We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - we want to go back!”
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sugarapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tobago
Level 5 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great - we want to go back!”
Reviewed 3 December 2008

Very simply, we had a great time at Sugarapple Inn - Cilla and the staff were very friendly and helpful, the accomodation was comfortable, clean and spacious, the outdoor areas and pool ideal for relaxing and enjoying the surroundings of the lovely garden that the Inn is set in.

Although we visited a number of other beaches during our stay, Friendship Bay remained our favourite and is only a few mins walk from the Inn. Although it is located a little way out of Port Elizabeth, transport was easily found - and some fellow guests even walked into town!

All in all a lovely setting, a warm welcome, and we want to go back... soon!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tobago4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    39
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
94
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2008

The Sugarapple Inn provided a delightful getaway for our family. Bequia is a beautiful island, a rustic Caribbean gem. Our accommodation at the Sugarapple Inn was spacious, well kept, and extremely comfortable. The staff was fantastic and very sweet, especially with our 2-year-old daughter. The hotel is situated a short walk away from, in our opinion, the most spectacular beach on the island, Friendship Bay. We enjoyed many days of beach combing and relaxation. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a ‘real’ getaway – a place where we will return.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank marc_c_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

We just returned on Sunday from a wonderful trip to Grenada and Bequia. We chose the Sugarapple as our home for four nights while in Bequia. We have visited Bequia by boat before, but never spent any more than one day at a time on the island.

The Sugarapple Inn is a darling small hotel that is always highly rated in Trip Advisor. They are in the Friendship area, and you can walk to the beautiful beach in about 3-5 minutes time. Being Sunday, the wonderful Cilla (that I had heard so many good things about) was on her day off and the main housekeeper, Yvonne, met us. She checked us into our room, gave us a cell phone to use during our stay, and oriented us to the hotel and Bequia.

Our room was very cute – the bedroom area was air conditioned; king bed had a mosquito net; and there were fresh flowers on the bed, and tucked into the towels in the bathroom. At the far end of the room were French doors that opened onto a semi-outdoor kitchen/living area. The eight “windows” in that area were really large white shutter windows that you completely open – what a gorgeous view! It truly brought the outdoors right inside (as well as those refreshing tradewinds). The room was extremely comfortable, and the bedroom a/c was very cold…we used the a/c at night. The hotel has a nice deck area complete with BBQ to use, and a very nice pool area as well - quite refreshing at the end of a warm day. The property even came with a mama cat and 2 very cuddly kittens to snuggle and play with.

If you are expecting a large resort, complete with luxury amenities; bar; restaurant, etc. - Sugarapple isn't for you. These are truly self-catering apartments with many nice touches you won't get at hotel, at a very reasonable price.. (ie: fresh mangos were given to us as they had just been picked; cell phones pre-programed with a variety of numbers that we would possibly need; the most friendly service from staff - you could tell they truly cared and were part of a family) Large resorts are walking distance however, and we did take advantage of bar/restaurant facilities at a neighboring hotel - easy 2 minute walk away.

We loved Bequia, and the Sugarapple Inn and will absolutely be back! (Hopefully sooner than later!)

  • Liked — The beautiful view; the room; the friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Low season - many things closed down
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunWanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

Sugarapple Inn is a perfect stay, especially if there is a large group. Cilla the manager of the property is SO very helpful. She began helping us before we even arrived and while there she made sure everything was always perfect for us.

My family and I went to Bequia for a family wedding. There were 13 of us in the group. We had reserved 6 of the rooms at a very reasonable rate. The pool was perfect, and the beach was only a 2 minute walk. Friendship beach is very nice. The evening we arrived (by boat not ferry as we missed the ferry so once again Cilla took care of that for us!!! Thank you very much!!) Cilla had food and beverages in our room so we could at least have something in our belly after a long day of traveling. (3 planes and a boat later) For dinner we at Blue Tropic, gotta eat the spaghetti, its fabulous! I never thought I would say that king fish and conk is good in spaghetti.

Our first full day all the girls went into Port Elizabeth for some groceries, we wanted to utilize the grill that Sugarapple provides. It was very nice eating right there at the villa each evening. The bus picks you up anywhere you want along the main road that Sugarapple is on. We rode the Dalo bus the most, Connie is really nice. We found all the locals to be extremely polite and helpful. The bus ride is 1.50EC. Everything you do you should try to do in ECs, its easier on the locals, after all we are in their country. Go to the bank to exchange early as they close by 2 pm and everyone goes between 1 and 2!! Remember, everything is laid back there, nothing is too fast, which is the way it should be!

A couple of gotta dos: Michaels Tour!!! Have Cilla call Michael and go to Isle a Quatre Island for his BBQ. It is the best, the food and the spirits are fabulous as well as snorkeling and the ride. Michael, Junior and Flo (maybe her name was Joy??) are perfect company.

Our other adventure that was worth every penny was the Friendship Rose to Tobago Cays. This was the adventure of a lifetime. My brother and his wife were married on the islands of Tobago Cays and Suzanne took care of all the details from A Caribbean Wedding. She did a BEAUTIFUL job. Thank you Suzanne. The waters, snorkeling and islands are beautiful down there, it is nothing one can explain and give it justification. Absolutely amazing!! Anyone wanting a beautiful, tropical wedding will not be disappointed as long as they call you!!

Michael, Connie, Suzanne, and everyone on Bequia….Thank you for a wonderful week and sharing your life with us. It was a blast and we will recommend Bequia to all our friends, family, neighbors and co-workers!! The Wisconsin clan will be back, we promise! That is if you will have us.

Cilla, to you, Thank you for everything you did for my family. We truly miss you. Your hospitality and graciousness is impeccable! Sugarapple Inn is perfect, it’s home away from home!!

Hugs-
Trisha

  • Liked — CILLA-CILLA-CILLA and the Room!!
  • Disliked — I really can't think of anything!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishaWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nrth Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2008

If you are looking for a relaxing, low key, very comfortable, accomodating and beautiful place to stay on Bequia, we would recommend this Inn. We stayed here for a week. When we arrived, we were offered the option of renting a car for the duration of our stay. That was very convenient as we didn't have to drive anywhere to pick the car up, or return it when we were done. The car was delivered to the hotel and we left it there when we checked out. Given the location of the Inn, we were glad that we rented a car so we could check out other beaches, go to the grocery store, and go to restaurants easily and at our convenience.

We can not say enough about the staff. They made us feel so at home and were, as I said, very accomodating and warm. They lent us a cell phone that we could buy minutes on and it had all the phone numbers we might need programmed into it. And, before we left, we were given a Sugarapple to try. It was quite tastey and we brought the seeds home to see if our friend could grow them in his greenhouse.

Our room was lovely, clean, and comfortable. The kitchen was great, we ate most of our meals there. We were able to open all the shutters in the kitchen and listen to the ocean and take in the gorgeous view. We often had a hummingbird in the flowers right outside our window. And, there is a gas grill out on a community deck that anyone can use if they'd like.

Friendship Bay is quite beautiful and only an easy five minute walk from the hotel. We spent one afternoon there swimming and loved it.

We would definately go back.

  • Liked — The large open windows and the view. The room was comfortable, fresh, clean.
  • Disliked — Location.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MoonflowerNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

I am not usually one to write reviews - however my wife and I have just returned from Bequia and probably would have missed out on the opportunity to experience this hotel had it not have been for the other reviews that have been posted.

my wife, four-year-old son and I stayed at the sugar apple for three nights. I doubt there is another hotel in Bequia as beautiful and as peaceful as this; spotless, stylishly decorated and with all the mod cons that you could need. The hotel itself is situated off the main road in a very quiet location, with the beautiful friendship beach a five minute walk away.

This hotel is perfect for couples wanting a romantic and relaxing break. In my opinion, the sugar apple inn is not a great hotel for children; apart from the pool and terraced area there are no facilities to keep younger children amused.

My only issue with this hotel was that the window shutters in the kitchen area are fitted with slats that do not close. Although this allowed the very welcome sea breeze to constantly flow through our room, it also meant that we had some rather unwelcome visitors. By day three I had removed a frog and three large cockroaches that had wondered through. Not too much of a problem if you are OK with creepy crawlies but a complete trauma if, like me, you are a complete chicken.

Apart from this, the hotel is perfect. Would we stay here again? Without a doubt!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness of rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank waynewonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincie, Owner at Sugarapple Inn, responded to this review, 24 May 2008
Glad to hear that you found the Sugarapple peaceful, stylish and spotless. Not so glad to hear that you encountered unwanted guests. Your experience is quite unusual as we have never had such an incidence of repeated visits or a complaint of such before. I must point out that what you refer to as roaches are water bugs, and we must also keep in mind that in the tropics the creatures sometimes come in with the cool breeze; remember the hymn "all things bright and beautiful, all creatures great and small?" Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention, we will certainly address it in the most eco-friendly manner possible.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

After two wonderful weeks there, I find it difficult to find words adequate to express how much we love both Bequia and the Sugarapple Inn !!e

The location of the Sugarapple Inn is perfect - in a quiet area of the island - away from Admiralty Bay and the main town of Port Elizabeth, where most accommodations, shops and restaurants are found. However, these are easy to get to, either on foot (if you're more energetic than we are), by taxi or by dollar bus (the latter being most fun, as musical entertainment is included).

The beach at Friendship Bay is only a ten minute walk away, and there are two excellent restaurants nearby - one on the bach and another only a five minute walk up the road.
e
The grounds of the Sugarapple Inn are beautiful, and well kept - thanks to Julian, who keeps the many trees and tropical flowers pruned, and chases the goats away from the pool whenever they manage to find their way in from neighboring properties. Included is a lovely covered terrace, with tables, plenty of comfortable seating, and even a gas BBQ for the use of the guests.

The inn itself is lovely - situated on a hillside, overlooking th pool, the spacious grounds, and in the distance beautiful Friendship Bay. The units are large, bright and tastefully decorated. Colors are cool and tropical. Shutters in the kitchen / dining area open fully, allowing you to take full advantage of the view and the cooling breezes. In fact, although air conditioning is provided, we never needed it - even during the hottest time of the day.

Our bed was very comfortable, and we slept peacefully, safe from mosquitos, under our net. I must say, however, that we never saw a single mosquito during the time we were there - and believe me, we would recognize them, coming from Canada where the mosquito is the national 'bird' !!

We loved falling asleep to the distant roar of the waves on the shore at Friendship Bay. I admit, however, that it took a couple of nights to get used to the other night sounds, such as the tree frogs, the goats, and the occasional barking dog.

We enjoyed the large walk-in shower - plenty of room for two when you stayed too late at the beach, and had to hurry to get ready for a dinner reservation.

We were impressed also with the amount of storage space in the unit - more than adequate for clothes, luggage and other belongings, such as snorkel gear.

But of all the complimentary things we have to say about the Sugarapple Inn - and we have many - I've saved the best for last. And that is the people !! Lionel was patient and helpful during our efforts to coordinate the booking of our flights and accommodation. Yvonne, Cece and Renita took good care of our unit - it was always spotless, and we loved the special touches like fresh flowers on the bed. And then there is Cilla - whose beautiful smile and sunny personality made every day at the Sugarapple Inn a pleasure to wake up to! I can't begin to tell all the things she did for us during our stay, but I'm telling you - we can't imagine the Sugarapple Inn without her !!!

To sum it up - we've been traveling for 35 years, and rarely do we return to the same place twice, as there are so many places in the world that we have yet to see. But before we left Bequia, we booked our stay, for three weeks next year, at the Sugarapple Inn. I guess that says it all !

  • Liked — Ambience of accommodation & friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Loved everything about it
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Living2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
6642.6 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
174 reviews
6643.2 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
64 reviews
6642.9 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6642.4 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
6643.0 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
6643.3 mi away
Frangipani Hotel
Frangipani Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belmont
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Property: Sugarapple Inn
Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sugarapple Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing