We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but”
Review of Bequia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bequia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place, but”
Reviewed 1 April 2011

It's a very pretty place, with some very nice rooms (and at least one that smelled of toxic chemicals... but they moved us pretty quickly and very pleasantly).

However, charging $850 a night in June while under construction and nowhere near fully staffed (it was hard to find ANYONE at times), is not realistic (fooled me once, not again).

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Glorianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    46
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
170
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Six of us recently stayed here for 3 nights. We and another couple had the two bedroom villa which has a kitchenette (2 ring hob, kettle and toaster, fridge ). It had its own plunge pool. Our friends were in a 1 bedroom villa next door. The pool is nice, just completed and the beach is right in front. The but is the hotel is not yet finished, and there are rumours that it may close in May due to a land dispute. That would be such a shame. The owner, Swedish was on site whilst we were all there but did not engage. Restaurant was good for dinner, breakfast average. The whole place could be stunning , it just needs organising better.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TodgeProvence_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Lovely rooms, very comfortable furnishings.
great secluded beach with no problems finding your own space to chill.
We did wonder if this will change when they start to fill the new rooms being finished.
The only quibble was the erratic and slow service - and we are comparing to other resturants in Bequia and the carribean, not to european standards.
Breakfast was quite poor for the price of the room ie minimal selection of fruit and a basket of toast, even fruit juice was erratic in appearing.
Overall it was a fabulous place to stay,

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank The-Wild-Rovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Our stay here was a very pleasant experience. The staff were efficient and very friendly. The food and drinks were very good and at a reasonable price. Most of the rooms have been completely renovated and the appointments were excellent. The pool was under construction as they were finishing the skirt and landscaping around the pool and were told that it would be finished by February. The owners have put a lot of care and thought in making this resort a five star rated hotel. The beach is excellent and we were not bothered by hawkers which is a plus considering the norm for the Caribbean. I would not hesitate to return next year as we would like to experience the finished renovated product.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Clean newly built hotel. Food terrific. Superb service!

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sweden5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracebridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My wife and i decided to visit Bequia and Bequia Beach Hotel for our Honeymoon. It was one of the most wonderful experiences we have shared together. Both of us have traveled the West Indies for years and this small island has been topped all of our travels to date.

The hotel is stunning, however if you can wait until next year to truly appreciate when construction is complete, it will be worth the wait. The view, people, rooms are amazing. Both of us would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a must visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brianneh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Our family enjoyed our stay at Bequia Beach Hotel. Our villa was beautifully decorated and kept very clean by housekeeping. The plunge pool was perfect for a quick dip. The property is filled with gorgeous trees, plants and flowers and yellow hibiscus was placed in our room every day. All staff members were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed Friendship Bay Beach but preferred Lower Bay for the snorkeling as the reef there was teeming with many varieties of fish. The water was crystal clear.
Bequia is a clean and quiet island with wonderful restaurants. Our favorites were Tante Pearl which offered great local food and amazing sunset views, Coco's for the fish soup and Max's Pizza. We also frequented the local bakery and ice cream shop. We only ate dinner once at the hotel due to very high prices.
The highlight of our entire trip was our sail to Tobago Cayes upon the Friendship Rose. We enojyed the lovely boat ride, delicious food, friendly staff and guests, dolphin sightings and snorkleing with turtles. Do not miss this sail when in Bequia!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suntravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
2.7 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
10.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
1.0 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
20.7 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bequia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bequia Beach Hotel

Property: Bequia Beach Hotel
Address: | Friendship Bay, Friendship VC0400, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bequia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bequia Beach Hotel is situated in what many consider to be the premiere location on the Caribbean island of Bequia - Friendship Beach. Inspired by Oliver Messel's stylish Mustique villas and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens, this boutique hotel combines luxury, elegance and charm to provide a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. With two pools, reading lounge, Spa & Fitness Room, first-class Restaurants and its own secluded sandy beach area. The Bequia Beach Hotel accommodation offers: luxury Beachfront suites, spacious Ocean View suites, private Cottages, and Classic rooms which overlook the second hotel pool with views of the Caribbean sea in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bequia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bequia Beach Hotel Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing