We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to hire their interior decorator!”
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugarapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Sugarapple Inn is a place as sweet as its name. The accommodations were very charming and fit perfectly with the tropical island paradise that is Bequia. The rooms are so inviting and lovely, painted in bright colours and equipped with a kitchen that has huge windows you can open to let in the salty breeze. There is a beautiful beach only a few minutes' walk away, which offers lively, pounding surf and a lovely view. Other beaches are nearby as well, as are restaurants and other attractions, such as the turtle sanctuary and Firefly plantation (you may need a car if you don't like to walk). The inn has a lovely swimming pool, but my husband and I always opt for the sea over a pool. Still, if you have small children, the pool is definitely a nice feature. Cilla the manager and all staff are very friendly and helpful, and greeted us with warmth and kindness. I would live here--in our perfect room 4. We very much enjoyed our time in Bequia and at the Sugarapple inn, and will surely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights with my boyfriend during June. I absolutely loved it! The rooms are gorgeous and the views are breath taking. The beach is only about a 3 minute walk. The best part of the stay however, was the friendliness of Cilla and the staff. Such wonderful people, their kindness is a rarity. And the juice and jam for breakfast is homemade! The location is not really very close to town so I wouldn't recommend this place if you like to party or spend time with crowds. It's secluded and good for a calm romantic getaway! HIGHLY recommend this place (:

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLovins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The simple fact that this year saw us returning for a third time to Bequia's Sugarapple Inn says it all. Altogether we spent nearly four weeks there.The Inn itself is situated in a commanding position on the hillside with lovely views across Friendship Bay to the glittering Caribbean beyond - the horizon dotted with islets and with Mustique in the distance.

Sugarapple's apartments are light, airy and comfortable. Our bed (we'd booked the same apartment that we had for the past two years) was huge and comfy and the furniture was still in good repair and well maintained. The bedroom also has efficient a/c and a large central ceiling fan and plenty of storage space. A good clean mosquito net (which we didn't use btw) is stowed above the bed. The room also has cable TV, an iPod dock and dozens of useful plug sockets, both 110 volts and UK 230 volts. The bathroom has a large walk in shower with lashing of hot water - but always be sparing with water - the island has no natural water source except for that which falls from the heavens.

The kitchen, which doubles as a sitting and dining area is well equipped (still no microwave, but no matter). The large louvered shutters all open up wide allowing light to stream in - incidentally it's the only place I know where you can sunbath in the morning without having to go outside!

The staff (staff? no not staff, they're lovely friends now) are all helpful and obliging and are the nicest folks we've met in the islands. They were all mucking in preparing for a wedding reception when we arrived and they all labored long and hard to make the day a wonderful success for the bride and groom. Their enthusiasm was infectious and we found ourselves really rooting for them to the point that we were constantly checking the weather forecasts and hoping against hope that the day wasn't marred with a sudden tropical downpour. The excellently catered reception was held on the terrace, which is ideal for functions such as these. The ceremony itself was held on the beach alongside Sugarapple's new beachside apartments. These too are beautifully equipped and the location on the beach, beneath the waving palms is quite simply idyllic.

Other plusses are the huge mango trees and the coconut palms in the beautifully maintained gardens (Otto the gardener will lop a couple off for you and extract the delicious coconut water for you). You're positively encouraged to pick the ripe mangos and there's nothing like whipping up your own fresh mango smoothie in the morning for breakfast.

Special mention must always go to the wonderful Cilla who manages Sugarapple. She's the real dynamo in the operation and is always on hand to help with off island bookings, queries or arranging trips, as is her lovely niece Ronelle. The atmosphere at Sugarapple is one of relaxation and very much one of family. For us, now, going to Bequia and Sugarapple is like returning home and I can't imagine a time when we won't be able to make landfall by ferry from St Vincent or squeeze ourselves off the tiny SVG plane from Barbados; breath in that warm tropical air and get Bequia'd all over again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caribauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarappleinn, Manager at Sugarapple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Our sincere thanks for spending time with us once again. We are aware of the options for available accommodations, and are humbled by your kind remarks. The Sugarapple family shares the warmth you have expressed, and enjoy your visits as well. As for the microwave, it's something we have to consider for each unit, and do appreciate your mention of it.

All the best, and thanks again,

Your Sugarapple Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here in November 2013. We extended our stay by a week as we loved it. Very off the grid and very relaxing. Really the best kept secret - difficult to get to but well worth with. The people are great and is very safe. Cilla - sugar apple inn - you are hands down the best hostess. Thank you for an awesome stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank murdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed four nights at Sugarapple Inn at the end of a 7 night sailing trip in the Grenadines. What a perfect way to end the trip! The Inn is in a great location, right on a dollar bus stop, for easy access to town and the port. The Inn was quiet and the rooms are quite large with a fully equipped kitchen. Great breakfast is provided and you can upgrade to a larger breakfast if you wish. Loved the ability to open the shutters and get a great breeze in the room at night. Cila was a great host and provided great recommendations. There is even a cat on the property, Nell, who visited daily. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Recommended by my travel friends who been to Sugar Apple Inn for the past years.
It certainly do not disappoint at all.
Perched up on the Hills with great views .
My Room / apartment is very spacious and charming .
I was so accustomed to sitting in the spacious kitchen with sun beaming down on me and the gentl breeze flowing which i enjoyed immensely.

The staff are wonderful , Cilla the manager is always there to help and attentive.
I was in Room 4 , right next door to the local residents , who can be very enthusiastic at 0600 hours in the morning , with their morning chat and laughter. Guess it adds to the charm of the location :)
Dogs do bark , cats do fight and hiss in the depth of the night , however , i was so chilled and relaxed during my stay , it truly does not bother me ( but thought i mentioned in case people might be a light sleeper )
The unit kitchen facilities are very good , the blender , cooker ,kettle , etc, all types of kitchen utensils .
The room offers free WIFI , however , my room does not seems to have connection inside the bedroom , is more effective at the kitchen .

They also offer a free local mobile phone for guests to use which i found a nice feature ( even though i never need to use the phone ) .

It is truly a very charming property with great views and wonderful attentive staff & management.
I will certainly return to Sugar Apple Inn when next in Bequia.

Thank you Cilla and team.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1111abcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just spent 2 weeks in Bequia and I have opted to stay at the Sugar Apple Inn for the second time in 2 years. I thought that 2 years ago was great but this time was even better. Nothing changed for the room itself which was already in good shape but for the outdoors... Wow what a wonderful renovation you have done. The added space around the pool is great and plus washroom outside beside the pool is great. The covered gazebo is so well done that I could see people using it for events. Well done Sugar Apple Inn. Hendrick

Room Tip: If you don't want any noise pick a room at the bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sugarappleinn, Manager at Sugarapple Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you so much for deciding to spend your vacation with us again. We realize that you have many options and appreciate your return visit. We too are very pleased with the updates that have been made to the Inn, and look forward to guests enjoying it for many years to come.

Kind regards,
The Management and Staff
Sugarapple Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
6642.6 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
176 reviews
6643.2 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
65 reviews
6642.9 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6642.4 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
6643.0 mi away
Bequia Beachfront Villas
Bequia Beachfront Villas
#2 of 2 in Friendship
14 reviews
6643.0 mi away
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range: £67 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugarapple Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing