We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Equipped hotel we’ve stayed at in Caribbean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bequia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bequia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Equipped hotel we’ve stayed at in Caribbean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Bequia Beach Hotel is undoubtedly the best equipped hotel we’ve stayed at in 18 years holidaying in the Caribbean. The furniture is of good quality, plenty of storage space, comfortable bed, and immaculately clean and well maintained. Good air conditioning, large bathroom.
Basically the nearer the beach and the further down the hill you are the more expensive the rooms are. We took a room in the middle overlooking the very well maintained garden and main pool and it was excellent, with its own little veranda for sitting out in the shade.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.
The facilities are good, with two pools of which the main one is 1.3 metres deep throughout. There is water sport equipment, but we did not try the spa or keep fit room. Loungers are available throughout.
There are two restaurants, both offering very good food. The main restaurant is on the beach front with the sea able to wash into the bottom of it. A good breakfast is available there and it has a nice bar.
The hotel is located on Friendship Bay. It has a narrow beach with the waves coming almost up to the lawns at high tide. The water can be very “sporty” at times and in 10 days was never clear enough for me to check out the snorkelling on the nearby reef.
However, a short taxi ride (or walk if you are fit) takes you to Princess Margaret’s Bay which is the ultimate Caribbean beach with shallow clear water and good snorkelling.
The hotel is also within easy reach of the main town, Port Elizabeth, the airport and a number of excellent restaurants.
We will be going back, soon.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas offer excellent value, ours actually had two bedrooms ! If you can afford it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    43
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
160
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a beautiful and high quality hotel on a truly lovely island.

It was our first visit to Bequia and we were most impressed with the place, people and the hotel.

The hotel is the ‘retirement project’ of a private owner, and he has done a great job in turning his vision into reality. The grounds are lush and spread out and the rooms and facilities are all first rate.

Our room was one of the least expensive (OK, cheapest) and that meant a climb up quite a few steps. One older couple found it too much and were moved. The advantage of our garden view room was that it was on an elevated position and therefore more private than most. There was no-one either side of us, so it was quiet, too. The hotel was less than half full and most of the sea front rooms seemed unoccupied. Alas – as is our luck – an upgrade didn’t happen.

The room itself was much smaller than the one we’d occupied the previous week on another island, but it was of an excellent quality and very stylish. The bathroom was very modern.

We had a half board week and the dinners were invariably excellent. The food from Emmanuel’s team was always exquisitely presented. Breakfasts began with a platter of carefully prepared mixed fruit. It was mainly continental, with a choice of eggs. The menu was a little odd, though. For example, you could help yourself to tomato from the buffet, but if you ordered one with your eggs than there would be a charge – as for hash brown and other accompaniments.

If you book bed and breakfast and eat other meals at the hotel (and like wine), then you’ll need a reasonable budget. Drinks are moderately priced – and the bar staff are great fun.

For the first days we really missed having a morning tea or coffee in the room – as the facility wasn’t there. Then we noticed on the hotel’s website that it was available in all rooms. We asked why we didn’t have it and were told that we had to request it first. Pointless and a little annoying: if you advertise it, then it should be there. There was a room fridge which kept water at a steady 17C. We never found out how to cool it.

All staff members we encountered were charming, friendly and helpful.

Friendship Bay is quite large and there rarely seemed to be many people about. If you like to snorkel, then there’s a reasonably interesting reef to the west of the bay. However, the Atlantic’s influence means there are usually waves – sometimes quite powerful ones – close inshore right in front of the hotel.

We spent a day or two on Princess Margaret Beach (lovely) and Lower Bay (even better, in our opinion). Lunch and a few drinks at Keegan’s on Lower Bay is pleasant and very inexpensive. You can walk from Princess Margaret Beach to Lower Bay by climbing a few steps at the south of the beach that leads onto a short path. The water at Lower Bay was as clear as crystal, with much sea life to view around the reef.

Port Elizabeth has something of the old Caribbean about it: small, and relatively quiet but with several supermarkets and shops. There are good restaurants and bars alongside the harbour. We usually used taxis to take us into Port Elizabeth ($10 inc tip each way). However, if you don’t mind the local experience you can go from the rear entrance of the hotel, flag down a local bus and squeeze in with the locals. It depends on whether you value comfort and have a preference between paying either $20 or $1.50 for the return journey for two.

A trip to the turtle sanctuary was a pleasant way to spend two hours or so.

There was one issue that may not bother many people, but caused us huge irritation: the hotel’s so-called ‘wifi service.’ We needed to exchange emails on a daily basis with our business, and I also like to download my newspaper and get other information. But it rarely worked. We spent hours trying to get and send messages – sometimes wandering around the hotel to find a router that was working. It was irritating and cost time we didn’t want to waste while on holiday.

If you are leaving Bequia by air, don’t spend too much time ensuring that your bags are packed carefully: your clothes are all going to come out at the security check in the airport. They are very pleasant about it, though.

In summary: The Bequia Beach is a lovely hotel that we recommend. It’s on our ‘go back to’ list – and will move up the rankings once we know for sure that we can communicate with the outside world.

Room Tip: If steps aren't your thing, make sure you make that clear when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cardiff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We did a day pass to the hotel after working in St. Vincent for the week. We were warmly welcomed, sipped delicious rum punch on a beautiful relaxing spot on the beach, and enjoyed a 20 minute massage. I look forward to visiting again (hopefully for more than a few hours!!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisborough Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Recently spent a week at this resort. We received a very warm welcome which included a lovely rum punch and were personally shown to our amazing room. It overlooked the beautiful gardens and the ocean and our veranda became one of my favourite places to sit. We thoroughly enjoyed meals at both the Bagatelle and the Blue Tropic restaurants on site. We felt the service, particularly at breakfast, was a bit 'hit or miss' as sometimes the staff were very attentive, other times you felt a bit ignored. Perhaps a little more management of the waiting staff would be beneficial. Loved the fresh fruit platter at breakfast and it was so wonderful to sit and eat right next to the ocean, with a view of Mustique just across the water. The pool area is stunning as is the private beach. Enjoyed jogging on local roads most mornings, felt very safe. Taxi drivers are real characters and it's a short drive from this resort into Port Elizabeth, which is worthwhile. Also, very much appreciated the delicious birthday cake and chilled Prosecco in our room on arrival.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JuJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

After traveling the island you learn that this hotel is the only property which has a walkable beachfront, easy swimming and a lovely view of Mustique across the bay. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very well maintained. Breakfast was included and service was above par. We chose to have dinner most nights at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of both service and food despite the fact that the dinner menu is limited. The staff was always helpful and Florinda graciously arranged our request for a rental vehicle at the last minute.

Room Tip: We would definitely recommend a beachfront room for the ambiance and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie44113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

This was our first visit to the Caribbean for a very long while, we were looking for winter sun in a relaxed atmosphere with no hassle and we found it at this wonderful hotel on this lovely small island in St Vincent and the Grenadines.
We were met at the airport by a taxi and a member of the hotel reception staff and by the time we arrived our drink of choice was waiting for us, our cases disappeared and we relaxed. It continued in this way for the rest of our stay.
Dinner in one of the two restaurants was always good with an interesting menu, breakfasts were included with a good range of fruit, meats bread and cheese and/or cooked at no extra charge. the main restaurant was right ion the beach, an unspoiled crescent of pale sand disappearing into an azure sea.
The rooms were extremely well appointed, with quality bathroom fittings, plenty up furniture, air conditioning and a comfortable balcony/patio.We looked out onto beautiful well attended gardens leading to the beach.
All staff were so friendly, smart, welcoming and helpful; nothing was too much trouble for any of them.
We stayed for two weeks and with a few trips to other parts of the island and other restaurants, usually booked for us by the hotel and with music and dancing in the sand some evenings, we had plenty to occupy our time. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Catching up on some reviews from our stay at the Bequia Beach back in early December-13.

Overall we were very impressed with the standard and general quality of this hotel. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming with nothing too much trouble.

The food was excellent and on the rare occaision we had a very minor complaint it was rectified immeadiatley back to the usual high standard.

We honestly couldn't find any real fault with this hotel, set in such a perfect location on a fantastic island so there were more than enough things to do and see during our 6 night stay.

In summary though we owuld say the staff made this really special and they just worked so hard to help you have a lovely holiday, they really should be congratulated.

Room Tip: Ocean front suites are fantastic if you want to spend that bit extra and upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazWestYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
2.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
11.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
1.0 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
20.8 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bequia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bequia Beach Hotel

Property: Bequia Beach Hotel
Address: | Friendship Bay, Friendship VC200, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bequia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Bequia Beach Hotel is situated in what many consider to be the premiere location on the Caribbean island of Bequia - Friendship Beach. Inspired by Oliver Messel's stylish Mustique villas and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens, this boutique hotel combines luxury, elegance and charm to provide a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. With two pools, reading lounge, Spa & Fitness Room, first-class Restaurants and its own secluded sandy beach area. The Bequia Beach Hotel accommodation offers: luxury Beachfront suites, spacious Ocean View suites, private Cottages, and Classic rooms which overlook the second hotel pool with views of the Caribbean sea in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bequia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bequia Beach Hotel Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing