comfortable, with a kitchen too! Service great, superb location, really reasonable prices as well. I am definitely going back to stay! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeJaguar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We arrived on Bequia after a 17 hour journey to find that due to construction works on the Breakfast / BBQ area that no breakfast would be available (for which we agreed on a suitable adjustment to the room rate), but no worries we had arranged for a few essential items to be purchased locally in advanced and placed in the fridge and kitchenette for us.

Initial impressions were not that great but once we got the A/C and fan on and cooling the room down to 18C and settled in and had a bite to eat we were fine. We were in unit 1 which has a super king size bed and the mattress and pillows were both firm enough for us. The seats were comfortable enough for reading in the day but with shutters closed the lighting was insufficient to read except on the bed. One of the high level lights had failed and the other developed an annoying flicker late in our stay – how they can possibly be maintained beats me!

The shower room is basically adequate with a large shower space unfortunately the water pressure and shower head are poor and it is hard to see how you can conserve water as requested and get a decent shower as you have to wait so long for any hot water to come through the system.

The kitchenette and dining / lounge area was functional and fit for purpose the appliances all worked even though showing signs of normal wear and tear. The standard of housekeeping (except Sunday when there is no housekeeping service) was excellent and the flowers on the bed each day were a nice touch.

Even though it was low season we did not expect to the only guests but for 7 out of 9 nights that was the case. We were frustrated from using the pool area during most of our stay however by the presence of the builders who were also in the process of finishing off an extension to the pool deck area.

We decamped to Princess Margaret beach and Jack’s Bar on 4 days of our stay went to St Vincent on another and down to the Tobago Cays on our last full day. Hopefully the builders will have completed the works for guests arriving from late October when Bequia’s ‘season’ starts.

NB Bequia’s low season seems to start in June and last through to late October you can expect many restaurants and other amenities to be closed for part or all of this time! The low season corresponds with hurricane season but whilst we were there the only rain we had was two heavy downpours during the night for about an hour each time and by morning you could not tell they had even happened.

Room Tip: We used Noel’s Taxi Service for transport in the evenings into Port Elizabeth to go to restaurants b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowhands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a nice experience staying at this beautiful hotel. The rooms were very nice & comfortable. I didn't think the fridge work too well & the pool didn't have any lighting so it was kind of scary to swim at night. Also there is not enough lighting in some of the steps, so it was hard to see where I was going. I guess this is the reason why they provide flash lights in each room. The overall stayed was good. The continental breakfast was also good & they served fresh fruit from the grounds of the hotel.

The view from the hotel was absolutely gorgeous. I would go back to this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
6642.6 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
174 reviews
6643.2 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
64 reviews
6642.9 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6642.4 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
6643.0 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
6643.3 mi away
Frangipani Hotel
Frangipani Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belmont
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Property: Sugarapple Inn
Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugarapple Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing