We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
275
57
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
57
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front friendship bay bequia beach lobster night beachfront suite lovely hotel laid back half board low season main restaurant large balcony princess margaret beach atlantic side day pass the ground floor italian food restaurant bagatelle
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 341 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We have just returned from our first visit to Bequia and were thrilled to discover this unspoilt and peaceful island. The Bequia Beach Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you want to soak up the relaxing atmosphere and natural beauty of the place. Our very comfortable beachfront suite had uninterrupted views across the sea to Mustique, and the large balcony was great for morning coffee or a private early evening drink. Our breakfast table was a couple of paces from the essentially private beach that stretches for over half a mile beyond the hotel frontage. I thoroughly enjoyed the large swimming pool in the garden, and my husband made use of the small but well equipped gym.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Each morning of our stay they organised a taxi to one of the Caribbean beaches on the other side of the island (about ten minutes away), where the sea swimming is amazing. The local cafes organised the return trips for us. Ben (the hotel owner) has acquired the restaurant Jacks on Princess Margaret Bay, where we had some excellent lunches. The hotel also arranged an island tour, which we thoroughly enjoyed.

We have stayed at several hotels in the Caribbean and the food at Bequia Beach Hotel is amongst the best we have eaten in this part of the world. The food was imaginative and refreshingly light. The menu is small but changes quite frequently. The floodlit view of the waves from the beachfront restaurant at night resembled a ‘son et lumiere’.

We were surprised, therefore, to read some of the negative comments about the hotel from recent guests, and do not agree with the criticism, which seems to be unfairly judging the Bequia Beach Hotel against the standards and ‘glitz’ of nearby Barbados. Bequia is a place to unwind and recharge the batteries, and to enjoy fabulous scenery – with no crowds. We thought the hotel had captured this atmosphere perfectly and we are already planning our return visit next winter.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank ecm397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear ecm397,

It is a pleasure to read your review, not only in regards Bequia Beach Hotel but also to Bequia in general. We are delighted to hear that you are planning your visit next winter and we really look forward to welcoming you again. You comments were shared with the team and we will do our best to exceed you expectations next season.

Kind regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

For those with real experience of the wider West Indies, who do not base their views only on Barbados hotels or Surrey golf clubs, this hotel is a wonderful Caribbean destination, on a beautiful little island. It is impossible not to relax in the local beauty and calm majesty of the setting, but these are combined with discreet, high cosmopolitan standards, the tone of which is clearly set by the owner Ben, who impressed us greatly. He has inculcated a wonderful look and feel to the place. Its personalised charm is reinforced by efficient and lovely staff. From the evidence of our room which was only one of many similar, it has universally modern rooms tastefully decorated, aesthetically delightful but completely functional, though the Wi-Fi blinked from time to time. One aspect I have not seen mentioned, but which was notable, was the architectural and construction effort: the construction is solid, layout of buildings, landscaping, and quality of the finishings are well thought through. Our view onto the crashing rollers on what is effectively a half mile long private beach was unbeatable, though bathing is for strong swimmers only. The cuisine is what we wanted: basically international but using fresh local ingredients and local flavours, well prepared and cooked. By far the best Caribbean hotel I've been to, nit-picking criticism is churlish. I hope against hope it remains a relative secret for discerning international travellers who "get" the West Indies, who do not have unrealistic expectations, and don't look at their watch every five minutes. We are going back asap.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the beach are wonderful.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mcdougallarundel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear mcdougallarundel,

We would like to thank you for sharing your comments on Bequia Beach Hotel and the atmosphere we do our best to deliver to our guests. It is such a pleasure for us when our guests leave Bequia completely relaxed and having enjoyed the warmth and charm of the island.

We hope hope you had a safe journey back home and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

We spent five days at the Bequia Beach Hotel, it was very quiet as just after new year. Our room lovely overlooking the swimming pool at the top , ok for those who don't mind the steps. The Italian restaurant next to the pool had lovely food, the Swedish chef was excellent. It was perhaps too quiet for us but we would stay there again. We found the staff extremely helpful and the beach great to swim in. I would choose a room closer to the beach next time. The swimming pool is a good size and the staff helpful but not overly.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwmgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear jwmgb,

Thank you for your review, we will share your comments with our teams, they will be happy to hear from you.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon !

Kind regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The property has a magnificent setting overlooking the Friendship Bay and has beautifully maintained grounds. The beach front rooms were large with lovely views out to sea even when sitting in bed! The staff are keen to help but somehow the experience just fails to live up to expectations.

Service in both restaurants was poor although we did raise the issue and the Food and Beverage Manager made big efforts to improve this for us.
Service was slow, orders confused, final bill charged for items not taken - all relatively minor issues but when added together suggest staff need closer management and better training. The hotel was almost full and basically they couldn't cope.
In conclusion, the hotel is not cheap and is expensive for what it delivers.

The hotel is on windy side of the island so watersports are either not possible or difficult. A short ride on a 'dollar bus' or taxi takes you to Port Elizabeth and the calmer waters of beautiful bays.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greenhillbeeches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear Greenhillbeeches,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your room as well as the location. In regards to our staff we are currently going through regular training sessions to make sure that they are able to exceed our guest's expectations, we will share your experience with the food and beverage department to make sure that these incidents do not happen again.
It is really unfortunate that you experienced a very windy week as the bay is currently flat like a lake and most of our guests enjoy paddling across the bay on a kayak or a paddle board, the conditions really depend on the wind direction.

We look forward to seeing you again at Bequia Beach Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017

The construction of the hotel is first class with no more than three floors for each building. Our beachfront suite was outstanding with no more than three steps to the garden and then directly onto the beach. The beach provides a full mile walk, and there are no high-rise building to interfere with the very beautiful views. There was a number of loungers available in the garden but there was not enough when the hotel was full.

With very limited entertainment, the hotel is a home from home for retirees who only wish to lie by the pool or on a lounger all day, and take the occasional trip into the very small town of Port Elizabeth, or to one of the other bays on the island. The two hotel restaurants were advertised as the best on the island. There is not a lot to do on Bequia !

Breakfasts were disappointing with a poor choice of under-ripe fruits and fresh fruit juices were not available every day. But a 'Full English' breakfast was included in the B&B price, even including baked beans.

Lunch and dinner menus were restricted to only four choices for each course but specials were available each day; generally as a fish main course. A lobster grill was available on Saturday nights.

Service was inconsistent with some staff adopting a lackadaisical attitude and some being quite professional. But with such laid-back clientele, this may not be a significant concern.

For us, a week was quite enough.

Room tip: Beachfront suites on the ground floor are by far the best choice.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jgrahamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 23 February 2017

Dear jgrahamd,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we're glad that you enjoyed the layout of the rooms and the view on the Ocean. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast, we really strive to have a choice of bread/fruits/cold cuts and our staff normally prepares the fresh daily juices every morning, we will enquire as to why it might not have been the case during your stay. In regards to the activities we hope you had the chance to go snorkeling on the close-by reef, which shelters a wide variety of fish and that leads to the whaling station, a great spot to find lobsters. We also offer kayaks and paddleboards rent free of charge so that you can go and sight the turtles on the side of the bay, that come to feed on seaweed. Numerous boats in the harbour provide day trips to Mustique or Tobago Cays, a real sanctuary for wildlife, especially turtles and iguanas.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that you can enjoy the numerous activities available on Bequia.

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews