We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bequia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bequia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

So relaxing with the great views. The staff was so nice and everything was so clean ! going to come back again ! One of the best and I mean the best hotel in the grenadines. stayed there on easter with the reagata rush. It was so calm after the busy of everywhere else. we stayed on the ocean front room with beach views and crashing waves at night. No noise including No barking dogs. The breakfast was fresh and the other meals where nice. overall great place to stay on our holiday .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole123p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    43
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
160
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Bequia Beach Hotel and everything was just perfect. We got upgraded to a garden villa and it was the nicest place we stayed at. This hotel was part of our combo while touring/sailing around the Grenadines, so we didn't chose it deliberately.
Service is just perfect. We had the chance to be there on a Wednesday as this is BBQ-evening and a live band is playing reggae and socca. Just great!
Food is rather expensive. On normal evenings, a main course only is just a bite and it's around 85 EC$. It's tasty but just not filling.
As the hotel is located on Friendship Bay, we took the local bus on the main road up the hotel to go to Port Elizabeth. It's about 2 EC$ one way and the buses run till late at night.
The beach is not really nice, because high tide always washes up a lot of seaweed s.o. had to clean every morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FancyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for a few days just before the Easter rush, so it was fairly quiet. Had a one bedroom villa which was tastefully appointed & in a very good state of repair. Bar service was friendly & efficient & it was nice to have a manager's cocktail party.....a very enthusiastic & professional bunch. Breakfast was great: the largest continental I've ever seen, with a lovely, ciabatta-style bread baked on premises.
Evening meal of strip loin was OK but the lunch of tuna nicoise was disappointing, especially when compared to other Bequia establishments. Minimal (ie zero) pool-side service, but the 20 yard walk to the bar for a rum punch wasn't exactly a hardship. In summary, we really enjoyed the place & will definitely be going back. I thoroughly recommend BBH.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Unspoiled, laid back, quiet, beautiful, private, secure, comfortable, clean, inviting. These words all describe Bequia Beach Hotel. I've stayed in hotels all over the Caribbean and this is one of the nicest of them.

We stayed in a beachfront room opening onto an idyllic beach. Every night, the sound of breaking waves on the shore lulled us into a blissful sleep. It truly felt like the Caribbean of long ago. No traffic or noise, no beach vendors. Just clean air, clean beaches and a sense of relaxation.

By our fourth day, I felt the tension and stress melt away and I knew we had to extend our vacation here. So we added a couple more days to our stay and we didn't regret it one iota.

Breakfast was served by courteous and efficient staff. Everything was fresh and of the highest quality. We enjoyed a splendid view of the bay from the restaurant and would stroll leisurely along the beach afterward. Lunches and dinners were equally fine, with both continental and local cuisines available, prepared by a very capable chef and his uniformed staff.

There were specific evenings arranged for music and dancing and we had the good fortune to attend a special presentation by the Beatles official biographer made possible by the owner Bendt.

Overall, the holiday here turned out to be the best vacations we've enjoyed in years and we will certainly take the opportunity to 'unwind' here again.

If you enjoy beautiful, unspoiled surroundings, serenity and luxury, this is a good place to try.

Room Tip: I recommend a beach front room for those not wanting to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Bequia Beach Hotel is undoubtedly the best equipped hotel we’ve stayed at in 18 years holidaying in the Caribbean. The furniture is of good quality, plenty of storage space, comfortable bed, and immaculately clean and well maintained. Good air conditioning, large bathroom.
Basically the nearer the beach and the further down the hill you are the more expensive the rooms are. We took a room in the middle overlooking the very well maintained garden and main pool and it was excellent, with its own little veranda for sitting out in the shade.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.
The facilities are good, with two pools of which the main one is 1.3 metres deep throughout. There is water sport equipment, but we did not try the spa or keep fit room. Loungers are available throughout.
There are two restaurants, both offering very good food. The main restaurant is on the beach front with the sea able to wash into the bottom of it. A good breakfast is available there and it has a nice bar.
The hotel is located on Friendship Bay. It has a narrow beach with the waves coming almost up to the lawns at high tide. The water can be very “sporty” at times and in 10 days was never clear enough for me to check out the snorkelling on the nearby reef.
However, a short taxi ride (or walk if you are fit) takes you to Princess Margaret’s Bay which is the ultimate Caribbean beach with shallow clear water and good snorkelling.
The hotel is also within easy reach of the main town, Port Elizabeth, the airport and a number of excellent restaurants.
We will be going back, soon.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas offer excellent value, ours actually had two bedrooms ! If you can afford it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a beautiful and high quality hotel on a truly lovely island.

It was our first visit to Bequia and we were most impressed with the place, people and the hotel.

The hotel is the ‘retirement project’ of a private owner, and he has done a great job in turning his vision into reality. The grounds are lush and spread out and the rooms and facilities are all first rate.

Our room was one of the least expensive (OK, cheapest) and that meant a climb up quite a few steps. One older couple found it too much and were moved. The advantage of our garden view room was that it was on an elevated position and therefore more private than most. There was no-one either side of us, so it was quiet, too. The hotel was less than half full and most of the sea front rooms seemed unoccupied. Alas – as is our luck – an upgrade didn’t happen.

The room itself was much smaller than the one we’d occupied the previous week on another island, but it was of an excellent quality and very stylish. The bathroom was very modern.

We had a half board week and the dinners were invariably excellent. The food from Emmanuel’s team was always exquisitely presented. Breakfasts began with a platter of carefully prepared mixed fruit. It was mainly continental, with a choice of eggs. The menu was a little odd, though. For example, you could help yourself to tomato from the buffet, but if you ordered one with your eggs than there would be a charge – as for hash brown and other accompaniments.

If you book bed and breakfast and eat other meals at the hotel (and like wine), then you’ll need a reasonable budget. Drinks are moderately priced – and the bar staff are great fun.

For the first days we really missed having a morning tea or coffee in the room – as the facility wasn’t there. Then we noticed on the hotel’s website that it was available in all rooms. We asked why we didn’t have it and were told that we had to request it first. Pointless and a little annoying: if you advertise it, then it should be there. There was a room fridge which kept water at a steady 17C. We never found out how to cool it.

All staff members we encountered were charming, friendly and helpful.

Friendship Bay is quite large and there rarely seemed to be many people about. If you like to snorkel, then there’s a reasonably interesting reef to the west of the bay. However, the Atlantic’s influence means there are usually waves – sometimes quite powerful ones – close inshore right in front of the hotel.

We spent a day or two on Princess Margaret Beach (lovely) and Lower Bay (even better, in our opinion). Lunch and a few drinks at Keegan’s on Lower Bay is pleasant and very inexpensive. You can walk from Princess Margaret Beach to Lower Bay by climbing a few steps at the south of the beach that leads onto a short path. The water at Lower Bay was as clear as crystal, with much sea life to view around the reef.

Port Elizabeth has something of the old Caribbean about it: small, and relatively quiet but with several supermarkets and shops. There are good restaurants and bars alongside the harbour. We usually used taxis to take us into Port Elizabeth ($10 inc tip each way). However, if you don’t mind the local experience you can go from the rear entrance of the hotel, flag down a local bus and squeeze in with the locals. It depends on whether you value comfort and have a preference between paying either $20 or $1.50 for the return journey for two.

A trip to the turtle sanctuary was a pleasant way to spend two hours or so.

There was one issue that may not bother many people, but caused us huge irritation: the hotel’s so-called ‘wifi service.’ We needed to exchange emails on a daily basis with our business, and I also like to download my newspaper and get other information. But it rarely worked. We spent hours trying to get and send messages – sometimes wandering around the hotel to find a router that was working. It was irritating and cost time we didn’t want to waste while on holiday.

If you are leaving Bequia by air, don’t spend too much time ensuring that your bags are packed carefully: your clothes are all going to come out at the security check in the airport. They are very pleasant about it, though.

In summary: The Bequia Beach is a lovely hotel that we recommend. It’s on our ‘go back to’ list – and will move up the rankings once we know for sure that we can communicate with the outside world.

Room Tip: If steps aren't your thing, make sure you make that clear when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cardiff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We did a day pass to the hotel after working in St. Vincent for the week. We were warmly welcomed, sipped delicious rum punch on a beautiful relaxing spot on the beach, and enjoyed a 20 minute massage. I look forward to visiting again (hopefully for more than a few hours!!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
2.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
11.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
1.0 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
20.8 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bequia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bequia Beach Hotel

Property: Bequia Beach Hotel
Address: | Friendship Bay, Friendship VC200, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bequia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Bequia Beach Hotel is situated in what many consider to be the premiere location on the Caribbean island of Bequia - Friendship Beach. Inspired by Oliver Messel's stylish Mustique villas and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens, this boutique hotel combines luxury, elegance and charm to provide a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. With two pools, reading lounge, Spa & Fitness Room, first-class Restaurants and its own secluded sandy beach area. The Bequia Beach Hotel accommodation offers: luxury Beachfront suites, spacious Ocean View suites, private Cottages, and Classic rooms which overlook the second hotel pool with views of the Caribbean sea in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bequia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bequia Beach Hotel Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing