We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, intimate getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bequia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bequia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elegant, intimate getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We spent a week at the Bequia Beach Hotel at the beginning of May and enjoyed a most relaxing, peaceful vacation. Apparently we had arrived at the start of the 'low season' and things on the island had really started to slow down - consequently we were among a handful of couples staying at the hotel and it was bliss. The staff were attentive and friendly, quick to note if we needed towels and seat coverings brought across to the beach loungers or wanted food/ beverages, but never obtrusive. That feeling of calm permeated throughout the hotel - it was lovely to hear the sound of the sea, or birds in the garden, rather than annoying disco music or non-stop radio chatter!

The hotel is spread out over a beautiful garden with a variety of rooms. We stayed in a 'beachfront room' on the ground floor that lead out directly on to the beach with the sound of the waves breaking at night. I'd highly recommend. Other rooms were set back either rising up the hillside (a few stairs but with nice views and a second swimming pool) or what appeared to be within small cottages. The interior furnishings were fantastic - beautiful and of excellent quality - the Scandinavian owner's aesthetic was clear to see!

In fact the owner was on-site throughout our stay, eating in the restaurant every evening, sometimes alone or hosting guests. The hotel manager (a local lady who had previously worked in hospitality in London before returning home) was also present throughout, checking with guests that everything was in order. The overall impression was of a professional, well managed establishment.

Clearly our stay coincided with a quiet period (one that I'd recommend, the weather was excellent) so I'm guessing things would be much more lively in high season. However the hotel grounds feel so spacious that I can't ever imagine it feeling over run or crowded. And Bequia Island is a delight - charming, traditional and with some of the friendliest people we've met in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor beach room if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLouise88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    43
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
160
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

From the moment we stepped off the ferry from St Vincent, Bequia charmed us and the hotel & its staff were so welcoming. Hot & dusty we were met with cold towels & a complimentary drink. We spent 3 nights here, and it was just perfect. The staff were extremely pleasant and exceptionally attentive. We were there during a quiet period, but we never had to look for a towel, lounger cushions or a drink, there was always someone anticipating our needs. The food was good, especially breakfast, though the menu was not extensive. Our first night was a BBQ with live music and well attended. One evening we had the opportunity to meet hotel management at a cocktail evening which was a very nice touch. We could only get wi-fi at the pool or reception area, not in the room, which was an inconvienience but hardly a reason to complain when Bequia should be a place you go to get away from the stresses of life! There were no tea & coffee making facilities in the room but it appears these can be ordered via room service. Wonderful toiletries, robes, towels & tasefully decorated rooms. We had a room at the top of the hotel, with balcony overlooking a small pool, and the second bar which was closed when we were there. Did not make use of the spa facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

So relaxing with the great views. The staff was so nice and everything was so clean ! going to come back again ! One of the best and I mean the best hotel in the grenadines. stayed there on easter with the reagata rush. It was so calm after the busy of everywhere else. we stayed on the ocean front room with beach views and crashing waves at night. No noise including No barking dogs. The breakfast was fresh and the other meals where nice. overall great place to stay on our holiday .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole123p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Bequia Beach Hotel and everything was just perfect. We got upgraded to a garden villa and it was the nicest place we stayed at. This hotel was part of our combo while touring/sailing around the Grenadines, so we didn't chose it deliberately.
Service is just perfect. We had the chance to be there on a Wednesday as this is BBQ-evening and a live band is playing reggae and socca. Just great!
Food is rather expensive. On normal evenings, a main course only is just a bite and it's around 85 EC$. It's tasty but just not filling.
As the hotel is located on Friendship Bay, we took the local bus on the main road up the hotel to go to Port Elizabeth. It's about 2 EC$ one way and the buses run till late at night.
The beach is not really nice, because high tide always washes up a lot of seaweed s.o. had to clean every morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FancyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbados
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for a few days just before the Easter rush, so it was fairly quiet. Had a one bedroom villa which was tastefully appointed & in a very good state of repair. Bar service was friendly & efficient & it was nice to have a manager's cocktail party.....a very enthusiastic & professional bunch. Breakfast was great: the largest continental I've ever seen, with a lovely, ciabatta-style bread baked on premises.
Evening meal of strip loin was OK but the lunch of tuna nicoise was disappointing, especially when compared to other Bequia establishments. Minimal (ie zero) pool-side service, but the 20 yard walk to the bar for a rum punch wasn't exactly a hardship. In summary, we really enjoyed the place & will definitely be going back. I thoroughly recommend BBH.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Unspoiled, laid back, quiet, beautiful, private, secure, comfortable, clean, inviting. These words all describe Bequia Beach Hotel. I've stayed in hotels all over the Caribbean and this is one of the nicest of them.

We stayed in a beachfront room opening onto an idyllic beach. Every night, the sound of breaking waves on the shore lulled us into a blissful sleep. It truly felt like the Caribbean of long ago. No traffic or noise, no beach vendors. Just clean air, clean beaches and a sense of relaxation.

By our fourth day, I felt the tension and stress melt away and I knew we had to extend our vacation here. So we added a couple more days to our stay and we didn't regret it one iota.

Breakfast was served by courteous and efficient staff. Everything was fresh and of the highest quality. We enjoyed a splendid view of the bay from the restaurant and would stroll leisurely along the beach afterward. Lunches and dinners were equally fine, with both continental and local cuisines available, prepared by a very capable chef and his uniformed staff.

There were specific evenings arranged for music and dancing and we had the good fortune to attend a special presentation by the Beatles official biographer made possible by the owner Bendt.

Overall, the holiday here turned out to be the best vacations we've enjoyed in years and we will certainly take the opportunity to 'unwind' here again.

If you enjoy beautiful, unspoiled surroundings, serenity and luxury, this is a good place to try.

Room Tip: I recommend a beach front room for those not wanting to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Bequia Beach Hotel is undoubtedly the best equipped hotel we’ve stayed at in 18 years holidaying in the Caribbean. The furniture is of good quality, plenty of storage space, comfortable bed, and immaculately clean and well maintained. Good air conditioning, large bathroom.
Basically the nearer the beach and the further down the hill you are the more expensive the rooms are. We took a room in the middle overlooking the very well maintained garden and main pool and it was excellent, with its own little veranda for sitting out in the shade.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful.
The facilities are good, with two pools of which the main one is 1.3 metres deep throughout. There is water sport equipment, but we did not try the spa or keep fit room. Loungers are available throughout.
There are two restaurants, both offering very good food. The main restaurant is on the beach front with the sea able to wash into the bottom of it. A good breakfast is available there and it has a nice bar.
The hotel is located on Friendship Bay. It has a narrow beach with the waves coming almost up to the lawns at high tide. The water can be very “sporty” at times and in 10 days was never clear enough for me to check out the snorkelling on the nearby reef.
However, a short taxi ride (or walk if you are fit) takes you to Princess Margaret’s Bay which is the ultimate Caribbean beach with shallow clear water and good snorkelling.
The hotel is also within easy reach of the main town, Port Elizabeth, the airport and a number of excellent restaurants.
We will be going back, soon.

Room Tip: The one bedroom villas offer excellent value, ours actually had two bedrooms ! If you can afford it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
2.8 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
11.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
1.0 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
20.8 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bequia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bequia Beach Hotel

Property: Bequia Beach Hotel
Address: | Friendship Bay, Friendship VC200, Bequia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bequia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Bequia Beach Hotel is situated in what many consider to be the premiere location on the Caribbean island of Bequia - Friendship Beach. Inspired by Oliver Messel's stylish Mustique villas and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens, this boutique hotel combines luxury, elegance and charm to provide a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. With two pools, reading lounge, Spa & Fitness Room, first-class Restaurants and its own secluded sandy beach area. The Bequia Beach Hotel accommodation offers: luxury Beachfront suites, spacious Ocean View suites, private Cottages, and Classic rooms which overlook the second hotel pool with views of the Caribbean sea in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bequia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bequia Beach Hotel Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing