We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to spend Valentines Day!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bequia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bequia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wisborough Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place to spend Valentines Day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Recently spent a week at this resort. We received a very warm welcome which included a lovely rum punch and were personally shown to our amazing room. It overlooked the beautiful gardens and the ocean and our veranda became one of my favourite places to sit. We thoroughly enjoyed meals at both the Bagatelle and the Blue Tropic restaurants on site. We felt the service, particularly at breakfast, was a bit 'hit or miss' as sometimes the staff were very attentive, other times you felt a bit ignored. Perhaps a little more management of the waiting staff would be beneficial. Loved the fresh fruit platter at breakfast and it was so wonderful to sit and eat right next to the ocean, with a view of Mustique just across the water. The pool area is stunning as is the private beach. Enjoyed jogging on local roads most mornings, felt very safe. Taxi drivers are real characters and it's a short drive from this resort into Port Elizabeth, which is worthwhile. Also, very much appreciated the delicious birthday cake and chilled Prosecco in our room on arrival.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JuJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    43
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
160
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

After traveling the island you learn that this hotel is the only property which has a walkable beachfront, easy swimming and a lovely view of Mustique across the bay. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very well maintained. Breakfast was included and service was above par. We chose to have dinner most nights at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of both service and food despite the fact that the dinner menu is limited. The staff was always helpful and Florinda graciously arranged our request for a rental vehicle at the last minute.

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend a beachfront room for the ambiance and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie44113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was our first visit to the Caribbean for a very long while, we were looking for winter sun in a relaxed atmosphere with no hassle and we found it at this wonderful hotel on this lovely small island in St Vincent and the Grenadines.
We were met at the airport by a taxi and a member of the hotel reception staff and by the time we arrived our drink of choice was waiting for us, our cases disappeared and we relaxed. It continued in this way for the rest of our stay.
Dinner in one of the two restaurants was always good with an interesting menu, breakfasts were included with a good range of fruit, meats bread and cheese and/or cooked at no extra charge. the main restaurant was right ion the beach, an unspoiled crescent of pale sand disappearing into an azure sea.
The rooms were extremely well appointed, with quality bathroom fittings, plenty up furniture, air conditioning and a comfortable balcony/patio.We looked out onto beautiful well attended gardens leading to the beach.
All staff were so friendly, smart, welcoming and helpful; nothing was too much trouble for any of them.
We stayed for two weeks and with a few trips to other parts of the island and other restaurants, usually booked for us by the hotel and with music and dancing in the sand some evenings, we had plenty to occupy our time. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Catching up on some reviews from our stay at the Bequia Beach back in early December-13.

Overall we were very impressed with the standard and general quality of this hotel. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming with nothing too much trouble.

The food was excellent and on the rare occaision we had a very minor complaint it was rectified immeadiatley back to the usual high standard.

We honestly couldn't find any real fault with this hotel, set in such a perfect location on a fantastic island so there were more than enough things to do and see during our 6 night stay.

In summary though we owuld say the staff made this really special and they just worked so hard to help you have a lovely holiday, they really should be congratulated.

Room Tip: Ocean front suites are fantastic if you want to spend that bit extra and upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazWestYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is our first experience of Bequia, and it surpassed our expectations. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location, yet it has been cleverly integrated to blend into the landscape. The owner, management and staff ensure their guests are their priority, and standards are exceptional. The staff are knowledgeable and ready to help. We cannot fault the staff, accommodation, cleanliness, facilities and food. The restaurant provides a very high standard of food. The whole stay was a wonderful experience, and we can recommend without hesitation. The little touches mean a great deal, and ensure the guest feels appreciated. There are other hotels on the island, and we hope they meet their guests' expectations as the Bequia Beach does.....

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Bequia is the most relaxing Caribbean Island I've been to. It's a proper working island but it's also small and tourist-friendly. The Bequia Beach Hotel is the perfect place to stay. It stretches back off a stunning beach, up a lush hillside with beautiful gardens. The interiors are laid out with immaculate finesse and the decor has a quirky retro feel. The ideal place to chill.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the beach for a great panoramic view and an infinity pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dixonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Bequia has been on my ‘to do list’ for a a few years and was I not disappointed. Bequia is a precious pearl in the jewels that form the beautiful Grendadine Islands. The island is lush and green with beautiful sweeping sandy beaches, craggy outcrops and stunning mountain views over the turquoise seas to many of the surrounding Islands. Although only seven square miles, the Island is very different on the Atlantic and Caribbean sides and a tour of the Island is a must, including the Turtle Sanctuary and the Old Plantations.

The island is still traditional and old fashioned which is exactly why I was drawn to it. The port is colourful, busy and bustling without being overwhelming and there are plenty of lovely bars, cafes and restaurants to sip cocktails and watch all the boat activity. Sadly a lot of the bigger Islands have become too commercial and have lost the true Caribbean feel.

My sister and I stayed for sixteen days at Bequia Beach Hotel on Friendship Bay in a lovely villa in the gardens with its own plunge pool. The gardens are delightful and it was joyous to wake up to the birdsong all around. There are two pools, with one right on the beach which also has very stylish Cabanas for anyone on a day trip and not staying at the Hotel. The beach is full of beautiful trees and foliage and after breakfast most days, I would visit the little boat builders yard just a few minutes walk up the beach to chat with the local fishermen and the boat builders who are all delightful characters with many tales to tell!

The hotel is set out around beautifully landscaped gardens so you do not feel on top of each other and although the gardens and the hotel are quite large, the hospitality here is so wonderful it immediately feels like you are staying in a friends home. The staff are attentive, warm and friendly and cannot do enough for you. Our housekeeper Aggy made sure we had every thing we needed and even brought us fresh milk each day to make our English Breakfast tea(yes we had brought our own Twinings tea bags but no need as they sell them on the Island!).

The restaurant and bar are right on the beach, looking out to sea, you can see the Island of Mustique in the distance. The food is wonderful with a mixture of local and international cuisine and the lobster of course was particularly special having been freshly caught the same day, this washed down with a delicious lime daquiri mixed by the always cheerful bar staff go down a treat, what more could you wish for?

Having met the owner Mr Bengt Mortstedt at the weekly Friday night cocktail party, we found him to be a most charming and attentive host. This is where the attention to detail and the feeling of stepping in to a friends home all come from. Mr Bengt, as he is known locally and by the staff, fell in love with the Island years ago and wanted to create the perfect place to stay, which he has more than achieved, although he is always striving for further improvement and new ideas and ways to ensure his guests are made to feel very special.

I too fell in love with the Island, the people and the Hotel, so much so, that I am already booked to return for the Bequia Music Festival in January next year, part of which the Hotel is hosting. I felt so safe on the Island and so very at home at the Hotel, that I will be travelling on my own next time.

I know I will be beautifully looked after and I am looking forward to returning...as a friend.

Room Tip: Having a good look round, I would be happy in any of the rooms or villas. The main large villa(fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
2.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
11.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
1.0 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
20.8 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bequia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bequia Beach Hotel

Property: Bequia Beach Hotel
Address: | Friendship Bay, Friendship VC200, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bequia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Bequia Beach Hotel is situated in what many consider to be the premiere location on the Caribbean island of Bequia - Friendship Beach. Inspired by Oliver Messel's stylish Mustique villas and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens, this boutique hotel combines luxury, elegance and charm to provide a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. With two pools, reading lounge, Spa & Fitness Room, first-class Restaurants and its own secluded sandy beach area. The Bequia Beach Hotel accommodation offers: luxury Beachfront suites, spacious Ocean View suites, private Cottages, and Classic rooms which overlook the second hotel pool with views of the Caribbean sea in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bequia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bequia Beach Hotel Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing