We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
260
52
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
52
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front friendship bay bequia beach lobster night half board lovely hotel high season beachfront suite atlantic side laid back perfect caribbean sound of the waves st vincent half mile large balcony main restaurant the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Bequia Beach Hotel and everything was just perfect. We got upgraded to a garden villa and it was the nicest place we stayed at. This hotel was part of our combo while touring/sailing around the Grenadines, so we didn't chose it deliberately.
Service is just perfect. We had the chance to be there on a Wednesday as this is BBQ-evening and a live band is playing reggae and socca. Just great!
Food is rather expensive. On normal evenings, a main course only is just a bite and it's around 85 EC$. It's tasty but just not filling.
As the hotel is located on Friendship Bay, we took the local bus on the main road up the hotel to go to Port Elizabeth. It's about 2 EC$ one way and the buses run till late at night.
The beach is not really nice, because high tide always washes up a lot of seaweed s.o. had to clean every morning.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FancyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for a few days just before the Easter rush, so it was fairly quiet. Had a one bedroom villa which was tastefully appointed & in a very good state of repair. Bar service was friendly & efficient & it was nice to have a manager's cocktail party.....a very enthusiastic & professional bunch. Breakfast was great: the largest continental I've ever seen, with a lovely, ciabatta-style bread baked on premises.
Evening meal of strip loin was OK but the lunch of tuna nicoise was disappointing, especially when compared to other Bequia establishments. Minimal (ie zero) pool-side service, but the 20 yard walk to the bar for a rum punch wasn't exactly a hardship. In summary, we really enjoyed the place & will definitely be going back. I thoroughly recommend BBH.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Unspoiled, laid back, quiet, beautiful, private, secure, comfortable, clean, inviting. These words all describe Bequia Beach Hotel. I've stayed in hotels all over the Caribbean and this is one of the nicest of them.

We stayed in a beachfront room opening onto an idyllic beach. Every night, the sound of breaking waves on the shore lulled us into a blissful sleep. It truly felt like the Caribbean of long ago. No traffic or noise, no beach vendors. Just clean air, clean beaches and a sense of relaxation.

By our fourth day, I felt the tension and stress melt away and I knew we had to extend our vacation here. So we added a couple more days to our stay and we didn't regret it one iota.

Breakfast was served by courteous and efficient staff. Everything was fresh and of the highest quality. We enjoyed a splendid view of the bay from the restaurant and would stroll leisurely along the beach afterward. Lunches and dinners were equally fine, with both continental and local cuisines available, prepared by a very capable chef and his uniformed staff.

There were specific evenings arranged for music and dancing and we had the good fortune to attend a special presentation by the Beatles official biographer made possible by the owner Bendt.

Overall, the holiday here turned out to be the best vacations we've enjoyed in years and we will certainly take the opportunity to 'unwind' here again.

If you enjoy beautiful, unspoiled surroundings, serenity and luxury, this is a good place to try.

Room tip: I recommend a beach front room for those not wanting to climb stairs.
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Bequia Beach Hotel is undoubtedly the best equipped hotel we’ve stayed at in 18 years holidaying in the Caribbean. The furniture is of good quality, plenty of storage space, comfortable bed, and immaculately clean and well maintained. Good air conditioning, large bathroom.
Basically the nearer the beach and the further down the hill you are the more expensive the rooms are. We took a room in the middle overlooking the very well maintained garden and main pool and it was excellent, with its own little veranda for sitting out in the shade.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.
The facilities are good, with two pools of which the main one is 1.3 metres deep throughout. There is water sport equipment, but we did not try the spa or keep fit room. Loungers are available throughout.
There are two restaurants, both offering very good food. The main restaurant is on the beach front with the sea able to wash into the bottom of it. A good breakfast is available there and it has a nice bar.
The hotel is located on Friendship Bay. It has a narrow beach with the waves coming almost up to the lawns at high tide. The water can be very “sporty” at times and in 10 days was never clear enough for me to check out the snorkelling on the nearby reef.
However, a short taxi ride (or walk if you are fit) takes you to Princess Margaret’s Bay which is the ultimate Caribbean beach with shallow clear water and good snorkelling.
The hotel is also within easy reach of the main town, Port Elizabeth, the airport and a number of excellent restaurants.
We will be going back, soon.

Room tip: The one bedroom villas offer excellent value, ours actually had two bedrooms ! If you can afford it do not take the rooms up the hill unless you enjoy steps
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is a beautiful and high quality hotel on a truly lovely island.

It was our first visit to Bequia and we were most impressed with the place, people and the hotel.

The hotel is the ‘retirement project’ of a private owner, and he has done a great job in turning his vision into reality. The grounds are lush and spread out and the rooms and facilities are all first rate.

Our room was one of the least expensive (OK, cheapest) and that meant a climb up quite a few steps. One older couple found it too much and were moved. The advantage of our garden view room was that it was on an elevated position and therefore more private than most. There was no-one either side of us, so it was quiet, too. The hotel was less than half full and most of the sea front rooms seemed unoccupied. Alas – as is our luck – an upgrade didn’t happen.

The room itself was much smaller than the one we’d occupied the previous week on another island, but it was of an excellent quality and very stylish. The bathroom was very modern.

We had a half board week and the dinners were invariably excellent. The food from Emmanuel’s team was always exquisitely presented. Breakfasts began with a platter of carefully prepared mixed fruit. It was mainly continental, with a choice of eggs. The menu was a little odd, though. For example, you could help yourself to tomato from the buffet, but if you ordered one with your eggs than there would be a charge – as for hash brown and other accompaniments.

If you book bed and breakfast and eat other meals at the hotel (and like wine), then you’ll need a reasonable budget. Drinks are moderately priced – and the bar staff are great fun.

For the first days we really missed having a morning tea or coffee in the room – as the facility wasn’t there. Then we noticed on the hotel’s website that it was available in all rooms. We asked why we didn’t have it and were told that we had to request it first. Pointless and a little annoying: if you advertise it, then it should be there. There was a room fridge which kept water at a steady 17C. We never found out how to cool it.

All staff members we encountered were charming, friendly and helpful.

Friendship Bay is quite large and there rarely seemed to be many people about. If you like to snorkel, then there’s a reasonably interesting reef to the west of the bay. However, the Atlantic’s influence means there are usually waves – sometimes quite powerful ones – close inshore right in front of the hotel.

We spent a day or two on Princess Margaret Beach (lovely) and Lower Bay (even better, in our opinion). Lunch and a few drinks at Keegan’s on Lower Bay is pleasant and very inexpensive. You can walk from Princess Margaret Beach to Lower Bay by climbing a few steps at the south of the beach that leads onto a short path. The water at Lower Bay was as clear as crystal, with much sea life to view around the reef.

Port Elizabeth has something of the old Caribbean about it: small, and relatively quiet but with several supermarkets and shops. There are good restaurants and bars alongside the harbour. We usually used taxis to take us into Port Elizabeth ($10 inc tip each way). However, if you don’t mind the local experience you can go from the rear entrance of the hotel, flag down a local bus and squeeze in with the locals. It depends on whether you value comfort and have a preference between paying either $20 or $1.50 for the return journey for two.

A trip to the turtle sanctuary was a pleasant way to spend two hours or so.

There was one issue that may not bother many people, but caused us huge irritation: the hotel’s so-called ‘wifi service.’ We needed to exchange emails on a daily basis with our business, and I also like to download my newspaper and get other information. But it rarely worked. We spent hours trying to get and send messages – sometimes wandering around the hotel to find a router that was working. It was irritating and cost time we didn’t want to waste while on holiday.

If you are leaving Bequia by air, don’t spend too much time ensuring that your bags are packed carefully: your clothes are all going to come out at the security check in the airport. They are very pleasant about it, though.

In summary: The Bequia Beach is a lovely hotel that we recommend. It’s on our ‘go back to’ list – and will move up the rankings once we know for sure that we can communicate with the outside world.

Room tip: If steps aren't your thing, make sure you make that clear when you book.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cardiff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews