We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
260
52
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
52
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front friendship bay bequia beach lobster night half board lovely hotel high season beachfront suite atlantic side laid back perfect caribbean sound of the waves st vincent half mile large balcony main restaurant the ground floor
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2017

For those with real experience of the wider West Indies, who do not base their views only on Barbados hotels or Surrey golf clubs, this hotel is a wonderful Caribbean destination, on a beautiful little island. It is impossible not to relax in the local beauty and calm majesty of the setting, but these are combined with discreet, high cosmopolitan standards, the tone of which is clearly set by the owner Ben, who impressed us greatly. He has inculcated a wonderful look and feel to the place. Its personalised charm is reinforced by efficient and lovely staff. From the evidence of our room which was only one of many similar, it has universally modern rooms tastefully decorated, aesthetically delightful but completely functional, though the Wi-Fi blinked from time to time. One aspect I have not seen mentioned, but which was notable, was the architectural and construction effort: the construction is solid, layout of buildings, landscaping, and quality of the finishings are well thought through. Our view onto the crashing rollers on what is effectively a half mile long private beach was unbeatable, though bathing is for strong swimmers only. The cuisine is what we wanted: basically international but using fresh local ingredients and local flavours, well prepared and cooked. By far the best Caribbean hotel I've been to, nit-picking criticism is churlish. I hope against hope it remains a relative secret for discerning international travellers who "get" the West Indies, who do not have unrealistic expectations, and don't look at their watch every five minutes. We are going back asap.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the beach are wonderful.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mcdougallarundel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear mcdougallarundel,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Bequia Beach Hotel and the atmosphere we do our best to deliver to our guests. It is such a pleasure for us when our guests leave Bequia completely relaxed and having enjoyed the warmth and charm of the island.

We hope hope you had a safe journey back home and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We spent five days at the Bequia Beach Hotel, it was very quiet as just after new year. Our room lovely overlooking the swimming pool at the top , ok for those who don't mind the steps. The Italian restaurant next to the pool had lovely food, the Swedish chef was excellent. It was perhaps too quiet for us but we would stay there again. We found the staff extremely helpful and the beach great to swim in. I would choose a room closer to the beach next time. The swimming pool is a good size and the staff helpful but not overly.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwmgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear jwmgb,

Thank you for your review, we will share your comments with our teams, they will be happy to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon !

Kind regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The property has a magnificent setting overlooking the Friendship Bay and has beautifully maintained grounds. The beach front rooms were large with lovely views out to sea even when sitting in bed! The staff are keen to help but somehow the experience just fails to live up to expectations.

Service in both restaurants was poor although we did raise the issue and the Food and Beverage Manager made big efforts to improve this for us.
Service was slow, orders confused, final bill charged for items not taken - all relatively minor issues but when added together suggest staff need closer management and better training. The hotel was almost full and basically they couldn't cope.
In conclusion, the hotel is not cheap and is expensive for what it delivers.

The hotel is on windy side of the island so watersports are either not possible or difficult. A short ride on a 'dollar bus' or taxi takes you to Port Elizabeth and the calmer waters of beautiful bays.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenhillbeeches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear Greenhillbeeches,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your room as well as the location. In regards to our staff we are currently going through regular training sessions to make sure that they are able to exceed our guest's expectations, we will share your experience with the food and beverage department to make sure that these incidents do not happen again.
It is really unfortunate that you experienced a very windy week as the bay is currently flat like a lake and most of our guests enjoy paddling across the bay on a kayak or a paddle board, the conditions really depend on the wind direction.

We look forward to seeing you again at Bequia Beach Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The construction of the hotel is first class with no more than three floors for each building. Our beachfront suite was outstanding with no more than three steps to the garden and then directly onto the beach. The beach provides a full mile walk, and there are no high-rise building to interfere with the very beautiful views. There was a number of loungers available in the garden but there was not enough when the hotel was full.

With very limited entertainment, the hotel is a home from home for retirees who only wish to lie by the pool or on a lounger all day, and take the occasional trip into the very small town of Port Elizabeth, or to one of the other bays on the island. The two hotel restaurants were advertised as the best on the island. There is not a lot to do on Bequia !

Breakfasts were disappointing with a poor choice of under-ripe fruits and fresh fruit juices were not available every day. But a 'Full English' breakfast was included in the B&B price, even including baked beans.

Lunch and dinner menus were restricted to only four choices for each course but specials were available each day; generally as a fish main course. A lobster grill was available on Saturday nights.

Service was inconsistent with some staff adopting a lackadaisical attitude and some being quite professional. But with such laid-back clientele, this may not be a significant concern.

For us, a week was quite enough.

Room tip: Beachfront suites on the ground floor are by far the best choice.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jgrahamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear jgrahamd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we're glad that you enjoyed the layout of the rooms and the view on the Ocean. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast, we really strive to have a choice of bread/fruits/cold cuts and our staff normally prepares the fresh daily juices every morning, we will enquire as to why it might not have been the case during your stay. In regards to the activities we hope you had the chance to go snorkeling on the close-by reef, which shelters a wide variety of fish and that leads to the whaling station, a great spot to find lobsters. We also offer kayaks and paddleboards rent free of charge so that you can go and sight the turtles on the side of the bay, that come to feed on seaweed. Numerous boats in the harbour provide day trips to Mustique or Tobago Cays, a real sanctuary for wildlife, especially turtles and iguanas.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that you can enjoy the numerous activities available on Bequia.

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

First class hotel in all respects with great staff and comfortable, well equipped rooms with great views. Food in main restaurant a little disappointing. Well kept grounds, 2 pools and extensive beach with attentive staff. Atlantic coast where the sea could be rough.

Room tip: Best views beach front suites
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 February 2017

Dear John A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we were delighted to welcome you on Bequia. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the food at Bagatelle, we will definitely enquire about this and do our best to uphold our highest standards.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews